Ratings based on 193 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Ideal base for my four night stay in Glasgow

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: See above comments
Cons: Perhaps a sign for the hotel car park from Clouston Street, as it's in a small lane that runs behind the properties and is not that easy to find.
Location: See main comments
This great hotel is only around ten miles (20 minutes drive when not too busy) from Glasgow Airport and, although only a few minutes drive from the motorway, is actually within a very peaceful residential area right next to the Botanic Gardens. It is a short distance from the nearest underground station, and the 6 and 6a buses also take you into the city centre from here. I walked, and found the city centre easily, only about 25 minutes to get there on foot. Glasgow University and Kelvingrove Park are also within easy walking distance. Byers Road provides numerous restaurants and bars, and is only five minutes walk from the hotel. Unless you want to eat in the city centre itself, Byers Road provides a reasonable variety of choices, and is very convenient. It also has a Waitrose and other outlets to buy other supplies. The Hotel does not serve evening food, but provides several helpful recommendations within the information pack in the bedrooms. There is plenty of free on-street parking in Kelvin Drive itself, or there's six spaces in the hotel car park at the rear of the building reached by going along a narrow lane from Clouston Street. It's clear that the hotel has been recently renovated, the public rooms and bedrooms are all very clean and fresh with new carpets, lights etc. Checking in was very easy, and there's a desktop with intenet access for guest use at reception that was very useful, and there was free wifi in the rooms otherwise. The dining room is of a reasonable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

nice hotel close to where my daughter lives

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Good location in Hillhead, good connections to City centre, room clean and comfortable. The only negative was the lighting in the room, no reading light and the other light too bright. Staff could have been friendlier
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nicely refurbished - shame about the service

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
Since my last stay here, the Ambassador has undergone a major refurbishment and it looks and feels great, I was very impressed. It's a shame that the receptionist was far from welcoming, and made me feel like I was being a burden, especially when I requested for breakfast to be added on. I believe she was there on her own, but my attempts to make small-talk were completely wasted. I would rather stay further out of the city and commute, than stay here and walk into the university campus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Value!

Posted Dec 22, 2016
The Ambassador is no 4* Hilton, but in value for money terms its GREAT for a night or two if you are in the location. Nothing fancy, just functional, clean and comfortable bed and very pleasant staff. I'd stay there again no problem at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2017 by G, Hotel Management
Thanks for your recent review
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location and great value for money.

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent location in the West-End of Glasgow for Byres Road, Ashton lane and the Botanical Gardens all within easy walking distance and free on street parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your recent review
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from perthshire

good hotel quiet location.

Posted Dec 19, 2016
staff are friendly and helpful hotel is close to transport and bars but still very quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2017 by g, Hotel Management
Thanks for your recent review
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rod Stewart Concert

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Love this Hotel, Staff are so friendly and welcoming. The location is ideal for the West End, comfortable beds, quiet location good nights sleep. Will definitely stay here again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2017 by g, Hotel Management
Thanks for your recent review
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were very welcoming and friendly . Aea was nice and pubs etc where a short walk away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your recent review
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

More a boarding house; less of a hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Nothing much
Cons: Lower the rate
Location: Location good for the West end.
Although nicely situated opposite the Botanical Gardens this 'hotel' is really more of a boarding house. The key entry, the reception booth, gaudy Christmas decorations and payment of the bill upfront, all adding to the sense that you are in a rather low grade establishment. The room resembled a 'cell' with little furniture. The bathroom was clean and modernised. This is all OK as long as you don't market yourself as a hotel and charge hotel rates.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels