Ratings based on 416 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Great restaurants, we went to the Mark Wishart and were so impressed. Yes it's expensive but it's worth it
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reception very dark, same as bedroom

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Had to wait 25 mins for vaket parking! 20 mins for luggage porter A lot of managers, needs more workers Try Airds hotel in Port Appin for excellence
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Unfortunately, it was pouring with rain when we stayed at Cameron House so we couldn't fully appreciate the beautiful setting but this was the perfect place to spend a rainy day in Scotland! Everything about the hotel exuded luxury and the rooms were no different. We stayed in a standard room and it was more than spacious for two with a huge bathroom. The facilities were excellent - just what we needed to escape from the Scottish "summer" (we just wished we could have spent more time outside taking gorgeous surroundings). Our only complaint was that it was extremely busy at breakfast (which to be fair, the hotel had warned us about) and we had to ask three times and wait 30 minutes before the toast we had ordered arrived. So our tip would be to avoid the busy breakfast time!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from perthshire

Nice hotel in a beautiful location

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Location plus the swimming pool is very nice
Cons: More lighting in the reception area.
We have stayed here at least three times before so knew what to expect. We felt that our room this time was rather small for the price we paid and it had no real view. We arrived dead on check in time at 3pm but our room was not ready so we had to go and wait elsewhere....I thought we should have been offered a complimentary tea or coffee whilst we waited the 30 minutes for the room to become available. Other than that no complaints.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, not 5 star

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Hotel itself lovely, facilities & bar area are great. However we had afternoon tea which wasn't anything special, bedroom was dusty & had problem with the mattress that we had to complain about, service often a bit unprofessional. No major issues, but all detracted from a 5 star experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Weybridge

Fabulous location and views.

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Cannot fault location and loch view room for comfort and feel. I went as a couple without children so was disappointed that the spa pool and facilities were 2 miles away and were at a cost of £39.00 per person to use. The large swimming pool was free and on site but full of familes and busy. The staff at the Vameron grill restaurant were u der trained and the service questionable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The best hotel for customer service.

Posted Aug 6, 2016
This hotel is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in for polite and helful staff !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from birmingham

Fabulous hotel, bad breakfast experience

Posted Jul 25, 2016
The hotel is fabulous and has great facilities and beautiful setting right by the loch and we loved the choice of things to do and places to eat. We booked the champagne cruise and the hawk walk- I thoroughly recommend both of these. We ate at the boat house and the Claret jug which were both lovely. Our room was huge and comfortable with a lovely bathroom. The reason for the low rating was breakfast. This was a truly awful experience. one day we waited 40 minutes for a table, we were constantly sat amongst dirty tables and every time we went to the self serve we had to ask for glasses/plates/bowls/food ...you name it. I ordered pancakes every day (four days) and each day it looked a different dish. No butter/jam/coffee on the table....and on and on... Such a shame. I hope the hotel reads this and does something about it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mc

Gorgeous hotel in beautiful setting

Posted Jul 24, 2016
The hotel is in a beautiful setting just on Loch Lomond. Great pool with a flume. My daughter loved it. The hotel is amazing we've stayed before and we loved the room we had. It was a classic double I think. This time we were in a feature room as my daughter came with us. Somehow it felt smaller than the classic double. Would have rated it 5 but we had blinds in our room that were super dusty. I pointed it out and they were v apologetic. The hotel needed a bit of a hoover too! Think they had a couple of weddings on so they were a bit busy. Breakfast was awesome and the grill and the restaurant are beautiful too. My mum used the spa at the carrick. She said it was great but about a 15 min journey away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Disappointed

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Have stayed here on a few occasions and was lookng forward to our visit. The room was clean apart from stain on throw. When having a shower you were left standing in about 4 inches of water in the bath as water did not drain away quickly enough. Paper coming off a bit on bathroom ceiling. Bedside light not working and another one worked after we tightened the bulb. No glasses for drinks in the room apart from plastic tumbler in bathroom. The meal we had in the grill room was ok - salmon starter first class but steaks a bit tough - asked for medium rare but were overcooked. Had to wait about ten minutes for table at breakfast and when we left the queue was even longer for a table. Very surprised at that. The breakfast itself was just ok, nothing special. Visited the Carrick spa too which was nice but felt this too was not as high a standard as previously. The hotel staff were very nice and worked especially hard in the restaurant but were understaffed. Don't get me wrong Cameron House in a stunning location, in a beautiful building but with new owners it is just not as good as it once was.