Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh, Scotland

Good wedding venue - golf course could be better

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Stayed for two nights for family wedding. Paid for basic room which was huge with double doors leading to wardrobe dressing area and large bathroom with bath and separate shower which had great pressure. Have given the room only four stars as no in-room safe , no mini-bar/fridge and no bottled water. I know the area's water is safe to drink but, like all hotels, know this comes from a tank! Also there is no air conditioning - just central heating by radiators and opening windows for ventilation. We found it very warm, but not stuffy due to ability to open the windows - but that led to noise drifting up from the motorway beyond. The public areas and function room for the wedding were all very nice and the staff could not have been more friendly or attentive! Had a round of golf the day before the wedding and found the course quite soggy with some greens in poor condition. (The pro-shop said this was due to the exceptionally wet summer). Happy enough as we only paid £13.50 pp for the 18 holes. Must add the buffet Scottish Breakfast was excellent - great choice, delicious and fresh - all my fellow diners agreed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wirral

Comfortable stopover hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: Proximity to M80
Location: Next to M80. Handy for visiting the Falkirk Wheel and the Kelpies.
Although close to the motorway, our room, overlooking the golf course at the back, was very quiet. The hotel provided all the facilities for a comfortable and relaxing overnight stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Short vacation

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Cons: Quite room, helpful staff
Good hotel centrally located for us, The hotel clean was clean and the staff very helpful. The food was perhaps a little to ambitious with to many flavours .I would stay here again in the future
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stop ovr

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Stopped over on way to see my sons pass out day at police Scotland hq , stay was excellent ticked all the boxes
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: Very modern and staff very friendly , lovely bar area and good food
Cons: The weather
Location: Not a lot around hotel itself , quite village near by with good Italian restaurant
Lovely hotel, with good food and very friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Preston

A two night's stay

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: Breakfasts were lovely with a pleasant lounge/bar area.
Cons: The bathroom of our suite was a little dated; particularly the shower tray and screen. Drinks were rather expensive.
Location: Nice views overlooking the golf course on one side and unfortunately a busy noisy motorway on the other.
The hotel was overall very good; we had a relaxing comfortable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Lovely stay at the westerwood. Room was a little too hot at night but apart from that I can't fault anything. Second time I've been here and enjoyed every minute. The pool and sauna were lovely too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Very friendly staff,helped with luggage ,good view over golf course,room big
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Exceptional Staff - Customer Service amazing!!

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Very clean and excellent staff
Cons: Food in hotel was nice but portions tiny for what you pay. This can be improved.
Location: The location is Cumbernauld
We were a large wedding group requiring 9 rooms, the hotel was fully booked so we had to book all the available double bedrooms. I rang the hotel reception informing them of the group requirements and they were very accommodating, added the request for extra beds in some double bedrooms and cots for the babies in the group. They were just always eager to please and make you feel welcome. The hotel itself is lovely and extremely clean, the rooms are roomy and golf course view was beautiful. Nice tranquil accommodation and spa facilities were lovely and all that you needed really. I would definitely stay here again, it is a bit far out from Glasgow and not the easiest to go inbetween with public transport, we had to use taxi's most of the time to get to A to B and glasgow taxi's are no joke! The taxi from the airport to the hotel cost us £50- for a car ride of under 20 mins, please stay clear from the white taxi's outside the airport, they are truly a rip off. Try to prebook your taxi if you can, the taxi company the hotel use are a reasonable rate. Excellent stay at The Westerwood, will definitely come again, thank you very much.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Joseph from London

Pleasant hotel, not as good as I hoped.

Posted May 31, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed for 5 nights while attending a training course nearby. I found the rooms to be large and comfortable with a good bathroom. Food at the hotel was quite average, I felt the portions were quite small and often the waiting times to be served were quite long. I didn't play a round of the golf course but I did use the gym and pool, both of which I found to be very busy and smaller than expected. There is very little in the immediate area, for more bars and restaurants a lengthy drive to Glasgow would be your best option.