Ratings based on 511 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from eaglescliffe

Nice hotel within walking distance of university

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: Helpfulness of staff.
Cons: Room allocation and drainage smell.
Location: Kelvingrove museum and loads of lovely restaurants are within 5 minutes walk.
This is the third time we have stayed at the hotel and we have had a different quality of room each time. This time we were in room 210 to start with . This was very noisy, due to the ventilation units being outside the window. It also smelled of drains. The shower was also too low to use as an overhead. The hotel staff were very helpful when we asked to move and our second room was spacious, airy and had a lovely view. Would still recommend the hotel, but not room 210.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern ireland

Convenient

Posted Jun 23, 2017
I stayed in Lorne for one night to attend a function in Glasgow. It was quiet considering the city location. There was a large machine outside my window was noisy and got switched on at 5am! The cooked breakfast was huge but was self service so a bit dried up at 0745 and pricey at £10! Staff were pleasant and helpful. There was a bit of a smell of stale urine in my room but probably the drains.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Lothian

Nice Hotel close to Hydro

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: employ staff that really want to work there.
Location: close to Hydro & just west of the city centre on Sauchiehall Street.
arrived at hotel 3.pm our 2 rooms not ready....asked to take a seat & they would get key card to us asap, we went to bar for a couple of drinks, 1hr & 20mins later still no room card, I went back to reception to stand in yet another queue to ask if rooms were ready yet, luckily they were this time, she did apologise, but for a hotel that charges £10 per room extra for an early check in, I feel a refund of £20 should have been given as the rooms were NOT ready on time. Anyway, Hotel decor looks very nice, staff could be better ( even a smile goes along way), made to feel like an inconvenience rather than a guest. There was a function on that night, possibly a wedding and all consideration was on this. Any other guests took a back seat. As a 4 star the hotel should be experienced enough to deal with all guests.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Disappointing

Posted May 15, 2017
Cons: Many things could be improved.
My colleague arrived early and her rooms wasn't ready. She was told that it would be sorted when she came back. She came back in at 8.30 pm and the room still wasn't sorted so she was moved to a different room. That room was very disappointing. Dirty duvet, dirty cups and spoons. When she went down for breakfast there was only one girl serving and when she got her breakfast her tea was cold and she had to send it back. I have booked the Lorne a few times for my colleague and unfortunately she has asked me not to book again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from livingston

Nice hotel close to the SECC hydro.

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Rooms had tea and coffee facilities and were a good size.
Cons: Room needed a new carpet but the room was clean and very pleasant
Location: Walking distance to the Hydro. Nice restaurant nearby
Very pleasant and helpful staff in this hotel. Good restaurants
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Good Hotel and location

Posted May 5, 2017
Not too far from downtown, with good facilities. Decent size rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Great hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2017
The hotel was great. Internet was fan breakfast was really nice loads to choose from. Staff was really helpful and its only a 8min walk to the SSE hydro would defo stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel not to far from Glasgow centre

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff and excellent restaurants
Cons: Repair the 2nd lift which seemed to be out of service for the 3 days we stayed
Location: The hotel was just far enough out of Glasgow centre but loads of things to do close by
We came for couple of days retail therapy and The Lorne hotel was close enough to shop, but far enough away from noise. Not only did the hotel have 2 excellent restaurants but there was also a number of good restaurants close by. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Good location with access to town and SSE Hydro

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Great staff at check in, fantastic night bartender with impeccable manners and local knowledge. Room was comfortable but smelt of stale smoke. Industrial looking grill covered ceiling vents-room took a while to heat up. Comfortable bed. Missed out on breakfast but nice to have it included in price of booking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2017
What I expect of a hotel. What I expect of a hotel.