Ratings based on 689 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sehr gutes Preis-Leistungsverhältnis

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Lage, Preis
Cons: Hotel braucht sicherlich generell etwas Make-up
Location: Zentral
Sehr gut und zentral gelegen, sehr gutes Preis-Leistungsverhältnis. Zimmer klein aber charmant, nicht geeignet, wenn man den ganzen Tag dort verbringen möchte.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mixed thoughts

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is a bit dodgy. The neighborhood isn't great but it is within walking distance of a lot of shops, pubs and transit. The breakfast is borderline tasteless. The WiFi is very spotty and doesn't work with a tablet, so if you need online access, you'd best have a good cell plan. The staff is very nice and helpful. The rooms are a good size. To be honest, some of the other guests seemed a bit scary. We would not stay here again.
4 out of 5
by Dieter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gao can you book an hotel and then get moved?

Posted Jul 16, 2016
I booked 7 rooms 4 singles and 3 twins for a trip with my friends. They all had to go to a sister hotel which was not a very high standard. How can an hotel be so stupid to overbook rooms and treat customers like this? What was ordered WS not what was provided.
2 out of 5
by Yap

Kinda Disappointed

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
The overall experience was not so great. Thought the area is near to the city. If you are planning to book the area, do note that it is uphill and there is no lift. Do not carry big luggage if you are planning to stay at Victorian House. There was no lift and i requested to have level 1 for my next stay which is 2 days later. The counter told me that it was changed to level 1, however when i was back for my 2nd night stay, the counter told me my room was at level 3. It was nice for him to carry it up my luggage. However, on the next day of the checkout, the lady at the counter told me it is not possible for her to leave the counter as she is the only person on duty. Eventually, I hurt my back after moving the luggage down. At the breakfast area, I did not want the bacon (i could not take meat) and asked for more mushroom instead. The lady told me, it is not possible cuz they have other guest to serve. There is also a smell in the room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reno, NV

Room smelled of sewage and sewage came up

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Nothing. It was dirty and we had to leave 1 day into our 4 day stay. We moved across town to another hotel, which was absolutely fine.
Cons: The Hotel manager cannot be reached with any issues. Nothing is done about critical issues such as sewage.
EXPEDIA - Please pull this HOTEL from your site. It is unsanitary. - the whole room smells of sewage with the bathroom most strongly - we complained of gurgling in the sink seeing bubbling froth - when showering the water stands around the guests feet - when leaving for the day with bathroom acceptably clean and toilet flushed, the guest may return to the room to find sewage in the toilet as we did. Made us disgusted regarding what was gurgling in the sink and what we were standing in within the shower
3 out of 5
by Lars from Copenhagen

Decent hotel in the center of Glasgow

Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Hotels
Going to the hotel is an up-hill experience, literally. It is in a number of consecutive old buildings, and everything seems a little old and worn. Nothing to complain about, but just not new and fancy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
This is a hostel not hotel. Quite pricey.
4 out of 5
by Clifford B from Bogota, Colombia

Staying at Victoria House

Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
The staff was very nice. We had to leave early, and they had the non-cooked part of the breakfast ready for us to eat at 6 AM. It is quite a climb to get from the train station to the house. Unless you know the best route, you will go up and down and up again. The house and the bus station are about the same elevation, and there are no serious hills between the two.