Ratings based on 465 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Quiet Country Hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Can't comment here since only stayed one night and did not have a meal here or use the spa.
Location: Beautiful setting overlooking the Firth of Forth. Spa and golf available on site.
We had a one night stay in a family room at Gleddoch Country Club on our way north on our annual holiday. I can recommend this hotel because it was quiet, clean and in a beautiful country setting overlooking the Firth of Clyde. It was a good start to our holiday. It was especially appreciated being able to accommodate our dog at the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Preston

Comfortable hotel with good river views

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Large comfortable bedroom,attractive river views,but you need a car for access.
Cons: Breakfast only average,no menu on busy days and staff do not provide adequate information about what's available.
Location: Good train link,(station a mile away) to Glasgow 30 mins. Road access to Clyde valley and Ayrshire coast.
Good location, high quality room, but indifferent breakfast service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Argyll and Bute

Disappointed to say the least

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Appeared ultra chic and decor tasteful
Cons: What can one do with a room opposite an air conditioning unit?
Location: At top of very steep hill and some considerable distance from main road. Views good. Only stayed one night so did not use spa facilities
Room 40. Radiator in bathroom full on. Control valve stuck with paint. Coffee cups dirty and one with a very long hair in it. Spoons dirty. NO hangers for clothes. Window capable of being opened , however this room is within yards of an industrial air conditioning unit serving the building, so very very noisy. Window had to stay closed , making room stifling hot. Bathroom tiling peppered with holes and rawl plugs
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Creaking Floor Overhead

Posted May 28, 2017
We had so much noise from the room above because the floor creaked relentlessy, goodness knows what the people in the room above were doing but the noise really spoilt our stay. We did mention it to the staff but nothing happened, such a shame but we won't stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel.in lovely grounds

Posted May 24, 2017
I got a good deal and booked this hotel. What can I say it is the most beautiful hotel I have stayed in Scotland. The scenery is amazing. The rooms spacious and beautifully decorated. We got a super king room and the bed was huge. The steam room jacuzzi sauna were wonderful and the pool was a good size. Our room overlooked the river and the outside hot tub. Wonderful views. Staff very friendly. It was a relaxing and peaceful 2 night break. Will defiantly return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Great Hotel, Amazing Views

Posted May 8, 2017
Great stay will definitely be stopping again! Staff members are friendly and helpful. Room was well equipped and clean
4 out of 5
by Gordom

Dumfries tour away

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
This was one of four hotels we stayed at during our break. The hotel staff were excellent and couldn't be more helpful. Wonderful SPA area and pool. Golf course looked very inviting, wish I had my clubs with me. Work going on in the main reception area but this did not detract from our stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely little hideaway from Glasgow.

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel has recently been refurbished and it is amazing. Pool was great, so much extra comforts etc. Dinner was fantastic and very affordable in the restaurant. Staff were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottinghamshire

Super hotel super location

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Had a night at the hotel with my family including our 3 year old and had a great time. The staff were very friendly and the facilities are excellent. We didn't realise prior to our stay that children could use the pool so when we're told we could it was an added bonus. The food was nice and room was clean and tidy with a stunning view.
5 out of 5
by Victoria

Great two night stay

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
Had a great two nights stay here with my husband. The room was lovely, clean and with views of the golf course. Staff were very friendly and attentive. We had trips out to Loch Lomond and Dumbarton Castle. The spa facilities were great. Overall I would recommend this hotel for a relaxing break with plenty to see if you want to venture out.