Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff, great location

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: We liked the location- easy walk to downtown yet quietly tucked away.
Cons: The rates were high for what you got compared to great B&Bs in the area
Location: Great little shops and restaurants with friendly staff. Empire Mine State Park is beautiful as well as lots of nearby hiking trails. Great festivals
The staff was very pleasant, readily available, & helpful. Breakfast was great and convenient. They worked hard to make sure everything was stocked & clean. The evening reception had good wines and a fairly nice variety of hors d'oeuvres. Our bed and pillows were clean and comfortable. The rates were high for what you get but I think that's just the area. We were there for a wedding and several family members rented homes and had great experiences for less money but also less amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Great Location & Great Rooms

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Honor Bar, Breakfast, Pool...all the amenities.
Cons: The only thing I miss about staying here are the in-room movie services that some larger hotels offer.
Location: South Pine for Breakfast!
My 2nd time staying here and both times were great. It's nice to have a reliable hotel option in Nevada City / Grass Valley that doesn't fall in the 'authentic victorian and sort of smells like it' category.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the historic district.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Great location, wonderful breakfast spread, clean and nice staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by Danielle , Hotel Management
Perfect! Thank you for your fantastic review!
5 out of 5
by Edward

Posted Mar 3, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017
Thanks for the great review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkeley

Very comfortable

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Very comfortable bed,lovely fireplace,good snacks,good coffee available in room(not just coffee in a package),wine available in refrigerator.
Cons: I have no suggestions
Location: The location is excellent. Very quiet and nicely laid out. I really didn't visit the town much,since I was in Grass Valley to see family.
I stayed two nights in February,when the temperature was in the low thirties. The fireplace was an absolute hit! Warming and cheerful,it made me so comfortable. Because it was on a timer(you can set it up to an hour)I didn't have to worry about making sure it was turned off before I went to bed,and the light from the flames was so restful to watch as I dozed. Also,there is a nice snack selection available in the room,and though each has a price,it was still awfully helpful to have a sizable bag of trail mix on hand after hours on the road. The refrigerator is well stocked with drinks,soft and hard,and that was very helpful,too. Altogether a total hit! I'll be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by Danielle , Hotel Management
Elsa, Thank you so much for your generous & stellar review. We are so glad to know that you were cozy, warm & well-fed during your stay with us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice facility - Not a good value for the $ spent.

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
The value was not that great. Pretty pricey for what you receive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017
We're sorry that you did not love your experience with us. Please feel free to reach out and let us know what we can be doing better. Ask for Danielle! :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Lots of extra amenities!

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: The extra amenities.
Cons: No suggestions
Location: Great little restaurant for breakfast just down the road and minutes from downtown.
The staff as very accommodating. Everything one needs was made available, including little treats for our four legged friend. The room was very comfortable and clean. The hotel provided a nice continental breakfast with fresh fruit and waffles. If you didn't want that, there is an amazing breakfast/lunch house a couple blocks down the street . We will definitely return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by danielle , Hotel Management
Stellar review! Thank you so much for sharing your experience with others. Happy guests are our favorite guests and we look forward to your return!
3 out of 5
by gary

OK but not worth the cost.

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
The location is excellent. Out overall impression is that the hotel is dated but has been well maintained and efforts have been made to bring more architectural and interior character to the hotel. The cover photo shows a brick interior that feels appropriate for old town, however the interior was 1970's with over bright LED retro fit lighting and had none the character we expected based upon their published photos. For$ 200.00 per night the space felt like a new roadside Motel 6 instead of a more higher-end expectation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017
Gary, We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do have just a few beautiful brick rooms on site, and have published photos of nearly every other room type that we have. We are jubilant to be celebrating 15 years this June, and we do our best to maintain and update what we have. In fact we've updated 3 of our 7 buildings to date and we are working on our lobby/lounge as we speak. We know that there is always room for improvement and appreciate your comments. We'll keep heading in a progressive direction. Thanks for the feedback!
4 out of 5
by Marny

The details make this a special place to stay

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
King room with a balcony-- Lots of privacy, very clean, and the tempurpedic bed was really comfortable. The room was large and so was the balcony. Breakfast included was not hot, but did offer a lot of variety. I appreciated the abundance of towels. Small touches like chocolates and qtips set this hotel apart. The only negative is that the wallpaper was dated and wearing unlike the rest of the room which was updated. A fully stocked minibar and snack basket were nice options and not overly priced. The hotel is walking distance from Main Street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017
Marny, The King Balcony room is my favorite type! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We're sick of the wallpaper also, and making every effort to eradicate it across the property. Stay tuned..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017
It was great. Clean and spacious room. Quiet location. Right near downtown (walking distance). Great shopping and restaurants near by.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by Danielle , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon.