Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Mar Hall

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Excellent hotel and very helpful staff. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cirencester

Lovely and quiet hotel and great views.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Lovely old hotel and large comfortable rooms and great food. Very quiet location not much near by in walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Like going back in time

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: The historic experience.
Cons: The room was cold even with the radiator heat on high. (Old single-pane windows) They quickly brought me a space heater which solved the problem.
Location: Not a lot to do nearby, but in this summer this is a golf resort.
A great stay in an old "castle". An ancient exterior with modernized rooms. (They still use actual physical room keys...lol). A good fine dining experience in the restaurant. The servers were all knowledgeable about the food. Two dining options in the winter; the fine dining room, or eating in the bar. There is a separate restaurant on the ground that is open in fair weather. There is a game area with table tennis, darts and shuffleboard. Scenic views. If you take a cab, be aware that a GPS seems to take you to the rear gate, which is not a usable entrance. The actual entrance road is marked with a sign. Ask the driver if they have been there before. Was 50 bucks fare from Glasgow Central train station via an "official" cab. An alternate cab service will be much cheaper.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from r

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Was at Mar Hall for 2 night's with my husband. We had a lovely time. It was our second visit hope there is plenty more to come.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely place full of character

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
A really lovely hotel for a birthday treat
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

awesome public rooms-warm and comfortable corridor

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: relaxed and attentive staff. 5 star service. Food excellent
Cons: Dusting of higher places in bathrooms Design a bath mat which does not close the drain from bath while having a shower.Some gym equipment is cubersome
wonderful grounds and golf coarse to walk in. wonderful views over the River Clyde Swimming pool warm
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Best hotel I've Stayed At

Posted Dec 3, 2016
The hotel has beautiful scenic views and gorgeous interior. The staff at this hotel could not have been more welcoming, starting with reception, to house keeping, to the staff at the spa/pool and lastly but not least the restaurant staff. I did, however, have one negative experience which was that I passed out in the spa sauna - the high tempature and my low blood pressure were not a good mix. This bad experience was turned around though due to the amazing staff at the spa who made sure I was okay by providing me with fresh towels and dressing gown and support. I would 100% recommend this hotel to anyone and would come back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Luxury hotel

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
So great we are going back there again this weekend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel with fantastic views & great food.

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Ebookers
We had a terrific stay at Mar Hall. Beautiful hotel situated in a very picturesque area. Very friendly, polite & courteous staff. Our room was very comfortable with large bathroom. Would certainly highly recommend for a relaxing holiday.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Welcoming Staff, Amazing scenery

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay, the staff were all extremely friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. The pool was lovely as was the steam room and sauna.