Ratings based on 247 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Stephen

Super clean and friendly Hotel!

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
We were on a long Holiday drive from VT to and from OH...stayed in several Super 8's...this was BY FAR the most updated, freshest, friendliest, CLEANEST of all the hotels...we stay there often and this time the agent helped us find a really good Italian carry-out restaurant for our New Year's Eve.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient but old stale smelling.

Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels
Room was cold and air smelled old, stale when entered.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Arlington, United States of America

Convenient location just off Highway

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Convenient location, free breakfast, clean and comfortable room.
Cons: Regular replacement of smoke detector batteries so that they do not near the warning stages.
Location: Handy location right off of I-90. Lock E-13 Living History Rest Area is not too far, if you're travelling west.
We stayed here once before when heavy snow forced our hand and we decided to plan it as a stop on a similar route for a quick and easy overnight. It is off I-90 and there is a gas station convenience store right off the exit, on your way to the hotel. Check-in was quick and easy, and the room was comfortable for our family of four, including two children (ages 8 & 6). The only problem was the smoke detector's low battery chirping started at 2 am, waking my wife and me, but not the kids. I called the front desk and was offered a new room or replacement battery. Not wanting the hassle of moving, we opted for the front desk staff to replace the battery, which he did, apologetically. We slept well the rest of the night. Breakfast the next morning was good enough for us, considering it was included in the price. Waffle, oatmeal, English muffin, toast, juice, coffee. There were cold cereal on offer, as well, and cinnamon rolls.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Cons: Add some fruit to free breakfast.
clean, affordable and comfortable. Free breakfast is well stocked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Female business traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
The Super 8 in Amsterdam is a sleepy quite hotel in a sleepy quiet town. No safety issues. Overall a decent stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Barre, United States of America

Not pleasant

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: I didn't like anything about this hotel. One of the worst super 8's I have stayed in. I have stayed at several up and down the east coast. By far the worse one.
Cons: The front desk agent wasn't personable to say the least. He acted as though it was a bother to check me in. There was literally no extras and I had already asked for a late check out of noon ( check out is 11) and was told yes. At 11 sharp housekeepers were banging on my door and room phone ringing asking me how much longer before I was leaving. Frustrating
Location: The location is right off the interstate, but literally nothing to do. There was a dunkin donuts within walking distance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Herndon, VA

Not convenient to other services.

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: room and limited breakfast were acceptable
Cons: A receptionist who was aware of restaurants near by and offered some honest advice
Location: Nothing near by
I chose this hotel since it did not appear to be too far from the Erie Canal Bike Trail that I was on. I was mistaken...while there was a major road to the hotel that passed over the bike trail, there was no way to get on it. To reach the hotel you had to bike up very steep local streets and make several turns along the way. When I asked about restaurants near by, the receptionist said that I would have to bike all the way down to the river, cross over, and then up a steep, long road to reach where restaurants were located. The receptionist also had 3 menus where you could order (pizza, Chinese) take out food. The third option was to take a taxi ride to where the restaurants were located ($6 one way) Fortunately, I met another biking couple who checked their smart phone and found an Italian restaurant that was about a mile away. There we were able to sit on the patio and enjoy very reasonable meals (under $10) that were delicious and the portion size was immense! How come the receptionist was not aware/did not recommend this great and close restaurant???
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice/clean great rate

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
Would happily stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for the price

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was clean, check in and out took about a minute, was a few miles away from where I needed to go to while in town. No complaints at all.