Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Food average at best, breakfast not bad but eggs like rubber. Room vrry clean let down by dirty grout in shower area
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nearly excellent

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: Décor is good with refurb. in progress so has potential to be a lobby in a boutique style - the rooms are more utilitarian though fine & good
Cons: Booking in was slow as our details seemed to be hard to find - otherwise OK
Location: A walk along the esplanade is very worthwhile
We were welcomed with the room having a leak and the staff offering us a complementary drink as a goodwill gesture, nice touch, the Wi-Fi was awful throughout - annoying and the food was a good selection though we felt the veg were a bit dry. The service felt a slightly as though we were being processed and not as guests, they were polite and attentive etc., just a bit rushed and hurried on
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Helsinki

Cozy hotel in a city you may not stay very long

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: interior design is really nice, beautiful
we stayed at the hotel one night. If we'd stayed longer in the city, we'd loved to stay at this hotel, too.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lake District

Town hotel

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Clean, good value.
Cons: Better selection of scotch in bar.
Directions on Expedia have the wrong address. Hotel very clean, food ok, staff very helpful. Will stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Breakfast was good and the rooms were comfortable.
Cons: One of the beds was tilted so that our feet were higher than our heads. Woke up with a headache from the blood rushing to our heads.
Location: Convenient location.
The Staff were helpful, and the rooms were comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Weekend stay

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: The staff was very friendly and accommodating.
Cons: A Lift.
Location: Location is near to the town centre.
This was the first time that we had stayed at the Tontine Hotel, which was recommended to us by a friend who stays in Greenock. We found the hotel room very comfortable, clean and all the facilities were excellent. The staff was very friendly also and made our stay very enjoyable. The only suggestion I would have is that we stayed on the top floor and there was no lift. This was OK for us but for an elderley couple it would be quite tough.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Georgian Hotel close to Explanade

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Pros: The reception areas and restaurant have had a makeover within the last month or so with the result that it is stunning! The staff.
Cons: The cooked breakfast! Please make it fresh!
Location: Close to town centre and Esplanade.
All staff were friendly and helpful. On check in, as I was in considerable pain, my room was changed from an upstairs one to lower ground floor as the lift did not go upstairs. The room was exceptionally clean as was the shower and bathroom. Good quality tea and coffee with a packet of biscuits were provided....always welcome when one has travelled a distance. Dinner was delicious and enjoyed! I was disappointed in breakfast. Due to a misunderstanding I did not receive my wake up call and arrived at breakfast 15 minutes before end of service. There were plenty of cereals, fruit, yoghurt but cooked breakfast was in heated containers and the one egg that was left was rubbery. There were no mushrooms left, though I did not request anything. I did see a chef exiting the kitchen and thought that it would make all the difference if breakfast was fresh and not been lying for however long. A lovely freshly cooked breakfast would raise the hotel in my esteem.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sehr schönes und schnuckliges Hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Das Hotel liegt in einer sehr ruhigen Straße. Das Personal war sehr freundlich. Die Zimmer sehr sauber, das Bad in meinem Zimmer sehr neu und modern. Ich hatte einen sehr flotten Wifi Zugang. Nach Glasgow ist es mit dem Auto ca. 35 Minuten.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dirty dirty

Posted May 19, 2015
-breakfast was included but inedible -staff glared at us without returning a hello; those who did say alright or morning looked as though the greeting caused them great pain -the room was dirty and damaged -i felt like i was intruding -it was very expensive - the hotel was very old and smelled awful
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2015
Great place to stay. Restaurant had great food. Room was great!