Ratings based on 1,299 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: Nice large rooms, good breakfast.
Cons: Could do with a gym on site and double glazing in the rooms facing noisy streets.
Great location, especially if you get the bus from the Airport, Shuttle 500. I was kindly upgraded to a deluxe room which was very nice. Only drawback was that it faced out to the main street with the bus depot, so there was considerable noise late into the night,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milano

Albergo old fashion in pieno centro

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Pros: l'ubicazione
Il Grand Central è un'istituzione a Glasgow. Risale al 1884 e nel corso dei suoi 132 anni di storia ha ospitato vip della politica, dello spettacolo, dello sport e della scienza (in una delle sue stanze il fisico John Logie Baird ricevette la prima immagine televisiva nel 1927). La prima volta che vi ho soggiornato è stato quasi trent'anni fa nel mio primo viaggio all'estero e ci sono ritornato diverse volte, l'ultima delle quali nel mese in corso per una vacanza di quattro giorni con mia moglie. E' il classico albergo british vecchio stampo, nel bene (è ricco di fascino) e nel male (è poco luminoso, dall'atmosfera molto, forse un po' troppo compassata...). Se si amano le strutture moderne e luminose è meglio andare altrove, ma dal punto di vista dell'ubicazione è imbattibile, perché si trova in pieno centro, all'interno della stazione centrale, non a due ma ad un passo dalle vie principali Argyll, Sauchiehall e Buchanan. Lo consiglio a chi desidera avere tutte le maggiori attrazioni della città a portata di mano.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2016
A newly decorated room that felt slightly cramped. A style over substance hotel - several annoying features in the room that were frankly poorly thought through, eg short window blinds, furniture too big for the space, poorly sited bathroom accessories (eg towel rail over the toilet cistern).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belfast

lovely hotel in the town centre

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: it was nice, modern, warm and has a really welcoming feel about it
if you stay here the older rooms are nice but the superior rooms are great. We upgraded during our last stay and the rooms are unreal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Hotel, location and staff all excellent. Really enjoyed my stay in Glasgow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Very centr

Posted Jan 10, 2016
Very pleasant welcome and help from the staff.Love meal also.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central location

Posted Jan 8, 2016
We had a great stay here for one night. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The hotel could not be in a better location, especially if travelling by train.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Great property; close access to everything Glasgow

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Location: We walked to the Cathedral and the Necropolis - dined in Merchant City , high end and souvenir shopping all VERY close
Wonderful stay in Glasgow - stayed here our first 2 nights - The building is gorgeous and all updated with VERY comfortable rooms - tall ceilings and beautiful interior design to make perfect combination of OLD and NEW- Windows in sleeping part of room are glazed for noise reduction - there was quite a rowdy Taxi line outside our window till 5am and I would not even know it if my bladder didn't call ( : O) Gordon /Concierge outstanding !! All staff personable and accommodating - if you have never parked in a City Parking garage however - get your courage up ! Be sure to enjoy a champagne cocktail in the beautiful Bar overlooking the train station traffic
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Potsdam

Zentrales Hotel, alles Fussläufig erreichbar

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Die Zentrale Lage.
Cons: Mehr Achtsamkeit bei Hygiene und Sauberkeit in den Zimmern.
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich in einer fantastischen Lage.
Das Hotel ist sehr Zentral gelegen, der Airports hält direkt vor der Tür und fährt von dort auch wieder los. Es gibt viele Geschäfte und Pubs direkt am Hotel, der Bahnhof ist nur eine halbe Minute vom Hoteleingang entfernt. Das Hotel macht einen relativ sauberen Eindruck, wobei zu bemerken ist das sich in unserem Zimmer in der Silikonfuge der Badewanne Schimmel bildete und unser Bett auch nicht so ordentlich gemacht wurde, wie ich es für diesen Preis erwarte! Personal im Allgemeinen war freundlich und zuvorkommend, seltsam war auch das wir um 14:30 noch nicht einchecken konnten obwohl das Zimmer ab 15:00 für uns bereit stehen sollte (das war dann aber wohl eher der form über) Ich würde das Hotel weiterempfehlen, nur ein paar punkte Abzug für das Bad und das Bett.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA Australia

Pleasant

Posted Jan 1, 2016
We were so well looked after at this hotel. The service was professional and staff very friendly. Extras like robes being placed on the bed and chocolate dipped strawberries with a bottle of wine just topped our stay. Perfect.