Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bay area

Not as bad as its rep.

Posted Oct 29, 2015
Thw rooms were outdated, and they definitely need a new maid. But overall it was comfortable and quiet, and the cheapest in town. The on-site manager was great, he was very friendly and understanding, helped us with our room and brewed fresh coffee, even refilled the pool.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shower didn't work. Two chairs were soiled Mgr no

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything,,, Manager should go for sure.
Mgr didn't give me copy of bill & wasn't available when I arrived or when I checked out. . Terrible terrible experience. Charged 150.00 for a room that would make Motel 6 look like the Hilton. Shower didn't work at all. Chairs were soiled and about to fall apart. Never again nor would I ever let anyone I know stay there. Crummy!!!! Should be torn down. VMW
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Golden Chain is an inexpensive place to stay and the staff is always courteous and friendly. Rooms are clean enough, and there is a nice pool.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san jose

room101

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: manager provided excellent service.
Cons: fix fauet
price was fair, location was what we were looking for. bathroom sink faucet only provided hot water.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

the Chain

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: The rooms were clean and comfortable.
Cons: open the pool to customers!
The hotel was comfortable and clean, we were disapointed that the pool was closed however.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Nice motel centrally located.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: The convenience and also, there was a pool.
Cons: It was a little noisy right next to the road.
Location: It was close to the town of Grass Valley. Easy to find breakfast.
The motel was fairly close to our venue and convenient for our use.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2014
I literally was afraid to touch anything with my bare hands, the bed had a big lump in it, so sleeping was not comfortable.. It was grossly overpriced for the quality level. Carpet looked very unclean.
2 out of 5
by Joe from Seattle.

Hotel in grassvalley, ca.

Posted May 11, 2014
Hotel is in a great area, probably should be rebuilt. Seems as though its been wet and redone several times. Just seems damp and dingy.
1 out of 5
by nathan from downey, CA

a Dive

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: nothing.
Cons: house keeping, smell, bedding, bathroom.... etc. just improve everything!
the room stunk, had to go to the store and buy Lysol spray and open the windows for an hour.... carpet was badly stained, there was a hair on my pillow when i pulled the sheets back, and when i went to take a shower - there was a WET wash cloth already in there (possibly from the previous guests). this place was not worth $90 a night...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not quite worth the low price.

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Pros: Only hotel or motel in the area with vacancy on Thanksgiving.
Cons: Clean, clean, clean.
Location: Grass Valley is a fascinating gold-rush town.
Dirty carpet. Hair on shower walls. No TV remote. No tissues in tissue dispenser.