Ratings based on 613 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria,BC

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Generally comfortable
Cons: In warm summer weather room very stuffy. Practically nonexistent ventilation/air conditioning.
Location: Location excellent and central. Very easy for airport bus. Great shopping.
Decent hotel in great downtown location. Easy transportation links.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cumbria

Lovely hotel great location

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Had great time at this hotel. Just one little niggle. Room was close to air con units in the central area. Closing the window blocked the noise out but then no air in room so was a bit warm overnight. That said room was great. Staff excellent and had a great breakfast. Just off the main shoping street. Close to station, bars and everything you need. Would recommend and would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Very nice hotel, near train station, city center

Posted Jun 16, 2017
Pros: location, staff, rooms - all great!
We stayed for three nights, getting ready for our West Highland Way hike. Lovely hotel, especially loved the VIP room where we could go for continental breakfast, coffee & tea, free wine & beer in the afternoon! This hotel was in the center of downtown and close to shopping & lots of great restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic hotel in City Centre

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: Excellent location, comfortable accomodations (suggest upgrade to get free mini-bar and executive lounge access).
Location: In City Centre on the edge of George St Square. Take a city bus tour from the square to get an overview of Glasgow and its main sights.
Glasgow has a different vibe than Edinburgh, but both cities are must-sees. Edinburgh has large sections of beautifully preserved neighborhoods, whereas Glasgow, with the demise of its large manufacturing sector has been able to erect many modern structures, drawing upon contemporary architecture.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, ohio

Awesome!

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Room were very nice and clean.
Location: Perfect location! Right next to train, taxi line and airport bus. So convenient!
This was the best hotel I stayed at in Scotland. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was really clean and the roof-top dining was lovely. Thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from FALKIRK

GREAT HOTEL

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF GLASGOW AND NEAR THE 2 MAIN RAILWAY STATION
Cons: THE ROOM COULD DO WITH A MAKEOVER
Location: CITY CENTER SHOPPING
FRIENDLY STAFF CLEAN ROOM BREAKFAST AND AFTERNOON WAS TASTY AND FREE BAR
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa

Comfortable in Glasgow

Posted May 28, 2017
Perfect hotel for Glasgow sightseeing and central location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent comfortable city centre location

Posted May 27, 2017
Cons: better signage in stair ways as I got lost taking the stairs instead of the elevator and ended up in adjoining bar .
Stayed her 4 nights in May on our first trip to Scotland from Canada celebrating my 60th birthday and husbands retirement. Great location ,airport bus stops outside the door , central to everything in the city. A bit noisy if windows were open so ask for higher floor or back of building. Front desk staff very responsive to requests , and the free minibar and club access convenient and great feature. Clean rooms and comfy king bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Augustine, FL

Absolutely excellent hotel in Glasgow City Centre.

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Lower cost of breakfast.
Location: Great location for pubs, restaurants and shopping. Close to the beginning stop of the city tour bus, where you can see all of the major attractions.
My wife and I enjoyed our stay very much while visiting Glasgow on our vacation. The staff were extremely friendly and very knowledgeable about the city. The room was very comfortable and the free mini bar was an added bonus we were not accustomed at other hotels. The location of this hotel is perfect, as great restaurants, pubs and shopping are within walking distance. Overall, staying at The Carlton George was an outstanding experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Location and minibar.

Posted May 23, 2017
The location was excellent, very near the central square, which is very cool. The complimentary minibar was just enough to put us in a very good mood!