Ratings based on 886 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nsw

Recommend to all

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Location: Beautiful location with lots of tourist attractions.
Great place to stay. Great value and very helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2016 by Dylan, Hotel Management
Dear Glenn, Thank you for the feedback. it is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards, Dylan Stickle General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

clean room and water was hot and beautiful

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: as above
Cons: rooms need microwaves and cutlery
very comfortable and clean bed shower was hot and lovely
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by Dylan , Hotel Management
Dear Anon, Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay We would of been more than happy you heat your food for and provide cutlery.. Regards, Dylan Stickle General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth

Ibis Style Albany

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: None
Cons: Room and facilities overdue for upgrade/refit. Wi Fi didn't work.
Location: Good cafes and restaurants in Albany town centre.
Reception staff were friendly. While the room was clean, it's probably overdue for a refit. The furniture items and facilities were old. The Wi Fi never worked for us. Ok for a single night of stay. Expected higher standards from Ibis.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Dylan, Hotel Management
Hi Stanley, Thank you for your feedback. We are in the final stages of getting the wifi at the property corrected so it covers all areas of the property for fast, secure network for all our guests. We have plans to update our rooms soon. Regards, Dylan Stickle General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2016
disappointing with the meal - no 'healthy' options, no skim milk at breakfast. Room hadn't been vacuumed in the corners for a long time,
Comment from Hotel Management
by Dylan, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my apologies that you had not found your stay satisfactory. I have addressed your comments with my staff so the matters you have raised have been rectified. Regards, Dylan Stickle General Manager
3 out of 5
by Kevin

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2016 by Leigh, Hotel Management
Dear Kevin, Thank you for your review. Regards, Dylan Stickle General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel clean and comfortable water hot

Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Wotif
Fantastic overall but bathroom vanity way too small
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2016 by Dylan, Hotel Management
Dear Anon, Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Regards, Dylan Stickle General Manager
3 out of 5
by Charlotte from Singapore

Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Hotels
It was unfortunate that the wifi did not work at all during our stay. The room connected to the master bedroom also had a window that could not be locked and we were concerned about safety. It was also unfortunate that all the rooms were all booked out and we could not change rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2016 by Leigh, Hotel Management
Dear Charlotte, Thank you for your feedback. We are currently in the final stages of rectifying our internet so we have a fast, secure connection for all of our rooms. We take the safety and security of our guest very seriously here. I have checked the room you were in and there is a security latch on the window you have mentioned that only allows for the window to be opened by 3 inches. Regards, Dylan Stickle General Manager
2 out of 5
by Travis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2016 by Leigh, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback.
4 out of 5
by Jenny from Eaglemont

A nice place for a stopover

Posted Jun 8, 2016 on Hotels
We were spending a night in Albany in the off season. We found this hotel to be a little older, but clean and the staff very friendly and they were also able to offer advice about what to see the next day in Albany. I was a little apprehensive about the air conditioning unit being our heating, due to the noise they usually make, but found we didn't need it at night as the room was warm and comfortable. The buffet, at night, proved to be great value and was welcome as we didn't need to drive anywhere to find dinner. A good thing after a very long day of driving. The only glitch was that the wifi was not working properly, but it wasn't a big deal. Thank you to all at the motel for friendly, welcoming service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2016 by Leigh, Hotel Management
Dear Jenny, Thank you for your positive feedback. It is pleasing to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I shall pass your comments on to my team. Regards, Dylan Stickle General Manager