Ratings based on 1,778 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: as above
Cons: Coffee could be provided in the room.
Location: It is centrally located and within walking distance of the Hop On/Hop off bus.
The location was great as we were travelling by train. The reception staff were efficient and very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Central affordable room

Posted Jun 25, 2017
No amenities like A.C. or cable. Our room faced into the train station which left a great view but noise all night. Mostly worth it for the cheap rate, central location, and free (okay) WiFi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 8, 2017
The hotel is clean, quiet, and well-located in city center. the room was spacious and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from f canada

Great location classical old building

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Grand old building in nice condition very nice helpful staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

center of everything

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: architecture
Cons: nothing comes to mind
Location: location close to restaurants, museums and shops, close to pickup locations of most day trip tours
had everything we needed and was within walking distance to a lot of things.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing stay for our first night in Scotland

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Location..easy to get to for trains and airport bus.
Cons: More customer friendly...they did not care that we had a problem
This is an easy hotel to find and use if you are coming on the bus from the airport. We were looking forward to good first night rest but there was some kind of event and the loud music started at 10 PM. There was no way to sleep through the noise it was so loud I could hear the singing and we were on Third floor! We did call to front desk and they were going to try to find us another room or ask the band to tone down at least the base. No one ever called us back and they were not apologetic in the am when we complained. Don't stay here on a weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Wow ... what a grand hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2017
We booked this only one day prior to arrival and were very pleased with the hotel, the staff and the rooms. Location was excellent too
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Italy.

Nice hotel close to all amenities

Posted Jun 3, 2017
The staff at this hotel couldn't be better in their work. Excellent customer relations, perfect check in and out experience, concierge knowledge of Scotland the best and the new refurbished rooms are excellent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

In a fabulous location

Posted May 29, 2017
We checked into this beautiful hotel and were impressed. Our first room was quite noisy and we asked to be moved, this was no problem at all for the lovely staff. We were very happy after that. The breakfast is really good too! There were many eateries in the neighbourhood and we would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 28, 2017
Right across the street from Central Train Station. Would stay again in a minute. Bill A. Hamilton Ont.