Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Oct 30, 2016
I really enjoyed my stay it was clean and the employees were extremely nice and very accomdating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Thumbs up for dog too!

Posted Oct 19, 2016
super great hotel with traveling with a pet! Was really great not to have to leave dog out in the car! They even have dog treats at the front desk for your pet!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Place to stay for cc ride

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Have stayed here last year. Nice place for the money. Would like the breakfast to be updated. The juice machine wasnt working only coffee available. Had to ask for water the receptionist ran and got some bottled water. Thank you. I think you could add a waffle maker and if juice machine broken run to store and buy some jugs of juice. Do like to stay here people at the desk very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback and the good review! We do have a waffle iron that will be going out very soon. The juice machine is also being replaced today, thank you again for the feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Overall good

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Overall experience was good. Friendly staff, indoor pool/sauna/hot tub, and other cool accommodations. As far as quality, breakfast was cereal and coffee. Our shower head was damaged so we had to hold it. The room temperature wasn't ideal, but it was comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! The shower head is now fixed thank you for letting us know!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Hot Water

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Clean and adequate for the time we spent there.
Cons: Acknowledgement of a significant issue/problem with facilities to guests. Offer some compensation off guest bill upon checkout.
Location: Nice golf course nearby. Limber loft restaurant was good. Overlooking the lake.
Prior to our check in there was no hot water. We were not told, and problem not fixed the next morning upon check out. The Manager was not due in until 9:30am when maintenance was coming. We were not told about the problem upon check-in. So were unaware until we used the water in the morning. No compensation was offered and no one contacted us at all regarding the issue during our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Rooms were very comfortable and clean, and the staff very friendly and helpful. My wife and I were a little concerned about are reservations with super 8 because we have some bad experiences at other super 8 location's out of state , but not this one. Thank you to the staff of houghton lake super 8 for a great stay. We will be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the amazing review! We look forward to your next stay here at the Houghton Lake Super 8!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fl

Surprisingly nice

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Suprisingly nice antiques and Michigan paraphernalia decorating the lobby and common areas. Nice indoor pook, spa and sauna. Nice playground. Nice big pine trees outside. Very friendly staff. Could use more functioning ice machines and breakfast was Spartan but overall very good value motel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review Adam!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mi

Close to my grandmother

Posted Apr 26, 2016
No fridge or microwave in room , was disappointed. Ok. I was there for a funeral. The 24 hr pool area was wonderful
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! We do offer rooms with microwaves and refrigerators.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gwinn Mi

Nice hotel easy to find

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: location and it was very quiet for being close to the freeway.
Cons: pool area
Location: lake was very close by, restraunts were just as close. no problems getting around town. but not a lot people there yet. summer time is alot different
Hotel was right off the freeway and very easy to get to. Location of hotel was good ,was close to a variety of things.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2016
This is a Super 8 with class and a theme - lighthouses.