Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dundas, Ontario

Village charm

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: Old world charm in a country setting. Beautiful views from property.
Cons: Update bathroom fixtures
Location: Country setting with Campsie hills in the area. Small Scots towns abound nearby.
Very much enjoyed my stay at the Kincaid. From the country manor charm to the excellent fare offered in the restaurant and pub, I came away knowing I would be back. The staff were friendly and helpful, always willing to go the extra mile.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet, off the road, unassuming hotel

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, oddly grand decor, good food in the bar, very quiet surroundings.
Cons: The plumbing made a bit of a racket at times. Could have done with a radio by the bed (though I did bring my own).
This is a classic Scottish country house hotel tucked away up a leafy driveway in an unexpected place. Rather old-fashioned in style and with slightly tired bathroom facilities, it's comfortable like a favourite pair of slippers. Staff were young, friendly, smiley and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel for business use

Posted Jan 18, 2016
very pleasant stay for 3 nights . service at restaurant was excellent , food was very tasty and price reasonable . thanks
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with original features.

Posted Oct 28, 2015
Nice hotel with good food and friendly staff. Would benefit from a bit of updating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midlands

Nice people but rooms a little lacking

Posted Oct 8, 2015
Pros: The staff were very professional and welcoming and the breakfasts were great
Cons: I feel if the hotel was redecorated, tiles replaced and new mattresses purchased this could be one of the best hotels in the area
Location: The hotel is set in its own grounds and is very peaceful but is close to Glasgow
The staff were very polite, attentive and cheerful, both for us as residents and later as venue guests. The food was spot on and served with a genuine smile. The room however, was a little like the decor of the place. A bit tired and in need of some attention. The mattress was fine after a 300+ mile drive but was quite uncomfortable the next night. The bathroom was showing signs of age with stains around the tiles at the bottom, although it was cleaned well during our stay. The flat screen TV in the room was too small for the room All in all a pleasant enough place to stay but maybe a little over priced in view of the above
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I expected

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Really not what I expected. Going on previous prices and things I expected quite a high class place. It's very normal however. Normal at best. But it's fine. Staff were great. Going to the bar is like going down to the local pub which suited me fine. Bathroom in room smelt like a pub toilet and the shower spray head was too small for the holder so no hands free showering. Too much black mould too around the bath.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Back to the 1970

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Staff were really nice andbreakfast was great.
Its fine for somewhere to stay and for buisness ok but if your looking for something a bit special I would suggest somewhere else. There is nothing wrong with the hotel but just a bit like going back in time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cheshire

Great little hotel with nice pub attached

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Location: Nice quiet location so don't get disturbed by traffic noise
The staff in the hotel and pub were incredibly friendly and accommodating. I didn't have time for breakfast one of the mornings and the staff offered to get & wrap up toast for me to eat on my journey which was a nice extra touch. The stables bar attached to the hotel has lovely roaring fire & the food & service is excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Rather overpriced for what is being offered.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff Meals in the stable bar around the log fire Location Gardens and driveway Listed building status
Cons: Mismatched furniture in bedroom, some old and painted white with scratches. Small bath. Public rooms need upgrading.
Location: Perfect location within sight of the beautiful Campsie Hills. Easy reach by car to Glasgow and Stirling. Lovely walks. 10 mts Kirkintilloch Town.
Not disappointed with the initial sight of this beautiful building and whilst the public rooms and the bedroom allocated are spacious, they are more shabby than chic. Some upgrading needed and they would deserve more than a 3 star rating and the price they are currently asking would reflect what is on offer. Breakfast rather disappointing but meals in the stable bar very tasty. A quiet location which suited and easy car journey to where I needed to be. If in the same area again would probably try somewhere else but worth a stay if cost is not a problem for what is just 3 star accomodation.