Ratings based on 334 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dornoch

very comfortable large bedroom and friendly staff.

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: The bedrooms were huge and very comfy, very large bed.
Cons: It could improved by the steps up into the reception area especially with suitcases which both my husband and I had to struggle up the stairs.
Location: Very near to all the restaurants near by and the shops.
very comfortable hotel and the staff were very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Crieff

Great location

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Location, quirky building, good breakfast
Location: City centre, handy for Kings theatre, Theatre Royal, concert hall, GFT, GOMA, CCA, excellent shopping, restaurants, bars,
Perfectly positioned in the city centre, this hotel has been created in an interesting old building. Many of the original features have been retained making it quite quirky. It still has an old cage lift in perfect working order. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, small but with good facilities. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was excellent value. This is the second time I've stayed here and I will definitely be back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Carol

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

City centre hotel that needs upgrading

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Room 101 had air con that only Blew out freezing air, a radiator that was beyond boiling and the restaurant fan which stayed on all night belting against our window. We were moved the following morning. Our 2nd night was calmer. The staff seem ill equipped to deal with the long number of complaints all the guests had. Check out was a long slow queue. Restaurant lacked atmosphere, we had a drink there and decided not to dine!
5 out of 5
by Alice

Special, cosy, friendly hotel. Perfect.

Posted Feb 4, 2017 on Hotels
Booked last minute and got given a suite. It was amazing. Loved it. I've stayed in a smaller room too there and it was cosy and stylish. I love this hotel. Would stay again in a heartbeat. Great restaurant next door too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous hotel, well done to the staff

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Well done to the owner. Staff on front desk provided overview of hotel and the owners intention of buying old properties, great idea. Great stay, will be back and will also try other Abodes.
5 out of 5
by Lisa

Impressive and welcoming hotel

Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely building - very impressive old lift. The rooms were spacious and had everything we needed including snacks at a reasonable price. The air conditioning was quite noisy, not sure what they can do about this though. Also do expect noise if your room is at the front of the hotel, Glasgow centre can get very busy and noisy with people shouting and talking loudly right through the night. This wasn't too bad though and it was to be expected.
5 out of 5
by Sheila

Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
I was so impressed ,it was five star quality for a great price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Xmas party stopover

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Location couldn't be much better.
Cons: It's a little bit tired looking in places, but nothing bad at all.
Location: It's on one of the main drags in Glasgow with some of the best bars and restaurants next door.
Hotel is great and was really handy and great value for just a week before Xmas. Everything worked out well and I'll definitely stay again. The lift in the hotel is an old, original cage lift and is absolutely beautiful..