Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Affordable and clean

Posted Jun 19, 2016
The staff was very nice. The hotel was clean but NOT well maintained. Many broken items.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from w

Posted Apr 23, 2016
The hotel staff was good room was very clean very comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2016 by Simon, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us, we are glad that you had a great experience and look forward to seeing you soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Clean, comfortable and most of the staff was very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast wasn't anything to write home about. I would give it 3.5 stars though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mid-Michigan

Good hotel for an overnight stay

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Pros: Price was reasonable
Cons: Cleaning staff could be a little more thorough
Hotel wasn't bad for a place to crash when passing through. The only complaint is that the in-room coffee pot wasn't cleaned (filter from previous guest was still there) and that the shower didn't fully work (enough to take a shower, but most of the water was coming out of the tub spigot). Staff was very friendly and overall the room was clean. Did not check out the pool - just needed a place to sleep
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mio,mi

Super!

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Pros: I just told you.
Cons: A little dated.
Location: Houghton Lake is awesome. Go to Arnie's. Killer craft shop. Lots of great crafts. Just a great town with lots to do. Limberlost is a great restau
Went in the off season. Staff was great Best hot tub and pool I've seen in a motel. Premium cable rocks. Great continental breakfast. I'll be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2016 by Simon, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us we appreciate your positive feed back and we are happy that you had a good experience staying at the American Inn. we hope to see you soon.
4 out of 5
by Sally

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One Night getaway with the kids

Posted Feb 16, 2016
Pros: Pool was warm, Kids enjoyed themselves. Rooms and beds were clean.
Not a terrible place to stay but all around not a great vibe. Check in is at 3 pm, but after arriving at 4 pm i was told to come back in 30 minutes and my room "should" be ready. The man at the front desk said the housekeeping was running a half hour late. I informed him that they were running an hour and a half late, and waited patiently for him to check to see if any rooms were available. He offered me a room with two double beds instead of waiting (i booked two queen beds) I told him i would rather have what i booked unless he planned on discounting my stay. He laughed at the idea of discounting my stay and told me i had already paid online so he couldn't do that. He ran off "checking on my room" and wasted a good 10 minutes then came back and told me my room was ready. When we got to our room......two double beds. No my room was not ready, you gave me a room i didnt book without asking. I didnt mind, because the kids were excited. Just know this is not a chain hotel and you wont get what you would from even the lowest chain hotels. Room was clean and sufficient but thats about it. Kids enjoyed it, but i wont ever go back. The "AMERICAN INN" isnt very american at all. A very patriotic eagle and flag on the sign, but the service was quite foreign.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2016 by Mike , Hotel Management
We apologize for inconvenience you experienced at the American Inn, All of our rooms here are queen size beds and king size beds. Again we apologize that housekeeping didn't have your room ready at check in time and would appreciate you to give us another chance to stay with us. We at the American Inn strive to do our best to satisfy our customers with great hospitality service. Thank you
4 out of 5
by melissa

Posted Dec 22, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2016 by Mike, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at the American Inn and we are glad that you had a good at experience hope to see you soon
3 out of 5
by Not Provided

Traveler convenience

Posted Dec 16, 2015 on Hotels
Clean, basic lodging. Convenient to highway, restaurants, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2016 by Mike, Hotel Management
Thank you for stay, hopefully we see you soon again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mini vacation

Posted Dec 4, 2015 on Hotels
Room was clean but bathroom needed a little work - shower curtain rod attached on one end by electrical tape wrapped around bracket and brown(mildew?)spots on ceiling, pool was nice-very clean but pool towels older and very skimpy. Hotel was quiet and had easy access from highway.