Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Practical but shabby.

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: It's location.
Cons: Just needs some proper repairs and attention.
The hotel itself is very tired, the room was reasonably clean, but the room needs a thorough refreshing. The room was a mismatch of worn DIY quick fixes and repairs, chipped paint, unfinished tiling, fraying bed, wobbly headboard, broken skirting board and a very leaky (but good) shower.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Great Accomodations

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Great location. Lots of good eats nearby and within walking distance of most of the city's attractions. The hotel is very eclectic in design, but it definitely adds charm. The room was clean and comfortable with plenty of outlets for charging all of my electronics. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what it says on the tin!

Posted Jun 19, 2016
The room we were originally given was awful. Clean bed linen for sure but not much else clean..dust everywhere..floor needed a wash! Window wouldn't close..very noisy music from downstairs/outside..bedside lamp bulb gone. Asked lad on duty to get new bulb..asked for a better room and thankfully he gave us a much better room..after telling us hotel was full! Am grateful he found another room..staff apologised next morning but nothing would have happened if we hadn't complained.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Nice for a two star hotel. Bar staff really nice. Reception staff ok. Beds quite comfortable for a two star. Walls thin.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from l

Great location

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Well situated ... Friendly staff ... Room quite hot though !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, but disappointed in hotel

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Fixture and fittings
Location: Great location for shopping and sightseeing.
Stayed for radio 1s big weekend as the location of the hotel was ideal. But unfortunately that's pretty much all the hotel has going for it. The reception staff were friendly enough even if she did presume that my 17yr old daughter was my partner! The hotels decor is a little questionable with a dark red stairwell with matching carpet that leads up to the rooms. The room itself was small, with a new white flat screen tv on the wall but that was where the "luxury" ended. The blue built in door less wardrobe housed a full size ironing board, a selection of travelodge coat hangers and a table top fan caked in dust! The window didn't close, the light switch was loose, the furniture was shabby and the curtains weren't wide enough to cover the windows. I am in no way a hotel snob however there are some things I think any hotel should provide regardless of price or star rating. I would not recommend this hotel for any other reason apart from location.
4 out of 5
by nadia

Nice hotel,ideal location next to city centre.

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Nice little hotel, rooms up to date and comftarblel loud house cleaning staff in the morning before check out ti e but ideal if you want quick access to city centre.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Oh dear...

Posted Dec 28, 2013
I booked it because it looked like a boutique style hotel. When I arrived I thought that I was at the wrong address because it looked like a youth hostel. When I get my key and went to the second floor I laughed as it looked at one would imagine what a brothel would look like. The carpet was dirty and the room look shabby. For 85 pounds a night I would of expected something that didn't look like a homeless shelter.
3 out of 5
by sharon from Perth, W Australia

triple shared room

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: Convenient location & free wifi
Location good - near to train station & in city. Room small for triple share - tight space for luggages. Furnishing old and would be better if upgraded. There was a crack in wash basin. Breakfast basic
2 out of 5
by kim

This hotel turns into a night club!!!

Posted Aug 19, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness and decor
Location: Merchant City is near by as is the train station and St. George Square.
Hotel is in a great location with friendly staff. However, it becomes a night club in the late evening. This means if you want a quiet night of rest, you better bring ear plugs. Also, it appears the party spills into the stairwells which are old and poorly maintained. Overall, it just felt dirty; literally and figuratively.