Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Jargal

Superb

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location, a very warm welcome to a lovely hotel very simple and easy checkin and a beautiful room.Couldn't recommend this hotel enough, from arrival our experience here was brilliant. The bed was comfy and room quiet I could hear no outside noise and slept through the night without an issue. Very clean rooms what more could you ask for from a hotel. The owners Ray and Mary Barnes are provided wonderful service, they're extremely helpful, friendly and checked with us a few times during our stay, to make sure everything is fine. The English breakfast was superb.....we will certainly be returning. Many thanks to Mary and Ray Barnes for your service. See you all soon. Best regards, Jenny and Jason
5 out of 5
by David

5*

Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
Well looked after by Mary &Ray who were very friendly. The property was excellent with everything you need for a good stay even fresh milk the first evening in the room. Would have liked it the second evening aswell but it didn't matter. It's in a good location close to the sea front and all the amenities. Would gladly stay there again and recommend to others.
4 out of 5
by Phil

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Eric

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
Great place to stay not to far to walk for all the entertainment but just enough tout of the way .the owners what a warm welcome I got I loved the little touch when they called to see if I was safe on my journey down I would stay here again when I am working in the area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from derby

Fantastic stay

Posted May 18, 2017
Fantastic hotel, lovely hosts, and a great breakfast. Thank you Mary and Ray for a lovely stay.
5 out of 5
by Karinne

Very friendly owners, clean & fab brekkie!

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
We are a couple in our early 30's who booked a very last minute break here. We could not fault the warmth, friendliness and genuine nature of the owners, Mary & Ray who consistently ensured that our needs were met as their guests. Our room was very light, well decorated and most importantly immaculately clean. I would agree with others that the ensuite facilities do perhaps need updating but this a very nitpicking point, it doesn't detract from your stay & I'm aware Mary & Ray are renovating the rooms. The breakfast was very delicious and was comprised of good quality products that were nice and fresh (your scrambled eggs were fab Mary!) The tea & toast was plentiful too. Ray kindly gave us some recommendations over breakfast for places to stop for a drink, have a cream tea etc. The owners clearly know their location & the surrounding areas very well. We will definitely stay again when we get the chance for a little break away. Thank you for a lovely stay.
5 out of 5
by maria

excellent

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
Taunton House is an excellent place. Mary and Ray are awesome hosts.
5 out of 5
by denis

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
The host's were really friendly and helpful. I liked the fact that they went out of their way and sent personnel emails to introduce themselves to you and made themselves available for your arrival time. I will be going back with my family in Aug this year and I will definately be recommending this hotel to my family and friends.
5 out of 5
by Anne

Fantastic Stay...

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
Absolutely fantastic stay at Taunton House, Mary and Ray are a really lovely couple, gave us a warm welcome and called to check on our arrival time. Perfectly clean room with lovely decor, comfy bed and lovely sea view. Perfect hot shower. Looking forward to returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

You won't be disappointed!

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Location: Peaceful location but a stones throw from the beach and a short walk to the town.
Stayed in room 3 which was not huge but perfectly adequate for a short stay. Beautiful room and very clean. Lovely touch having chocolates on arrival. Only downside would be that the ensuite would benefit being refurbished to match the standard of the room.