Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winchester

Nice small hotel with a great pub/restaurant

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: A nice pub/restaurant - large and seemed recently refurbished. Room was large and clean with a good bed, staff excellent.
Cons: If I was being picky, the blinds on the window didn't seal light (or cold!) out especially well, and the bathroom could have been better heated
Location: I discovered by accident that there are some lovely short walks from the hotel - go down to the canal and turn right!
A pleasant stay - excellent friendly staff, good food, and a great location for walks straight from the hotel. Very clean and recently refurbished facilities, the main pub/restaurant area is large and pleasant. Would be nice in summer with outdoor seating next to the canal/boat park. When I was there the canal was frozen solid so this was not so much of an option.... Good views even from inside, however.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

On the John Muir Way

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: More flexible checking in times
Location: By canal marina
Good stopping point for walkers or cyclists, although you're a captive audience so have to eat here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Best hotel we've stayed in that area.

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: Everything from start to finish.
Cons: Not what we could think of.
Location: Loads of outdoor pursuits from walks to rock climbing, Antonine wall and forts, between Glasgow and Stirling and Edinburgh.
Need to visit this area 3 times of year for family and this hotel was so relaxing and staff so helpful and nothing was to much trouble, food was great so we decided to eat in the restaurant each evening and as the hotel is on the canal there's lovely walks to be had in the day or evening.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from liverpool

Great location but needs more care

Posted Apr 12, 2016
The hotel is beautifully located on the marina, very convenient for us as we were cycling along the Canal from Glasgow to Edinburgh. We were disappointed that there were no facilities for leaving our bikes (despite asking for this when I booked) and we eventually had to leave them chained to a railing in the pouring rain. And several other details weren't quite right. We had booked a double room and it was a twin, the room was clean enough but rather gloomy with poor lighting in the bathroom. The bathroom door didn't close properly. We were woken at 2.15 by an alarm call on the room phone which we had not requested, and to make matters worse we were then aware of TV noise from the next door room. Our evening meal was ok, but breakfast was poor with no fruit juice, cereal, fresh fruit, toast on offer, just a brunch menu. We chose the eggs benedict and were served possibly the worst version of this dish I've ever tasted with bright orange (? Out of a packet) hollondaise sauce and thick salty Parma ham (which definitely wasn't Parma ham.) Overall, could do so much better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stratford upon avon

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Very friendly on arrival. Room comfy and clean I'd recommend it if your in the area. Great value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overlooking the Canal Boats

Posted Oct 9, 2015
A small number of rooms attached to a popular and pricy restaurant. Located in a fairly remote location about a 20 minute drive outside of Glasgow, next to a marina filled with canal boats. The rooms are comfortable with reasonably modern amenities. However, having a car is essential since there are no facilities within walking district.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not clean caused dust alergies

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: as above
Could not open the security doors more than just a few times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Beautiful hotel, friendly staff

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Stayed two nights in the rooms and had a wonderful experience. Room was great, food was really good. Overall fantastic value for money too. Staff were brilliant and friendly, couldnt do enough for us. We will definitely be staying again next time we're in Scotland
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Lovely views with great walking tracks

Posted May 7, 2015
Pros: Nice quit area
Cons: There was no under covered walkway to the entrance to the restaurant from the rooms having to walk outside in rain.
Location: Falkirk wheel. lots of nice local shops .Canal boat rides
Central spot away from Glasgow when visiting family.lovely scenes roads. Falkirk wheel a must only 30 mins drive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Quiet Hotel just out of Glasgow

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Quality of the room.
Cons: Better breakfast where provided as part of the tariff.
Location: A bit out of the way but close to Croy Rail Station for easy access to Glasgow.
This is a better than average hotel just out of Glasgow but easily accessible by train. This is basically a restaurant with some rooms attached. Our room overlooked the Marina and we were please with the condition and cleanliness of the room. Our tariff included breakfast but after one day we decided to buy some provisions in Glasgow as the breakfast was too heavy and stogy. Dinner, on the other hand, was quite good both times we ate in the restaurant.