Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Great historic hotel

Posted Mar 5, 2016
Nested at the entrance of the little quaint village of Pontresina, near St. Moritz, Saratz is not the most impressive hotel in the village, the Kronenhof and the Walther steal the show here, but it compensates by its service, its comfort and the attention to detail I was looking for. The hotel manager came to greet me and shake my hand upon arrival and then upon departure as well, something not seen often, making a personal connection leaving you with a warm feeling you somehow counted. They picked me up at the train station for free and dropped me off as well. The hotel has 2 distinct parts, a historic one with the breakfast room and restaurants and the modern one with the reception and the bar. While I am not a big fan of 60-70s architecture in the mountain, they somehow did a great job in not making it stand out too much but at night the lights did an awesome job at making it particularly welcoming. I loved the modern looking bar with its warm-toned stones and the contemporary fireplace. I stayed in a double room in the modern section and enjoyed the spaciousness of the room, the modern bathroom with powerful shower and it's odd toilet. Wifi works well and fast, a welcome feature. Breakfast in the historic room of the old section was great, huge selection of bread, jams and some warm fares. I have not tried the spa but my friends staying there longer experienced it everyday and could not stop raving about it. I would stay there again if in the region.
5 out of 5
by Marita from London

Lovely hotel at the top end of 4-star

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
We organised a pick-up from the local station to the hotel which worked out well. Check-in was easy and quick. Room and bathroom were a reasonable size with lovely garden and mountain view. Swimming pool and spa were good and clean. Breakfast buffet had a great selection of food and I liked having a tea pot to use. We had dinner at Pitschna Scena where food was good but service could be improved. We enjoyed using the terrace and piano bar. Would recommend this hotel and stay again.
5 out of 5
by Alexander from Destelbergen, Belgium

A top destination

Posted Mar 11, 2015 on Hotels
A truly dream location with superb service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Susanne from Shanghai, China

Great hotel for active people and families

Posted Aug 4, 2012
Pros: The staff and the hotel's wonderful terrace with great views of the mountains
I stayed at the Saratz for 3 nights with my 3 teenagers and we all thorougly enjoyed it. The staff was incredibly friendly and went out of their way to make us all happy!
5 out of 5
by Ruth Gass

Great place for families nestled in the Swiss Alps

Posted Jun 19, 2012 on Hotels
My husband and I went with our daughter, her husband and their children, ages one and three years old. The Saratz is a wonderful multigenerational retreat. Great facilities for kids, even a special buffet table for kids at breakfast, and an indoor pool, and a fantastic indoor playspace. Also, gorgeous outdoor play area with trampoline, climbing structure, swings, seesaw, and more. The hotel is sophisticated, with stunning views, and a superbly welcoming staff. Great hiking and other outdoor adventures which the children can also enjoy. The hotel's park is beautiful, a delight for kids and adults. Also, great shopping and walking in Pontrsina. We look forward to returning to this magical place! Perfect family place, while retaining sophistication and charm in a setting of unparalleled beauty. You do not have to sacrifice great food and serenity to travel with kids at the Saratz.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Glenview, Il

Beautiful hotel

Posted Apr 2, 2011
The location is perfect and the staff was wonderful...they helped us with directions, getting delayed luggage and storing ski items...nothing was ever a bother! The food is wonderful, location terrific and the pool setting was just beautiful. We will definitely stay there again when we go back to that area. The area around hotel is very pretty and there are easily accessible non-ski options!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Saratz in Pontresina - hiking and biking

Posted Aug 23, 2010 on Hotels
The biking trail was great. We rented free mountain bikes from Saratz hotel and biked to the base of the Roseg Glacier, along a glacial melt stream.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Zurich, Switzerland

Great hotel, great location, great views. One of the best in the Engadin!!

Posted Aug 4, 2010
Stayed two nights with my wife in summer 2010 Great hotel, great location, great views to the glaciers and Bernina mountains, great breakfast buffet, very friendly staff. Very nice garden / outdoor area with outdoor (plus indoor swimming pool). Free wireless internet. Rooms towards south have great views. Can think of anything negative, except that the hotel is not cheap. The hotel has (I believe) not 5 stars (but 4 or 4.5). I wonder why? One of the nicest hotels we sayed in. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Delhi, India

Hotel Saratz in Pontresina- close to St. Moritz

Posted Jun 30, 2010 on Hotels
The hotel is well located with public transport, restaurants, coops within walking distance. St. Moritz is 10-15 minutes by bus. Hotel provides pick/drop facility on request. Also provided us with a pass providing free access to buses/train/cable car in the area, which was very convenient. The hotel facilities -swimming pool, steam, sauna, tennis court, etc -kept us busy on rainy days or when we just wanted to relax. They had a wide variety in breakfast. We had booked South facing rooms, which gave us a view of the entrance of the hotel, with a side view of the snow covered peaks. The sound of water from a nearby stream was nice.The North facing rooms would have a better view. The staff was extremely hospitable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Point Lookout

Elegant and Casual

Posted Nov 12, 2009 on Hotels
We combined a business trip with some down-time and chose Hotel Saratz for its location and price. A family-friendly retreat that also offers couples a chance to relax. Original building dates to about 1859 and the new, modern section was added in 1996. Hotel has a lovely spa area with pool and sauna. Two dining rooms: one offers light fare and the other is pricier and more elegant. The area in November is basically "off season", so there are very few businesses open for shopping. But enjoy the hotel as a retreat for rest and relaxation.