Ratings based on 237 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Sep 13, 2017
The room is clean. However there are no minibar, kettle, ... in the room. Disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Ontario

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Nice clean hotel. Staff is nice. Easy access to downtown
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel close to the civic centre

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Comfortable bed, awesome curtains (they made the room very dark), bathroom was spacious.
Cons: Overall everything was pretty good, only the breakfast was too expensive.
Location: The hotel is close to the civic centre, there is a McDonald's in front of the hotel. The old city it is a 20-min walk or a few minutes with the Tram.
The hotel is new, modern and pretty neat. Rooms are spacious and comfortable and the staff is nice and professional. It took us about 20 minutes on foot (maybe 5 with the tram which costs 2,70 EUR) to get to the main square in the old town (Hauptplatz). Overall it was a good hotel and I would stay there again. The only annoying thing was their weird WiFi connection rule: the username/password changes every 48h. Sometimes we came back late and wanted to check our emails, then we realised our passwords were not valid anymore. We had to go down and ask for the new one. The breakfast was also kind of expensive (15 EUR per person).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by roomz, Hotel Management
Dear Fernando Campos! Thank you very much for leaving us your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are proud that you think our staff is nice and professional and we feel honored that you would like to stay again. Unfortunately, we did not get around to read that there were a couple of points that did not meet your expectations. We set great value upon safety regarding the internet usage, therefore the password has to be entered again. We are very sorry that this caused inconvenience to you. The price of our all you can eat breakfast buffet is below average in Graz and we offer a wide selection of cereals and cold cuts, cheese, egg & sausage dishes, homemade pancakes, fresh juices, smoked salmon, homemade spreads and much more. We hope to welcome you again soon at the roomz! Your roomz-team
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle WA

Good bargain priced hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Room was small but modern. Clean. A/C did not work and room was way too warm. Easy access to freeways. Easy parking
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017 by roomz-team, Hotel Management
Dear Sandra! First, we want to thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you think our rooms are to small, because they are bigger than in other Budget Hotels. We want to apologize that the air-condition was not working. Please do not hesitate to contact our reception staff with concerns like this, so that we get the possibility to react during the stay. Again we are truly sorry for the inconveniences and hope that you will give us another chance to convince you of our good service and quality! Your roomz-team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queensland

Great hotel

Posted May 1, 2017
No issues, very clean, very comfortable beds - great stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by roomz Graz, Hotel Management
Dear guest, we would like to thank you very much for your positive comment. We will forward your positive feedback to our team in order to maintain our great service! We are looking forward to your next stay! With kind regards, your roomz-team
3 out of 5
by Drago

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
Having problems with check in. My and their reservation details were not the same, eg, parking paying! Stuff was not cooperating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Drago, First, we want to thank you for your feedback. While we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We are surprised that you were not fully satisfied with the helpfulness of our reception staff, because most of our guests are absolutely happy with the friendliness and competence of our team members. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience! Thank you for your comment concerning our parking situation. We offer our guests a secured parking lot for 10€ for 24 hours, which is compared to other parking possibilities in the lower price level. We are sorry that this did not fulfill your expectations. We hope you had safe trip home and we are looking forward to welcoming you again! Kind regards, Your roomz-team
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good deal for the business traveller

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
We ended up in Graz after being stuck by a Lufthansa strike. Luckily we managed to book this hotel and it was very comfortable. The rooms are probably aimed at the business traveller market as they are functional but not designed as uber-relaxing. For instance, there are no drink making facilities and the décor is more business oriented I'd say than other places. However, we had a good stay and it met our needs. There were a few flaws with lights not working and so forth but overall a good price for what was on offer. Moreover, outside you have a tram service that takes you right into the heart of town in about 10 mins, so very well positioned.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you so much for taking your time to share your impressions! We are delighted to hear that you appreciate the location and that you enjoyed your stay. We would like to let you know that we want to offer the best value for money, so we don’t provide expendable services by default. But if we get the information beforehand, we’d glad to organize the desired services. We are looking forward to your next stay! Kind regards from Graz, your roomz-team
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice staff

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice staff. There was a billing issue when I checked out at 5:30am when the manager was not in yet. I had to catch a train at 6am so I left and asked the front desk person to leave a note for the manager. By 6:15am, the issue was resolved and I already had an updated email receipt in my inbox!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you so much for taking your time to share your impressions! We are delighted to hear that you appreciate the friendliness of our hotel staff. We will forward your positive feedback to our employees in order to maintain a great service. Kind regards from Graz, your roomz-Team
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay for a business trip to Graz

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
Convenient and reasonable hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, we would like to thank you very much for the comment! It is a pleasure to read that your overall experience was a success. We hope to welcome you again soon! With kind regards, your roomz-team
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Hotels
Reasonable price for time of year
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback! We are pleased to read that you enjoyed you stay! We hope to welcome you again at the roomz! With kind regards, your roomz-team