Ratings based on 409 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sheffield

Fantastic renovation

Posted Aug 21, 2016
A lot of money has been spent renovating this hotel to a very high standard. Rooms are now beautiful. A major transformation of what once was a very tired hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good potential but further work /training required

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Lovely surroundings overlooking the Clyde/ golf course. Upgrading of some rooms and spa facilities almost complete. Further works proposed.
Cons: Staff training, attention to detail in final works.
Nice facilities being established with refurbishment works in course. Finer details still missing. Problems with the kitchen capacity and menu pricing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in good location

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Room was excellent
Cons: Breakfast buffet was poor, cooked breakfast was cool not the best.
Location: Spectacular views across the Clyde, ideal if you like golf with course adjacent to hotel
Comfortable well presented room, with good view of golf course. Nice setting with great view of the river Clyde.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midlands

Worth the visit

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Beautiful hotel location with great views (on a clear day) of Clyde and afar across Glasgow. Friendly helpful staff. Great view of golf course from dining room. Very clean and modern facilities, with spa hot tub & swimming pool. Only let down was no lift however a car park near to the far side of the hotel helped!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Remote but nice. Under construction

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Nice room. Close to airport.
Cons: I'm sure will be really nice when recos are done.
Location: Not much. Golf. If you want to get away and do nothing or just golf thist is a nice place. Or will be when Reno Don
Not much to do here unless you golf. Pretty location. Under construction. our one morning to sleep and we had fire alarm. Not good communication and then charged us for late check out. Very nice room though. Dinner was good. Nice view from restaurant. Close to Glasgow airport
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kintyre

Beautiful and quiet & dog friendly🐶

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: Friendly, clean, pet friendly.
We were lucky to get a great late deal of substantially . On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly, helpful and informative receptionist (she even went into detail of walks we could take our wee dog, Kitty). On getting the key and finding our room we were very pleasantly surprised to find we weren't in the cupboard under the stairs (considering the deal we got!) but in a bright, airy and recently decorated room. We didn't take advantage of any of the facilities as our visit was for a family catch up and time was limited (although we have played the golf course). Apologies for not naming anyone individually but as everyone we met was great I think we'll get away with it and Thank you very much.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

No dinner

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: Pleasant bar staff, room comfortable.
Cons: Later dining option, finish the renovations, order more beer.
Location: Very, very remote, good for those who want to stay in, not so good if there is no beer in the hotel and you want to go out.
On arrival at 10.30pm learned kitchen was closed and sandwiches only on offer. No beer at bar. Building 50% a building site.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

likely good for golfers

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: Beautiful view, very green
Cons: fore the price of the rooms we expected more.
stayed one night early July, wouldn't recommend unless you are golfing as not close to anything, 20 minutes from Glasgow airport. No safe or fridge in the room, undergoing some major renovations right now so a bit of a mess in areas. Shower did not work and looked like others had tried to fix it before us! (scratches on handle that makes the shower work). Based on the lay out of the hotel there can be a lot of walking and stairs to your room - be warned! Staff were ok.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 19, 2016
I stayed here overnight while attending a wedding recently. I had a great time and the hotel staff and accommodation were both excellent. I stayed in one of the newly refurbished rooms and thought they had decorated them very tastefully, the room itself was very big and the bed too was huge. There was a slight inconvenience off having to leave the main part of the hotel to get to our room due to the building work which it's totally understandable and to compensate there was electric golf buggies being used to take people back and forward to their rooms if required. Over all a very nice hotel which I'd recommend to anyone for both a wedding venue and just time away.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansasville, WI. USA

Nice hotel with a view

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Found this hotel by mistake but was a great mistake. Beautiful quaint hotel that is still under construction but will be even better. Even though this seems to be in the middle of nowhere it is walking distance to the train. Absolutely breathtaking views. Hotel staff was very helpful with other cancellations and other traveling problems I was having.