Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey. America

Nice location and people

Posted Feb 19, 2017
You are treated very well. Very knowledgeable of activities. Make sure to do it all. Hike. Volcanoes waterfalls. Hot springs. Eat. If you drive. Watch the man made drainage potholes get a car with big engine a small engine up some of the mountains will die or stall. Get automatic too. Book far in advance your hotel and car. Very homey and accomadating. I would offer cereal at breakfast. I'm egged out. Great place that is very secluded. Beautiful gardens. Looking for serenity this is the place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from salem, MA

Serene

Posted Feb 18, 2017
the views and serenity of the valley is something that will stay with me for the rest of my life.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

In the mountains, very quiet and peaceful.

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Pops Volcano, Paz Gardens and so much more.
5 star all round. Very friendly welcome by the manager who is full of information about what to do and where to go. The hotel provides a wonderful breakfast and has arrangements with local restaurants for ordering in any other meals required.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for your kind words and for leaving your impressions online about our hotel. Your opinion is very important to us and part of our continuous process of improvement, with the aim to satisfy all our customers. We really appreciate your kindness and we hope to welcome you again soon at Hotel Mango Valley.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from caesarea israel

Nice, cause and quite.

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Location is remote, place very quite and comforting, nice swimming pool, fresh air, not far from peas volcano.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Namic, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Hotel Mango Valley. We really appreciate your feedback, which help us in our continuous process of improvement. We are happy to see that you enjoyed our unique location and our swimming pool and outdoor areas. Thanks once again and we hope to welcome you back in the future again. Hotel Mango Valley.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bowmanville, Ont.

Great place to relax!

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Staff, comfort and pool.
Location: Volcanoes, waterfalls, hot springs and coffee farms.
Mango Valley Hotel is a very clean and well run establishment. Javier serves breakfast every day and is an excellent host to meet your vacation needs. Everywhere you look within the premises, it's picture perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by Manager., Hotel Management
Dear Gene, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, specially our cottages, our breakfast and service. We work hard to try to improve the service we offer to all our guests. We appreciate your opinions once again, hoping to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely, Hotel Mango Valley.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Best hotel experience!

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Location: Mango Valley is a great center point to be able to get to all of your tours and destinations. The hotel scenery if beautiful.
This was the best hotel stay my husband and I have had! Everything from staff, to location, and transportation. They are very acomadating to your needs and extremely helpful. Javier took very good care of us! The breakfast was great. We used transportation to all of our tours from Adrian. We really recommend him. He has so much knowledge of the country and helpful with all your needs to get around Costa Rica. Definitely coming back. We will truly miss the staff. Made us feel like family 😊
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Great escape from the real world

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: My husband and I were here for 5 nights celebrating our honeymoon and it was perfect. Total isolation from everyone and everything. You can't beat the view from the pool! and complementary breakfast every day was just the cherry on top of it all.
Cons: No complaints here, we didn't know what to expect but I wouldn't change a thing. Hotel Mango Valley is a must if you're in Costa Rica.
Location: From the activities we did, we were in a good location. Everything came out to be a little over an hour away there and back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Friendly staff, flexible and very accommodating.

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: Town of Grecia has supermarket, restaurants, and mall. Most tours are about an hour away by car.
Cozy room for couples. Simple with tv, kitchen, and bath. Very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chile

Beautiful, calm spot

Posted May 21, 2016
Pros: The beautiful view and a good breakfast (fresh fruit, eggs and coffee). Helpful but not intruding staff.
Cons: It would be nice if they offered a meal in the evening--they only offer breakfast and you can order take out.
Location: I did not rent a car, so I took the bus that is right outside the hotel entrance. In Grecia, there is a beautiful church, banks, grocery stores.
I was in Costa Rica for a conference in San José and arrived a few days early. Rather than staying in San José, I looked for a hotel about an hour from San José. Even though the hotel (really cabins) is an hour away from the airport, it is completely different. It is in the hills up a little paved road from the town of Grecia. The cabin was perfect with an incredible view of the Volcano (when there are few clouds) and tropical vegetation. Lots of humming birds near the back deck. This is a great place to relax, but it may be a bit far away if you are not looking to drive a lot. I enjoyed the farmers' market in Grecia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

Great quiet hotel in dramatic setting

Posted Mar 19, 2016
The hotel is located on top of a mountain with great expansive views. Its very cool at night but warm during the day. The cabins are cozy but have cooking facilities. The pool is refreshing. Javier does a great job making guests feel comfortable. Breakfasts were included and very tasty. There's a lot to do in the area. Poas Volcano, Grecia, and Sarchi is closer. Highly recommended.