Ratings based on 491 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Really great place once they moved us out of noisy

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Location: Very convenient as Queen Train Station was 1/2 block away, Sainsbury Supermarket was in front the station. Also pedestrian only street was close.
Street facing rooms have less noise from ones court wise with loud generators not turned off at night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bensalem, PA

Don't book the "

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Location: Center city, tons to do from eating Out to museums and shopping
Room was terrible. Hot and window to brick walls and AC units. Room was so warm that we had to keep window open and racket from AC units was deafening. I'll go again but only to Executive or Club room. Superior room did not even include the lounge bar, however they added this in when we complained to the manager Monica. Initially when we asked about this to the desk staff, the so called reservation manager told us we booked the cheapest room. He was rude. Anyway, having said this, central location is great. We were there for a week. Weekdays mostly business people. Weekend a lot drinking due to free booze.. Expedia should clarify the inferiority of the "superior"room. Had I known this, I would have upgraded the room. The hotel was fully booked so this was not possible.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Plush, comfy and centrally located.

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Comfort and convenience. We came by train to leave via the airport next day via taxi or bus - and it was perfect for that.
Cons: As one with allergies, I prefer to be able to open the window. But the view was of roof top generators and such anyway.
Location: Glasgow and all it offers were right outside the door. Trains, buses and taxis were all just steps away.
Less than a block from the train and bus stations, and plush enough to feel above it all in this tall and skinny hotel. Nice elevators take you to the rooms and the lofty dining room, where you get a birds eye view of Glasgow's varied rooftops. Room amenities included a variety of free liquors and mixers for those who imbibe.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 5, 2016
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Great hotel close to trains and shopping

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Front desk staff so friendly and helpful, great breakfast. Beautiful views from restaurant. Rooms had everything for weary travellors, even slippers. Complimentary mini bar a bonus. Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Glasgow. Waxy's pub next door super convenient. Lots to choose from to do when staying at this hotel. Did I mention how friendly all the staff were☺
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oak Ridge, TN

Excellent hotel in the heart of Glasgow

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: loved the location. Couldn't beat the open mini bar with the liquor included.
Cons: The in room coffee maker didn't work well
Location: already stated centrally located just off the pedestrian mall
A gem of a hotel right in the heart of Glasgow. Convenient to everything. The airport connection bus stops right in front of the hotel for a quick and economical transfer from the airport. Room was ready when we got there. Reception was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Internet was fast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Sep 25, 2016
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Well located but aging hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2016
The Carleton George has a great location and the free mini bar is a nice touch, but this hotel is also showing its age. We had an inside facing room. The ordinary room temperature when we stayed there in September was too hot. The only realistic option to cool the room was the air conditioning, which even at its lowest setting, made it too cold. It would have been nice to simply rely on the open window, but that meant listening to the 50-60 decibel ongoing sound of some machinery in the courtyard. A sink that was very slow to drain added to the discomfort.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Germany

Freundlich, sauber, aber sehr warm

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Personal, Zimmerausstattung
Cons: Zimmer waren extrem warm, obwohl die Klimaanlage lief
Location: Sehr zentrale Lage, mitten im Geschehen
Freundliches & Hilfbereites Personal; Sauberes Zimmer, Minibar kostenlos (all-inclusive), Gute Ausstattung, sehr bequemes Bett, Einziger Minuspunkt: Das Zimmer war sehr warm, obwohl die Klimaanlage lief.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Good find in a good location

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Cons: Check-in when arriving by car - there should be a drive-up area right in front of the hotel with a valet.
Location: Perfect locations for walking or taking the subway around Glasgow. Premium shopping and sightseeing is in the immediate vicinity.
We checked in on a rainy afternoon and the manager, Mark, came out across the street to help with the bags. He helped with every part of the check-in experience when the front desk staff was otherwise occupied, which impressed me. The rooms were very nice, the bathroom was comfortable, and the location of the hotel was perfect for walking around Glasgow. Overall, a really nice experience.