Ratings based on 293 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stewarton, Scotland.

Handy to transport.

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Pros: Was able to get to the Hydro in a matter of minutes to see the "Glasgow Tattoo".
Location: Easy to find and plenty of parking. Although the cost puts up the decent price offered by the hotel for accomodation.
Only there for a matter of hours, overnight. No opportunity to try the food or the bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Excellent hotel and central for hydro which was why we choose this hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice friendly staff - needs a refurb!

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Hotel is looking tired and dated. Staff were lovely and had a great massage in their spa. Pool looked like a public pool and was full of kids when I went... so much so that they had sectioned off a small lane for hotel guests... not the relaxing experience I had hoped for. Hotel is more like 3 star overall.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Christmas Break

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Leaving it
Cons: Stop charging for everything and relying on a brand name and concentrate on providing a better experience.
Location: Pretty central. Easy to walk to most things
This is a 3 star pretending to be a 4 star. No minibar, a daily parking charge (most hotels would waive such a fee but not this one ) and rooms that looked like they needed a redecor. They claim free wifi but the free part of that is in the lobby, in the rooms it's chargeable, and pretty slow at that. The breakfast buffet really struggled to cope on the first day, running out of food on several occasions
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Christmas getaway

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Breakfasts and health club
Cons: Unable to get Marriott points when booking through Expedia. The desk staff said you had to book on the Marriott website to get points.
Location: Aladdin at the SECC, great fun
This is a good quality hotel with a lovely pool and spacious health club with up-to-date equipment, just the place to relax for a few days. The room was mostly comfortable, if sometimes a bit stuffy. At first we couldn't open the window and the air conditioning didn't appear to be working, there was no circulation of air and it was too warm. Eventually got the window open and things improved after that. Was disappointed that the restaurant was closed on Christmas day but no big deal, there are plenty eating places nearby. In fact we had a good value Indian at Punjabi on North Street. All-in-all a comfortable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near the sights

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: The hotel is near the sights, including good restaurants and shops. I used the swimming pool and noticed there is a good well attended gym.
Visited for one night on the way north. It was not so easy to get to from the direction I came from, so it is best to have the route mapped out. Check in was easy and there is a fast check out, which is convenient. Clean room and comfortable bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Excellent value for money, great staff Good experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Our stay was very brief - 12 hours and most of that was sleeping ! However the staff were extremely helpful and friendly , the room was spacious comfortable and clean and it had a lovely atmosphere so it was a memorable 12 hours for all the right reasons . If I ever have to go to Glasgow iver night again there is no question as to where I would stay .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Good for events at SSEC& Glasgow Hydro

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Booking was made in February and originally was for a triple room with breakfast at a rate of £139.I had to amend the booking in November to a double room,the cost remained the same,but on arrival at the hotel discovered this no longer included breakfast!Very disappointing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from abeedeen

Dated, not worth the value for your money.

Posted Dec 12, 2016
We stayed on Saturday and paid £150 For a delux room. I was not sure if it had been a mistake as the room looked like been back to 90s. Add deco dates, bathroom old. There was a function on that night and we ended up not sleeping because of the shouting and screening next door. Went to check out the swimming pool: smelly , dated, weird lay out that you have to walk through a mase. Also expect a swimming baby classes on Sunday morning, this includes baby crying and the trainer singing kids sings loudly. Not for the ones who came to relax. No wifi to the ordinary visitors! It's 2016! Told all that to the lovely girl at the reception when checking out she just apologised and told us that she can't give us any money back because the room already been paid for !? Can hotels do refunds like any other businesses ? Marriott disappointed us big time.