Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Misrepresentation

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Room & bathroom OK
Cons: Their level of truthfulness in advertising.
Location: N/A
The picture in their advert is of the Maloja Palace. But that's not where you end up being accommodated. In photo 1 is a photo of the Maloja Palace. It compares to their photographic shot in their Expedia Ad. (which shows a winter scene). Photo 2 is where they put you. It is appropriately call 'The Annex (Club House)'. It is a disgraceful misrepresentation. They say the building is an 'annex' to the main building. We maintain a client from overseas has no way of knowing they will NOT be placed in the Maloja Palace. The key card they give you is 'Maloja Palace'. Their account they give you is labelled 'Maloja Palace' but you are NOT in the main building they advertise. Further their information in the Expedia Confirmation says "The front desk is open daily from 7.30AM - 9.30PM" That is not true. We arrived for 4.00pm and no-one was there. A woman came from the other building eventually to let us in. Our TV was not working, but there was no-one on duty all afternoon and up to 9.00pm as promised to take any complaints or concerns. Then they had the hide to charge CH20 per person for a buffet breakfast with a extremely limited range of food. In all a disgraceful misrepresentation and one we feel Expedia should look into. We were told in the actual Maloja Palace (where we went initially to book in) that the whole summer is always taken up by an exclusive booking. A very disappointing experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Throughly recommended

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Really helpful and friendly staff.
Cons: More English speaking TV channels ( 3 )
Location: St Moritz is 10 minutes drive.
The guy on reception could not have been more helpful and when I pointed out there was no coffee in the room he gave me his own personal jar. lots of room with large lounge/ dinner and separate bedroom. No food nearby though so you will have to drive to find something. The lodge is sign posted and completely separate so don't go in the main hotel which is rented out in summer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Basic but clean.

Posted Feb 23, 2016
We found that the hotel was not very child friendly. The staff were very nice, at least the younger ones, but the dinner menu was set and our 8 year old didn't like what was on offer. Thus we constantly had to go elsewhere for dinner. Also there were no childrens activities and you need a car to get around.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Deserted but nice snow filled area

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Lots of Snow
Location: Nothing within walking distance except maybe 1 or 2 cafes.
If you are looking for a snow filled area during Spring, then this is the place. However very deserted area which is far from the main town of St Moritz. A bus from the train station to hotel costs 11 francs per person and takes 1/2 hour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dmitri from Russia, Moscow

Recomended

Posted Jan 16, 2012
the old hotel after full reconstruction of exterior and all guest rooms. It have nice atmosfere and it own spirit of history. Silence, clear.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zug, Schweiz

Erstaunliches Hotel in atemberaubender Umgebung

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Pros: Tolle, grosse Zimmer, wunderbare Terrasse mit Sicht auf die 3-Tausender der Engadiner Alpen, viel Natur, Abgeschiedenheit vom St.Moritzer-Rummel.
Cons: Das Top Management/Eigentümer (wer auch immer die Entscheider sind) sollten sich von professionellen Hoteliers und Marketing Pros. beraten lassen.
Location: Maloja ist Ausgang zahlreicher Wanderungen und Ausflügen ins Bregaglia und die Bernina Region.
Das Hotel wäre ein Juwel und hat alles was es an Rahmenbedinungen braucht um absolut top zu sein: Eine atemberaubende Bergwelt vor der Haustüre, eine beeindruckende Bausubstanz mit Geschichte, mit viel Geschmack teilrenoviert - aber leider fehlt es ganz offensichtlich an professionellem Management und an Hotelier-Fachklenntnis auf oberster Stufe. Die Positionierung des Hotels im Markt und somit die angestrebten Kundensegmente sind unklar, weshalb auch das Dienstleistungs- und Serviceangebot viele Fragezeichen hinterlässt. Es fehlt ganz offensichtlich ein Marketingkonzept und ein Plan auf der Zeitchse. Schade, denn das vorhandene Personal ist liebenswürdig und äusserst hilfstbereit. Wir hatten ein tolles Zimmer im Club House und genossen unseren Aufenthalt. Wer also auf die üblichen Services eines Palace verzichten kann und wird es mögen. Wer Service erwartet wohl eher nicht.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Le cadre : montagne et lacs . Le calme .
Accueil sympathique ; appartement très confortable ;
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Muy buena atención ,

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Repetiría , es un buen hotel , lo único es la distancia sr moritz en el autobús
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Un palazzo

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Struttura imponente facile da trovare a soli 20 minuti da St Moritz. Quasi un 4 stelle, noi siamo stati una notte in un mini appartamento. Tutto perfetto, molto spazio, un angolo cottura perfettamente funzionante attrezzato di tutto.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Andreas from Regensburg

Moderne Zimmer in einem Museum

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Pros: Gute Lage, moderne Zimmer und schönes Gebäude
Gute Lage direkt am See; Familienzimmer sehr empfehlenswert; gute Alternative zu den überteuerten Hotels in St. Moritz.