Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quick getaway

Posted Jan 6, 2016 on Hotels
I was looking for a small and quaint hotel with a good atmosphere and the Steinbock certainly meets this requirement. The staff were friendly and efficient. The restaurant was excellent and the breakfast offered a good variety of food. I would certainly stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Manohar from Zurich

Nice stay in Pontresina.

Posted May 5, 2015 on Hotels
It was a very pleasant stay overall. Though the hotel from outside looks ordinary and simple, inside, it is quite nice and cozy. The hotel staff was amicable and very helpful. The wellness centre was wonderful. The room tariff included the spa cost. They also gave a travel card which was valid for bus, train and even the cable card in and around Pontresina, which was truly value for money. The only issue in the hotel was the beds. They were uncomfortable. The breakfast, though nice, had limited options.
5 out of 5
by Dario from Boston

Great olace for fall hiking

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels
Great little hitel with larger sister hotel. Spa and sauna included
5 out of 5
by Beth from Minneapolis

Lovely stay at Hotel Steinbock

Posted Sep 12, 2014 on Hotels
Swiss hotels are really expensive, but we thought the Hotel Steinbock was a good deal because stays there include a pass for two to all of the local cable cars, funiculars and buses, which we used every day, plus use of the pool and spa at the posh Hotel Walther, its next-door sister hotel. We had the cheapest rooms, without private bath. At first, we had Room 30, which had two single beds. Then we asked for a room with beds that could be pushed together and got Room 31, which was a lot nicer. Management was very courteous, and service was great. We can't recommend the restaurant, though. We went there because we were told there was a special deal on a three-course menu that night, but by the time we sat down, it was sold out. Then the waitress up-sold us on soup, implying it was included with the entree, and we ended up paying way too much for a couple of overly salted entrees that we didn't much enjoy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ray from Melbourne

Lovely hotel with everything we need.

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Everything was lovely, pity about the expensive restaurant.
Cons: price!!
Location: Nothing here at all it was completly a dead dump as it is a winter resort only I believe.[Pontresina] Only use this and St Moritz as a stopover.
This was the off season [between winter and summer] so the town was dead as.Only good as a stopover as we wanted to catcht the train to Tirano in Italy for the scenery.[Bernina Express]
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy hotel with excellent adjacent Spa

Posted Jan 6, 2014
The single rooms are tiny but everything else like breakfast and Spa are great
5 out of 5
by Lou from Park City, UT

Nice hotel and staff

Posted Jun 20, 2013 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The staff was very nice, breakfast very good, and dinner menu also excellent. They have no AC, but it's so quiet at night that we could sleep with the windows open so we were very comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 5, 2012 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2016
alles sehr gut. Tolle Lage, sauber, top Service, feines Frühstück