Ratings based on 205 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Comfortable room with excellent service

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness and quite area.
Cons: Improved breakfast menue.
Location: No problem if you have a car. Plenty of outdoor activities typical of Northern Michigan.
Overall pleased with the hotel. Dinning facilities are minimal, but good restraints within easy walking. Location is near strip mall shopping, but mainly industrial setting. Not a resort type of lodging.
3 out of 5
by Michelle

Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Hotels
I booked a prepaid non refundable room for 3 adults and 2 children. When we checked in we got a room with 2 twin beds and they made us pay extra to have a rollaway for the 5th person. If the reservation is for 5 people there should be a place for all 5 to sleep.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor

Good hotel and staff

Posted Jan 2, 2016
I had a night stay after my ski trip at Shanty Creek before new year eve. It is around 30 minute drive from the ski resort but the price is much cheaper with this quality. The room is nice and clean. All facilities look new. Front desk staff are very friendly. Breakfast is standard things but sometimes they didn't fill in the food continuously.
4 out of 5
by Kristie from Indiana

Nice staff

Posted Dec 16, 2015 on Hotels
the room was clean and comfortable and the staff was very kind
5 out of 5
by Christopher from Grand Rapids

Worth the money!

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
I stay in a lot of hotels for business. The rooms were clean and the front desk was attentive. I will be back.
4 out of 5
by Dawn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Muskegon, MI

Very nice.

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Pros: Location, neat, clean.
Cons: Provide enough hot water to use the tub or don't charge for it.
Nice place, close to everything. Clean, neat, friendly staff. Only real problem we had was that we couldn't use the (expensive) jetted tub because we couldn't get water hot enough to use it. Disappointing, especially at the price of the room. Otherwise, clean, modern, nice .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
Very clean, very nice place to stay. Average breakfast (buffet?).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toledo, OH

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: Rooms were clean
Cons: Better training for staff
Location: Great location for outdoors activities, hiking, horseback riding, fishing, hunting, golfing, camping, wildlife viewing
outside security door was broken. Staff seemed uninterested in providing friendly service. Seemed to me they were overwhelmed with their job duties. Hotel was clean, rooms were clean. Key card did not work which was annoying as we had been out all day and were tired. Did not need the extra hassle to get new cards after such a long day. Upon check in the front desk was unfamiliar with check in procedures and tried to charge my room (I had booked through expedia) Charge was declined and I had to explain to the clerk that I had already paid. I expect better service from a Holiday Inn property.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2015 on Hotels
I did have an issue with a smoker in the next room. It was coming in through my room vents and making my room unpleasant. After two calls to the front desk the clerk was able to move me to another room in another area. This was after 11pm and not ideal, however the staff made it as easy as was possible given the circumstances.