Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Good, clean comfortable hotel. Food in restaurant excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient for the occasion work in progress

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: finishing touches
Location: loch lomand Glasgow edinburgh
work in progress as undergoing refurb for past two years staff ok breakfast ok little bit more effort on finishing touches would add more class
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel review

Posted Aug 19, 2016
My trip to the dumbuck housee hotel was cancelled but 10 out of 10 for the helpfull staff
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, USA

Don't book Family Suite if Party Room is Booked!!!

Posted Aug 12, 2016
We stayed a weekend night and we were subjected to pounding music until 1AM. I'm all for a party, but not in my room. The room was spacious and a bit dingy, but would have served my family fine if we could have slept through the DJ's bad 80s music. The only staffer on duty was the bartender. We made him come up to the room and listen to the noise level of the music. Being the bar keep, he could only offer us a drink to make up for the inconvenience, or to move rooms with 2 kids already asleep. He promised to have the music off by 1AM, which he did.The pub food was fine, and the building is charming, but paying to not sleep is not cool.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Value for money

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: easy access value for money
Cons: Wifi coverage sound isolation
the hotel is easy to find with adequate parking space. Room is fine but sound isolation is not good. the noise and music from dowstairs bar is loud.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pudsey, UK

Lovely staff, excellent food

Posted Aug 6, 2016
This is a nice dog-friendly hotel with comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff and a very good restaurant menu. Despite the ill-fitting carpets in the corridors on the first floor, this is a lovely little find on the edge of Dumbarton, which has made it onto my "must return to" list.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NI

Quaint but noisy

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: The charm
Cons: Sound proofing or putting families in rooms as far away from the function area as possible.
Nice hotel with charm and character, rooms were comfortable and staff friendly. Unfortunately our stay was spoiled by the thump of music into the early hours from the function room located beside our room. The smoking area was just below our window and I can confirm sash windows are not very sound proof! We had to turn on the TV, turn up the volume to try and drown out the sound. Maybe not a big deal to some but I was staying with a child who couldn't get to sleep and we had an early start...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in ideal situation for our trip.

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: Staff very attentive and helpful, Food was good too
Cons: Would not like to comment until refit completed
Location: Did not stay moved on first thing
Hotel undergoing refit and is going to be in a great place. Unfortunately our room was looking tired and needed some attention.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Frankfurt

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Nettes, kleines Hotel. Die Angestellten sind sehr zuvorkommend. Einziger negativer Aspekt: das Hotel ist nicht sehr zentral gelegen und für Reisende ohne Auto schlecht zu erreichen.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island

Run down hotel in an industrial area

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Cons: Need more staff in dining room and bar and even at front desk. All staff are multi-tasking so much that they can't do a good job of anything.
Location: Location is poor. Industrial area near a village that is in decline and full of rubbish. Dumbarton Castle is nearby and worth seeing.
Hotel is run down, understaffed, room was adequate but noisy AC unit on the roof outside our window. Dining room and bar were good, but staff were stretched so waits were long and frustrating. Food was good.