Ratings based on 249 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Giffnock

Central location in Oban

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Location. Food. Service. Cleanliness. Cons. Very limited parking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Anaheim, CA

Dirty and Old

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Misleading. The pictures are nothing like the everyday look of this hotel. It is run down. And the tiny ugly lake infront of this hotel is just sad.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Loch Lomond chosen for the lovely view,not to be looking out at concrete space .on requesting a change,were told hotel was fully booked. Very disappointing. ,glad stay was only for one night
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Lovely view of Loch Long

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Nice hotel sits overlooking Loch Long with superb views of The Cobbler. Been here 5 times, just love to sit and relax.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Clydebank

Posted Mar 21, 2017
First room we were given had a strong smell of urine. When i told the staff at reception we were quickly given the choice of another two rooms. Its a basic, no frills hotel and is fine for a one night stop over but i would not recomend it for a prolonged stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arochar

Nice hotel for a two star beautiful views

Posted Mar 14, 2017
I was really pleased with this Hotel for a two star hotel it was very good. The staff very very friendly and eager to please and make sure i was happy. The food was good and very reasonable. Dining room was lovely nice crisp white Tablecloths and a good few tables with panoramic views. Full breakfast and very Well organised. The price deal through Expedia was very good and I was very pleased with this deal. I enjoyed my stay and would certainly go back again and recommend it to families and friends.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Weekend break

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Live music, food and staff
Cons: Overall the hotel could be doing with an upgrade of the decor.
Location: Great location for a quite break, the loch is right in front of the hotel if you like fishing or boating and ideal for hill walking on Ben Arthur.
This is my second break at this hotel and I would say it much the same as my first break which was about 8 years and overall I would recommend it. There was live music and the food was excellent. The hotel was very busy but the service was first class.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ayrshire

Hotel has fab views over Loch Long

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: I found the hotel comfortable, clean, warm and inviting. The staff were helpful and friendly.
Cons: I am unable to take milk with breakfast cereal. So it would have been good to have been offered a choice of yoghurt too.
Location: Loch Lomond; Inverary (Loch Fyne Oyster Bar) Glen Coe for walkers and visitors.
Cooked breakfast was tasty. The room was warm and comfortable and had toiletries for guests along with tea/coffee making facilities too. We enjoyed our stay and would come again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bridgend Wales

Hotel overlooking Loch Long - 1 night stay

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Location overlooking Loch and directly opposite the Cobbler (mountain)
Cons: This is a fairly old hotel probably past its best and could require a lot of investment to upgrade. Bedrooms could benefit from a revamp.
Location: Walking
I opted to upgrade my room to a Loch view room on arrival - probably worth it for the extra ten pounds. Quite a nice dining room again with Loch views. I went for the a la carte menu but maybe its best to stick with the set menu which seemed good value. Nice good natured waitress (from Romania). I would stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mediocre at that

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Got there to find my stay had been cancelled but had a room left by luck so reception said was no frills stay nothing special old hotel food was terrible good job there was a shop along the road stocked up on snacks staff were ok tried to be helpful