Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Arlington, United States of America

Convenient location just off Highway

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Convenient location, free breakfast, clean and comfortable room.
Cons: Regular replacement of smoke detector batteries so that they do not near the warning stages.
Location: Handy location right off of I-90. Lock E-13 Living History Rest Area is not too far, if you're travelling west.
We stayed here once before when heavy snow forced our hand and we decided to plan it as a stop on a similar route for a quick and easy overnight. It is off I-90 and there is a gas station convenience store right off the exit, on your way to the hotel. Check-in was quick and easy, and the room was comfortable for our family of four, including two children (ages 8 & 6). The only problem was the smoke detector's low battery chirping started at 2 am, waking my wife and me, but not the kids. I called the front desk and was offered a new room or replacement battery. Not wanting the hassle of moving, we opted for the front desk staff to replace the battery, which he did, apologetically. We slept well the rest of the night. Breakfast the next morning was good enough for us, considering it was included in the price. Waffle, oatmeal, English muffin, toast, juice, coffee. There were cold cereal on offer, as well, and cinnamon rolls.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Cons: Add some fruit to free breakfast.
clean, affordable and comfortable. Free breakfast is well stocked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Barre, United States of America

Not pleasant

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: I didn't like anything about this hotel. One of the worst super 8's I have stayed in. I have stayed at several up and down the east coast. By far the worse one.
Cons: The front desk agent wasn't personable to say the least. He acted as though it was a bother to check me in. There was literally no extras and I had already asked for a late check out of noon ( check out is 11) and was told yes. At 11 sharp housekeepers were banging on my door and room phone ringing asking me how much longer before I was leaving. Frustrating
Location: The location is right off the interstate, but literally nothing to do. There was a dunkin donuts within walking distance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Herndon, VA

Not convenient to other services.

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: room and limited breakfast were acceptable
Cons: A receptionist who was aware of restaurants near by and offered some honest advice
Location: Nothing near by
I chose this hotel since it did not appear to be too far from the Erie Canal Bike Trail that I was on. I was mistaken...while there was a major road to the hotel that passed over the bike trail, there was no way to get on it. To reach the hotel you had to bike up very steep local streets and make several turns along the way. When I asked about restaurants near by, the receptionist said that I would have to bike all the way down to the river, cross over, and then up a steep, long road to reach where restaurants were located. The receptionist also had 3 menus where you could order (pizza, Chinese) take out food. The third option was to take a taxi ride to where the restaurants were located ($6 one way) Fortunately, I met another biking couple who checked their smart phone and found an Italian restaurant that was about a mile away. There we were able to sit on the patio and enjoy very reasonable meals (under $10) that were delicious and the portion size was immense! How come the receptionist was not aware/did not recommend this great and close restaurant???
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Checks all of my boxes

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Clean Comfy Condition was fine Allowed me to stay an extra hour Parking was easy Would come back
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amman, Jordan

Conveniently located and clean

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Looking for a place to stop driving across NY state on the thruway. This Super 8 in Amsterdam was convenient and relatively clean. Served the purpose for the night. A little expensive, but I suppose it's peak summer travel season.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reasonable rates, clean room.

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Though the building is somewhat outdated, the room was clean and the rates were reasonable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Easy to get to.quiet and clean..............................
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Clinton,NY

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Cons: The air conditioner....Ran all the time and never really cooled the room and was extremely nosie.
It was just OK. Room was damp. Staff un friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Slow checkin, terrible breakfast

Posted Jul 31, 2016
It took a painfully long time to checkin. I'm not sure why - maybe they needed a 2nd person working at the desk. Also, breakfast was pitiful. They offered waffles ( but no syrup), English muffins, bread, and oatmeal packets. I'm isually pretty easy to please but I won't stay there again.