Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A wonderful slice of history atop a mountain

Posted Jun 12, 2016
I stayed here for just 24 hours in order to rest and get some work cleared. This hotel is a rarity in a world which measures hotel 'excellence' very uniformly (a certain style with facilities provided in a certain way). What I mean is that this hotel has its very own, unique character. A former TB sanatorium, the clocks used to organise patients' days still illuminate the corridors. The original sinks still feature in the en suite bathrooms. The same heating system is used, the lifts are unchanged. Bookcases containing volumes once lent to patients wanting to while away the months on end up in the mountains in the hope of recovery, line the corridors of the third floor. The former hospital ward on the second floor still boasts the call system. The building is frozen in time yet extremely comfortable. The combined effect of this is one that is ultimately very relaxing; you forget the hustle and bustle and demands of life 'down below'. Deliciously prepared food, a vast space and quiet spacious rooms help the process. And, if the temptations of life down below become too much, excellent free wifi is available across the site. And, if you're determined to measure the hotel through a modern prism, a wonderful new sauna/spa area can be found on the ground floor. I couldn't recommend this place more highly and suggest you go as this space does not do it justice!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for hiking relax VG breakfast VG wellness

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Great for hiking relax VG breakfast VG wellness Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Frosty Reception

Posted Mar 15, 2015
When I arrived at reception after two flights and a three-hour train journey followed by an interesting funicular ascent, I was met with a very 'frosty' reception and told in a very rude manner that despite my reservation they didn't have a room for me and that I had to go back down to Davos Town and stay at the Hotel Europe which I am sure is a very pleasant hotel but ISNT the BergHotel. I protested very vigorously and after some altercation was grudgingly told that I could stay that night but that they weer full the next day. I contacted reception the next day and they had obviisly had time to rehink this and they told me I could stay but this all left a very sour taste .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Unique quirky hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2015
The building is a lovely piece of history in a quiet location with great views from above the town. We came from England for a weekend of skiing and were delighted to find our stay included a pass for the hotel's own private ski area which enabled us the get straight out onto the snow even though we arrived at around 2pm. The only down side is you have to allow time to get the funicular railway to & from the hotel, and use the local bus service if you don t want to walk to the main jacobshorn ski lift next to the train station in ski boots - about 5 minutes in normal footwear. Excellent skiing for intermediates & advanced. Eating out expensive - double English prices, but fresh food in supermarkets is more reasonable. Transfer via train from zurich very efficient and enjoyable as the scenery is breath taking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

You can't ski-in and ski-out.

Posted Mar 30, 2010
The hotel has character, the bedrooms are spacious, the staff helpful and the public rooms elegant. However, since we previously stayed there, it has become impossible to ski from the Shatzalp to the Davos ski pistes. This means that you have to go down on the funicular railway and then catch a bus to the Parsenn funicular. This is a serious inconvience and would cause us not to return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

Back to the past

Posted Mar 17, 2010
This is a very special hotel. It is like going back in the past. We felt the atmosphere of what it was like 100 years ago. Not a place for party but much more for relaxing. The only activity that I did was taking a sauna after ski It is classy service in an old hotel. The hotel is quiet and up in the mountain with great view.
3 out of 5
by Frequent Travel from Como, Italy

A historical hotel 100 years old - but should have been since then renovated

Posted Feb 3, 2010
The setting of this beautiful, historical hotel from more than 100 years old is great, and has direct access to a smallish private skiing area, which actually turned out to be very nice, as there were not so many people skiing. Beautiful views over Davos. But the hotel definetely and deperately would need renovation, now I am not surpriced why a hotel in famous Davos and with this great location was so inexpensive. Rooms were very basic and the hotel services, such as sauna and pool had seen their best times (some 50 years ago). Breakfast was good and the lobby areas etc looked nice and historical, but I certainly would not come here for a holiday again. The service was lousy, seemed as all personnel were trainees (probably true). The elevator did not work (I stayed in 3rd floor, so with the ski boots it is a challange), and there was no note of this on the door of the elevator and you just stand there and wonder why does the lift not come while several hotel personnel walkds by and says nothing. Overall the service was really unprofessional. If the hotel undergoes a renovation, with this location it could be luxury hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Newport Beach, CA

Fantastic hotel - off the beaten track!

Posted Sep 3, 2008
Great hotel for those who want the historic feel, with a fantastic view and "old world" style. But be aware that you are restricted in terms of access - tram up the mountain to the hotel only operates between hours of 8 a.m. and 11 p.m. most days, at least in summer. Staff was excellent - restaurants superb - well worth it!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

terrible

Posted Jan 24, 2008
absolutely awful and poorly presented . an utter joke from start to finish. needs knocking down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Nice Hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2007
Very comfortable bed.