Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Philipe from Montreal

Outdated and smelly... avoid.

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
I visit about 50 hotels per year and rarely write a review. This one deserves a warning to all other travelers. First, there was a problem with our Hotels.com reservation. That's not the hotel's fault but the employee handled the situation in a very unprofessional manner, making my family wait almost 30 minutes unnecessarily and swearing in front of us. The hotel is a bit outdated and the beds on the verge of uncomfortable. We could hear every step the guests in the room above us took. The hallways smelled bad and the room was even worst. It smelled as if it used to be a smoking room. I ran out of hot water in the shower on the second day. The floor was dirty everywhere and there was a dirty kleenex under a bed. Even the orange juice was the gross fake kind! Overall it was bad even for a budget hotel.
5 out of 5

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad smoke oder

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
I booked a non-smoking room that smelled like someone smoked many cigarettes in. The blankets and pillow cases also smelled very strong. The desk person only offered a bottle of Frabreeze.
3 out of 5
by Jay from South Orange New Jersey

Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
Needed a place to stay just sleep it was fine for that but anything else I certainly would stay elsewhere The other places were far more and are not better in fact one is worse more. I have been going to the area for 35 years
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

If more hotels had a Velma....

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: Velma
Cons: I would like to see the breakfast upgraded slightly
Location: I was there for work in nearby Amsterdam... Only slept and it was clean and comfortable
The hotel is a good Super 8 rooms were clean and quiet. but IF more hotels had a Velma The Desk clerk who checked me in and out, The entire industry would benefit. Velma went the extra mile to make me feel comfortable and welcome. The best part is that I got the feeling that Velma does this with EVERYONE she interacts with. Will definitely stay there over Microtel or Holiday Inn as I felt that Super 8 actually appreciated my business. Thanks again...
4 out of 5
by Bradley

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ny

Great hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2016
Clean quite very comfortable would highly recommend to stay in a super 8
4 out of 5
by Carla from Horseheads, NY

Posted Mar 15, 2016 on Hotels
The only thing I did not like was that the door did not latch properly so you had to make sure the dead bolt was engaged. We had room #202.
4 out of 5
by Leo from Sherrill

Super 8 on a super cold weekend

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
I always stay at the Johnstown Super 8 for its convenience, value, and cleanliness, etc. That remained the same. But this time I had a problem with heat in my room. Perhaps because it was unusually cold this weekend, and the room was at the far end of the building, but it took hours for the room to become comfortable. Minor complaint - no DeCaf coffee or syrup for breakfast in the morning and the lobby/breakfast area was too cold to sit there. But the room was clean, comfortable, and the people were nice and helpful as always. I will still return there (Super 8) the next time I am there on business.