Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nsw

Recommend to all

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Location: Beautiful location with lots of tourist attractions.
Great place to stay. Great value and very helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2016 by Dylan, Hotel Management
Dear Glenn, Thank you for the feedback. it is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards, Dylan Stickle General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2016
disappointing with the meal - no 'healthy' options, no skim milk at breakfast. Room hadn't been vacuumed in the corners for a long time,
Comment from Hotel Management
by Dylan, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my apologies that you had not found your stay satisfactory. I have addressed your comments with my staff so the matters you have raised have been rectified. Regards, Dylan Stickle General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not typical of Ibis Hotels. Poor value for money .

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Quality of furnishings substandard for an accor hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2016 by Dylan, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Please accept my apologies that you did not find the hotel to your standards. With out constructive feedback we are unable to improve on the areas that we are missing the mark on. Regards, Dylan Stickle General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

it was ok

Posted May 26, 2016
Cons: The noisy pipes. Cleanliness of water kettle
It's facing the road, can get noisy at night. Water pipe noisy when we are bathing. The usual Coffee/Tea supply are provided. The kettle was grossed though... i had to washed and scrubbed around before using it. Wished there's more sockets.The wifi passwords inside room doesn't work so we have to ask the desk for password. The lady who we asked for password doesn't look happy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2016 by Dylan Stickle, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your feedback. Please let me apologise for the issues you had during your stay. I have addressed the issue of the cleanliness of the kettle with my housekeeping staff. We are in the final process of finding the best solution for the guest internet for all rooms so we have a hi speed, reliable and secure connection. Regards, Dylan Stickle General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WA

just a place to stay overnight

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: comfortable bed
Cons: the hotel needs upgrading
Location: in transit so not applicable
disappointed felt the hotel needs work- looking its age- not up to the usual standard of the ibis hotels, very poor tv reception
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2016 by Dylan, Hotel Management
Dear Fred, Thank you for your feedback. We are currently looking at an alternative package for our tv entertainment and will have this rectified soon. Regards, Dylan Stickle General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Windsor NSW

Too far out of town

Posted May 9, 2016
Pros: Restaurant food and staff were very pleasant.
Cons: Rooms need to be upgraded more No standout signage, stating Ibis Styles, drove around a few times trying to find the place.
Location: Not close to any amenities, you would have to get a taxi if you didn't have a motor car.
We were not given clean towels Glasses were not washed but left dirty after our 1st night stay Foldup bed was 2nd bed in room, not at all comfortable. Very noisy from traffic Food was very good in restaurant though.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2016 by Dylan Stickle , Hotel Management
Dear Kris, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. Please accept my apologies for the housekeeping services not meeting our usually high standards. I will be addressing this with my housekeeping team We are in the process of getting new signage for the property so it will be easy to locate. We are also looking into getting double glazed windows to reduce traffic noise. I am please to hear you enjoyed you meals and the staff were friendly. Regards, Dylan Stickle General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, WA

Nice hotel in decent location

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: Convenient location
Location: Albany centre, ANZAC national museum, wind farm, the gap, Bluff Knoll, the granite skywalk
Room is large and comfortable. Remember to close the blind else the bowls club can see you :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2016 by Dylan Stickle, Hotel Management
Dear Sam, Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in Albany. Regards, Dylan Stickle General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, WA

Fine

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: It was very clean.
Cons: The Hotel was advertised with WiFi but it did not work. This was a shame.
Location: The location was fine, a bit out of the way but it was only a short drive to the town center and attractions!
Our accommodation was fine, the room was clean and well presented which is all we were after. We didn't spend much time in the lobby or the attached restaurant as we were out and about for our whole stay. It's a great hotel if you're not spending much time in your room as it's really all you need! Wifi didn't work in the room which was a bummer, but the parking outside our room was really convenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2016 by Leigh, Hotel Management
Thanks for providing us with your review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept my apologies with regard to the wifi as we are experiencing some difficulties at times with it in some areas, it is however always available in the Lobby and Restaurant. We do hope to see you return again to ibis Styles Albany. Regards Leigh Reid Regional Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2016
have stayed here a few times, its only a short drive in to town. The motel units are fine, the food in the restaurant is fine but the service a bit slow.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2016 by Leigh, Hotel Management
Thanks for providing us with your review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, particularly the accommodation and food. We look forward to welcoming you back again to ibis Styles Albany. Regards Leigh Reid Regional Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, WA

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Food is ok, good value. Showers is too old. The carpet bedroom is a bit smelly, need circulation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2015 by Leigh, Hotel Management
Thanks for providing feedback on your recent stay with us. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed the value for money and food. Please accept my apologies regarding the carpet we will work through the rooms to locate this issue. Regards Leigh Reid Regional Manager