Ratings based on 242 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

In City centre

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Worth the £58 we paid for the two nights en suite twin room with breakfast. The house is dated but staff very pleasant and helpful. The only disappointment we had was breakfast. If 7am till 9am and we went at 8.30am, the chef did not fill up full choice of cooked food we had to take choice that was left.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch

Nice Victorian hotel close to Glasgow central

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: Feeling of ease and freedom. It can easily compete with others such as Novotel
Cons: The hotel did seem to have improvements pending, I think they are working on improving things continually e.g carpets in one of the hallways
Location: Many restaurants, clubs and museums nearby. Good transportation around, whether local or to the airport.
The hotel lies on Renfrew St. parallel to the famous Sauchiehall St. Reception and breakfast staff were nice, fast and very efficient. The room was a single with a good ensuit Mira shower. Breakfast was a more than basic buffet which, in addition to everything you might want, included haggis, kippers and smoked haddock. The roads and stairs to reception are steep, and perhaps parking can be a problem, but don't let that put you off staying at Victorian House. I have stayed previously and would without hesitation stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: Location. Quiet but close to shopping and travel.
Location: 12 minute walk to us and Queen street train station
Great breakfast, clean spacious room, old style building, renovating. comfortable at a reasonable price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dundee

Nice hotel close to city centre. Plenty to see

Posted Sep 17, 2016
I've stayed at this hotel a few times. It's always been a nice comfortable stay. It's close to the shops & pub etc. This time the breakfast staff spent more time on their phones rather stock up bread & clear tables.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Disappointing compared to previous visit

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Good value for money, clean room, WiFi, adequate breakfast. But breakfast room looks out into what used to be a colourful garden, now completely overgrown. It wouldn't take too much effort to clean it up and brighten it with flowers or shrubs in pots. Street signs need repainted and hung so that they are easily noticed from the road. Unfortunately Renfrew Street has deteriorated and the room of the burnt out School of Art doesn't help.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location. Good breakfast.

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Staff very nice. There is laundry service. The entrance is not that clean.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gao can you book an hotel and then get moved?

Posted Jul 16, 2016
I booked 7 rooms 4 singles and 3 twins for a trip with my friends. They all had to go to a sister hotel which was not a very high standard. How can an hotel be so stupid to overbook rooms and treat customers like this? What was ordered WS not what was provided.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reno, NV

Room smelled of sewage and sewage came up

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Nothing. It was dirty and we had to leave 1 day into our 4 day stay. We moved across town to another hotel, which was absolutely fine.
Cons: The Hotel manager cannot be reached with any issues. Nothing is done about critical issues such as sewage.
EXPEDIA - Please pull this HOTEL from your site. It is unsanitary. - the whole room smells of sewage with the bathroom most strongly - we complained of gurgling in the sink seeing bubbling froth - when showering the water stands around the guests feet - when leaving for the day with bathroom acceptably clean and toilet flushed, the guest may return to the room to find sewage in the toilet as we did. Made us disgusted regarding what was gurgling in the sink and what we were standing in within the shower
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from a

I would recommend not to stay here!

Posted May 15, 2016
Emails were not responded to when communicating in advance. At check in attendant was very rude and made us feel like a burden. No elevator and we had to carry large suitcases up several flights or narrow stairs. Stained bed linens and a toilet then barely flushed topped out stay off. For the price not worth it basically a hostel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 9, 2016
Great city centre location. Good value - it's not a modern hotel, but the high ceiling and large windows gave my room a bright and spacious feel. Excellent breakfast.