Ratings based on 529 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Everything was perfect! The bedroom was clean and cosy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney australia

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: The proximity to everything. Breakfast was good,and so was the Indian restaurant in the hotel.
Cons: both lifts could be working.
Location: University,museums nearby.
Hotel was good,close to city,and very close to the university. The only issue out of two lifts one was out of order for the 3 days we were there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Scott McAlinden, Front of House, Hotel Management
Dear Miriam, Thank you very much for your review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I apologise that one of our lifts was out of order during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kindest regards, Scott McAlinden
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel near concert venue.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Close to concert venue and parking. Plenty of places to eat and drink in vicinity.
Cons: Bed room carpet had seen better days it was a bit frayed in places but this did not spoil our stay.
Location: Close to concert venue and parking. Plenty of places to eat and drink in vicinity.
One night stay after enjoying show at Hydro.Room clean and comfortable and very reasonable price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

lorne left wanting

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: beds
good location, good price but room disappointing. Too small, right above the main road so noisy and probably the most uncomfortable bed I have slept on. Breakfast a real let down, poor quality and little choice - pre brewed tea in flasks a first for me!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Yes and no

Posted Jul 3, 2017
We arrived about 9:30pm to check in, this was very quick and painless before you knew it we were in our first floor room. I must add at this point they kindly upgraded us to one of their newer rooms for free for reasons which are to be kept private. The room was spacious, modern (considering the obvious age of the building and clean. Once in the room e took a look at the room service menu and called down at about 9:45 to order food, after calling a few times on two different numbers someone answered and said kitchen closed even though it was prior to their 10pm shut off time for hot food. We had to head out into the city instead to grab something quick for my diabetic and gluten free wife who couldn't eat off their post 10pm sandwich menu. Anyway back into the room later that night, tv reception was good, bed (2 pushed together) was a bit too soft but way to their own but at about 1:30am you realised the doors didn't block out the sound of partygoers staying in rooms next to us slamming their doors, playing music and being generally inconsiderate of others, the hotel can't be blamed for this but it shown there wasn't much to protect your good nights sleep from other guests, or the outside for that matter. Not much else to say other than, a single lager and a pint of water to cost £6.50 is ridiculous, especially when the person pulling the pint had to shake the glass about the create a head on it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fife

Nice and close to all amenities

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Staff were lovely and room was small but nice. The bed was awful and so uncomfortable, so much so that we got up at 5.30 am and left. We lay in the bed and rolled into the middle and it was lumpy. If the bed was good I would rate this hotel a lot more.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from eaglescliffe

Nice hotel within walking distance of university

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: Helpfulness of staff.
Cons: Room allocation and drainage smell.
Location: Kelvingrove museum and loads of lovely restaurants are within 5 minutes walk.
This is the third time we have stayed at the hotel and we have had a different quality of room each time. This time we were in room 210 to start with . This was very noisy, due to the ventilation units being outside the window. It also smelled of drains. The shower was also too low to use as an overhead. The hotel staff were very helpful when we asked to move and our second room was spacious, airy and had a lovely view. Would still recommend the hotel, but not room 210.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern ireland

Convenient

Posted Jun 23, 2017
I stayed in Lorne for one night to attend a function in Glasgow. It was quiet considering the city location. There was a large machine outside my window was noisy and got switched on at 5am! The cooked breakfast was huge but was self service so a bit dried up at 0745 and pricey at £10! Staff were pleasant and helpful. There was a bit of a smell of stale urine in my room but probably the drains.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Lothian

Nice Hotel close to Hydro

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: employ staff that really want to work there.
Location: close to Hydro & just west of the city centre on Sauchiehall Street.
arrived at hotel 3.pm our 2 rooms not ready....asked to take a seat & they would get key card to us asap, we went to bar for a couple of drinks, 1hr & 20mins later still no room card, I went back to reception to stand in yet another queue to ask if rooms were ready yet, luckily they were this time, she did apologise, but for a hotel that charges £10 per room extra for an early check in, I feel a refund of £20 should have been given as the rooms were NOT ready on time. Anyway, Hotel decor looks very nice, staff could be better ( even a smile goes along way), made to feel like an inconvenience rather than a guest. There was a function on that night, possibly a wedding and all consideration was on this. Any other guests took a back seat. As a 4 star the hotel should be experienced enough to deal with all guests.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Disappointing

Posted May 15, 2017
Cons: Many things could be improved.
My colleague arrived early and her rooms wasn't ready. She was told that it would be sorted when she came back. She came back in at 8.30 pm and the room still wasn't sorted so she was moved to a different room. That room was very disappointing. Dirty duvet, dirty cups and spoons. When she went down for breakfast there was only one girl serving and when she got her breakfast her tea was cold and she had to send it back. I have booked the Lorne a few times for my colleague and unfortunately she has asked me not to book again.