Ratings based on 404 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midlands

Worth the visit

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Beautiful hotel location with great views (on a clear day) of Clyde and afar across Glasgow. Friendly helpful staff. Great view of golf course from dining room. Very clean and modern facilities, with spa hot tub & swimming pool. Only let down was no lift however a car park near to the far side of the hotel helped!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Remote but nice. Under construction

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Nice room. Close to airport.
Cons: I'm sure will be really nice when recos are done.
Location: Not much. Golf. If you want to get away and do nothing or just golf thist is a nice place. Or will be when Reno Don
Not much to do here unless you golf. Pretty location. Under construction. our one morning to sleep and we had fire alarm. Not good communication and then charged us for late check out. Very nice room though. Dinner was good. Nice view from restaurant. Close to Glasgow airport
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kintyre

Beautiful and quiet & dog friendly🐶

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: Friendly, clean, pet friendly.
We were lucky to get a great late deal of substantially . On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly, helpful and informative receptionist (she even went into detail of walks we could take our wee dog, Kitty). On getting the key and finding our room we were very pleasantly surprised to find we weren't in the cupboard under the stairs (considering the deal we got!) but in a bright, airy and recently decorated room. We didn't take advantage of any of the facilities as our visit was for a family catch up and time was limited (although we have played the golf course). Apologies for not naming anyone individually but as everyone we met was great I think we'll get away with it and Thank you very much.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

No dinner

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: Pleasant bar staff, room comfortable.
Cons: Later dining option, finish the renovations, order more beer.
Location: Very, very remote, good for those who want to stay in, not so good if there is no beer in the hotel and you want to go out.
On arrival at 10.30pm learned kitchen was closed and sandwiches only on offer. No beer at bar. Building 50% a building site.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

likely good for golfers

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: Beautiful view, very green
Cons: fore the price of the rooms we expected more.
stayed one night early July, wouldn't recommend unless you are golfing as not close to anything, 20 minutes from Glasgow airport. No safe or fridge in the room, undergoing some major renovations right now so a bit of a mess in areas. Shower did not work and looked like others had tried to fix it before us! (scratches on handle that makes the shower work). Based on the lay out of the hotel there can be a lot of walking and stairs to your room - be warned! Staff were ok.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 19, 2016
I stayed here overnight while attending a wedding recently. I had a great time and the hotel staff and accommodation were both excellent. I stayed in one of the newly refurbished rooms and thought they had decorated them very tastefully, the room itself was very big and the bed too was huge. There was a slight inconvenience off having to leave the main part of the hotel to get to our room due to the building work which it's totally understandable and to compensate there was electric golf buggies being used to take people back and forward to their rooms if required. Over all a very nice hotel which I'd recommend to anyone for both a wedding venue and just time away.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansasville, WI. USA

Nice hotel with a view

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Found this hotel by mistake but was a great mistake. Beautiful quaint hotel that is still under construction but will be even better. Even though this seems to be in the middle of nowhere it is walking distance to the train. Absolutely breathtaking views. Hotel staff was very helpful with other cancellations and other traveling problems I was having.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but disappointing .

Posted May 31, 2016
There were three main problems which meant that we did not find this hotel good value for money at an average of £130 per night for a double room . Firstly there were several very noisy weddings on which resulted in not being able to order dinner on the Saturday and then dreadful noise late at night and again at 6 am . The receptionist apologied that the normal checks did not pick this up . Secondly, there is extensive building work which means that guests not staying in the main building have to work outside past the various scaffolding to get to their rooms . Finally whilst the staff were pleasant , especially the nice chap in the bar in the Sarurday night who got our drinks , there was a sense that they had not been well trained . For example , the room was not properly serviced because we were still in it when the lady came to do it. . She kindly left new towels and soap but didn't return later as you would expect to make up the bed .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ridiculous

Posted May 30, 2016
Pros: The food was excellent
Weren't informed that leisure facilities were closed. That's why we booked the hotel and we had to walk up a very steep hill outside the hotel to get to our room which was as far away as you could get. Other guests that attended a function partied all night in the room next to us. No sleep for us or our young daughter
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stylisch chic- ohne Seele

Posted May 27, 2016
Sehr schön eingerichtet, bezaubernde Umgebung - aber nicht sehr zugewandtes Personal und furchtbar hellhörig. Für eine Nacht geht's!