Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gloucester UK

Lovely hotel in quiet location

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The room was very comfortable with a spacious bathroom.
Location: The hotel is in a quiet location about 20 minute walk from the city centre.
The hotel was lovely, the staff were very welcoming and helpful. The hotel room was very comfortable with a spacious bathroom. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and the staff couldn't do enough for us. The hotel is located in a quiet area about 20 minutes walk from the City Centre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

September stay

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Location: Very near the University of Glasgow and the wonderful Kelvingrove Museum. Lots of small independent shops and interesting walks in the neighborhood.
Perfect location for West End for us. The hotel overall was good, not great-- bathroom was new and spotless and sleek--opposed to the somewhat tired furnishings. The room was clean if a bit dated, and it was fun to have a huge 4 poster bed. The special thing about our stay, though, was the staff. We had extended conversations with 3 of the delightful ladies at the front desk, all of whom were unfailingly helpful, cheerful, and perceptive. They gave great suggestions to nearby resturaunts, things to do, and ways to get around the city and were willing to talk to us like people, rather than just faceless tourists passing through.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Cananda

Fantastic stay!!

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Lovely hotel in a great area. Very clean room with modern bathroom. Very friendly staff. Fantastic stay all together!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice big room for three travelers.

Posted Jul 2, 2016
We were staying in Glasgow after turning in our rental car on our way back to London. We had a very large family room for three adults. Everything was clean, breakfast was great and we were within walking distance to yummy Thai restaurant for dinner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reasonably priced hotel

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Reasonably priced hotel in good location for attending concert at SSE Hydro. Easy to get to and from motorway. Plenty of options for dining close by. Breakfast Okay and only about 20 minute walk to city centre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Beautiful and comfy room with very friendly staff!

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: The room. Decor was very very lovely.
Cons: Breakfast. Quality could be much, much better, and have more options for vegetarians.
Location: Location was okay. Not sure what was around as we were there for only 1 night.
We had booked a double room but were given a family room instead. We were grateful for the extra space and surprised that the hotel had a room large enough to fit 1 king/queen bed and 3 single beds with ample room left. Would be very handy for a large travelling family. The room decor was very lovely - traditional Scottish tartan, how not to love?!! The shower & toilet looked very new as well. Only down side to our stay was that the breakfast didn't have a very wide spread, especially for vegetarians. It was standard fare, and the quality of what was provided was also just below average. Despite that, we still wished we had stayed a little longer as the room itself was very comfy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good base for West End

Posted May 31, 2016
Great value for money hotel, well-placed for exploring the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Abergavenny, UK

A little shabby, but comfortable and clean

Posted May 30, 2016
The TV remote control and the kettle had been damaged, but they worked fine once I'd understood the problems. There were also some slightly worn carpets, but these were not dangerous and not surprising, considering how cheap the hotel is. For me, the temperature of the bedroom is the most important thing, as I often can't sleep in hotels because it's too noisy with the window open and too hot with it closed. The Argyll Hotel was quieter than I expected and pleasantly cool, because I had the window wide open all evening. I had a single room, which was very small, but it was clean, the shower was hot/cold and powerful, the bed was smooth and firm, and everything was very clean. The breakfast was of good quality and all the staff were friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted May 13, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Wi fi and Internet
Great location, close to hop on hop off bus, bars and restaurants nearby. Vibrant part of town. Room very clean. Wi fi slow with very poor internet only negative. All staff friendly and helpful. Great breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Great hotel central

Posted May 9, 2016
We have stayed here previously only 10 min walk 2SSCC & a 15/20 min walk to Glasgow centre disappointed there was no evening dining as it was off season hoping to book again for end of October