Ratings based on 1,746 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location for sightseeing

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: The architecture of the building and the old world charm and ambience of the interior. Also the location was excellent
Cons: The soft furniture in the bedroom was well worn and a little grubby, as were the net curtains on the window.
Location: Excellent location with everything a city has to offer nearby
Very pleasant old world hotel beside the train station and convenient to shops cafes etc.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Central hotel

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Large comfortable rooms,
Cons: Some kind of soundproofing for the rooms
Location: Large designer shops nearby, plenty of bars and restaurants, museums, and theatres.
Hotel close to all amiaties and sights, lots af bars and multicultural restaurants, Easy bus ride to and from airport and directly next door to Grand Central train station, Only downfall was the hotel is a listed building and does not have double glazing so extremely noisy on the weekends.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel.

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Very clean.
Cons: The hotel advertised a free shuttle to the airport, but I had to pay 7.50 for the ride.
Location: Area around the hotel was somewhat rundown. Would high recommend going to "The Pot Still" whisky bar. Great staff and whisky selection.
I found the cost of the hotel to be a bit steep. Breakfast for 12 pounds was a bit high for my liking. Room was smaller than expected
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Very convenient location with great service!

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Great location in a historical building. High ceiling space in the room with lovely view. Although it's very central, it was not noisy at all!
Cons: Bathroom is quite big so probably requires more heating especially when our bathroom window did not shut properly.
One of the best hotel experiences we have had so far! Greeted by a very friendly staff at the reception in late evening after a long day of travel. Room was in great condition with plenty of space and the hotel staff were all very attentive and efficient. We called up to request for an additional set of bathrobe and slippers, they were delivered within 5min!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Comfortable overnight stay in Glasgow

Posted May 16, 2017
Large and imposing hotel With friendly and helpful staff. The Champagne bar serves a range of cocktails
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand Central Hotel Glasgow City Centre

Posted May 15, 2017
Room lovely. Very comfortable. Room service very slow. Ordered before we went for dinner. Returned to room and no order. Eventually it came... complentary due to our wait. Although waitress who delivered it handed me a bill. She wasnt informed it was complimentary. Breakfast... NOT worth the money... £12 per person.. self service. Even had to make our own toast!!! On checking out we were told there was an outstanding bill of £24 for breakfast.. we had paid this on check in the night before. A bit of confusion on our stay but we would return. No breakfast next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belfast

Great base for Galsgow weekend

Posted May 15, 2017
We found the Grand Central to be ideal for a glasgow weekend break . Convenient for train, bus , taxi and good restaurants, bars within easy walking distance. Great breakfast, great staff , buzzing bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

A visit to see friends and family

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: It's an icon for us being Glaswegians who have moved to other countries.the ambience was lovely, the history, the convenience of where it's located.
Cons: Housekeeping...our room wasn't vacuumed
Location: It's centrally located in town near the train station and buses for the airport.
Check in was good. First room was a bit small and smelt of damp. Asked reception if we could change rooms and also be nearer family who were also staying there. That's was not a problem second room was very big and comfortable .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow, Scotland.

Loved being right in the centre of the city. Perf

Posted May 11, 2017
Old-style with modern conveniences. Perfectly situated for transport, shopping and surrounded by great restaurants and cafés.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel and in middle of City Centre

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: All staff were excellent and very helpful. Rooms were warm and comfortable
Cons: Entrance was difficult to find on station concourse! More signs at front of hotel - and better lighting would help.
Location: Central to city centre, open top buses run frequently, museums, shopping and a vast array of eateries.
First room was very noisy in the evening with a private function taking place until 1am. However, after speaking with staff we were moved without question, to a very nice, quiet suite on 5th floor.