Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hôtel tranquille sur site enchanteur

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Pros: Tranquillité, site superbe.
Location: Peu de choses près de l'hotel, un seul resto.
Ce petit hôtel est bien dirigé, le petit déjeuner est complet, le site et la chambre sont propres. Si vous rechercher la tranquillité, c'est un endroit pour vous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place with beautiful views.

Posted Jan 23, 2016
The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Would have stayed at this place more nights if I had realized how nice it was.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from La Crosse, WI

Nowhere near Poas Volcano

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: The view. The owner was nice.
Cons: Truth in advertising. Grecia is hard to find and nowhere near Poas Volcano.
Location: View was okay. Didn't have time to experience the area. Was too busy traveling between the hotel and the volcano.
We booked this "three star" hotel because of its supposed proximity to Poas Volcano, which we were visiting on the day before leaving Costa Rica. The hotel claimed to be "one mile" from Poas and so we traveled to Poas Volcano National Park from our previous hotel near Arenal Volcano. The trip was supposed to be 3 hours and 45 min long. We had made some stops but made it to Poas National Park in around 4.5 hours only to find out that the hotel was still another 75 minutes away. It was dark by now, which didn't matter anyways because we got lost on each of the three trips between the hotel and the park, two of which were during the day. That night it took roughly two hours and each of our day trips back and forth took roughly an hour and a half. The hotel is not as "country" as it appears, though it does have some very nice views of a valley and the outskirts of San Jose. The owner "Juan" was very friendly, however, breakfast was sub-par from everything else we had had at each of the 5 hotels we stayed at in Costa Rica - an american hotdog is what you will get for breakfast sausage, eggs, and toast. Though the plate of fruit was very fresh and very good. Yet another issue that added to the misery of our stay here, because breakfast does not make or break an experience at a hotel for me, besides spending upwards of 5 hours traveling between Poas and the hotel on the last full day we had in the country, was the construction on the pool which included very loud hammering and elect
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2016 by Jose Luis , Hotel Management
Dear Matt, We are so sorry you could not fully enjoy your stay with us. Your dissatisfaction with our hotel seems to mostly be related to the distance to the volcano Poas. It seems that you were misinformed, as our website or Expedia listing do not say that the hotel is located 1 mile from the Poas volcano. In fact, on our website we say that we are located 45-50 minutes driving distance from Poas (http://www.mangovalley.com/useful-info.html). Perhaps you were misled by the Google maps. In Costa Rica roads are not as good as in the Western world: so even if the location is 10 km away (which is "close" for the Westerners), in Costa Rica it could take 40 min to drive this distance due to the road conditions and traffic. Moreover, we highly recommend to all our guests renting a GPS, as roads are badly indicated in Costa Rica. If guests do not rent a GPS, then we at least ask them to print and bring with them detailed driving directions which we send beforehand to all our arriving guests (and we also have them on our website). These precautions help to avoid stress driving around this wonderful country. We are sorry you were not happy with out breakfast, which was praised by many guests previously. We thought that breakfast consisting of eggs (cooked according to guest's wishes), hash browns, sausage, toast, plate of fresh fruit (usually containing mango/bananas, papaya, watermelon and pineapple, all fresh from our local farmers market), juice and coffee was a satisfying meal. However, if guests would have other suggestions on what they would prefer to be served, we are always ready to adapt and improve, to serve our guests better. We thank you for choosing us for your stay, and we hope you come back to this beautiful country and have a better travel experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfekte Gastgeber!

Posted Nov 26, 2015
Pros: Sehr hilfsbereite und nette Gastgeber
Die Besitzer Maite und José sind perfekte Gastgeber, die ein super Frühstück zaubern und viele wertvolle Tipps für Ausflüge aller Art parat geben. Man fühlt sich hier wirklich sehr wohl. Wir können das Mango Valley uneingeschraänkt empfehlen. Auch ein schöner Poolbereich und Garten.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Braunfels, TX

A perfect jungle mountain getaway

Posted Nov 21, 2015
Pros: Private cabins, cooking facilities, veranda with views, beautiful grounds, great breakfasts, jetted tub and walk in shower, perfect weather, hosts.
Cons: Could use the water temp turned up a bit. Not really very hot when using the tub.
Location: Close to Poas Volcano and La Paz waterfalls, cities of Grecia and Sarchi. 90 min to Jaco on the Pacific coast. Lots of parks and gardens nearby.
Individual cabins overlooking a beautiful cloud forest valley of palms, fruit trees, coffee plants and beautiful trees so green you can hardly believe it. Centrally located so most attractions are within 1 1/2 hours drive or less, including the Pacific beaches. So quiet and peaceful at the cabins. The hosts, Jose and Maite, are exceptionally friendly and go out of their way to make your stay a special one. The view from our veranda reminded me of scenes from the movie "Gorillas in the Mist". I would definitely recommend the Mango Valley Hotel to anyone visiting Costa Rica and will be staying there again myself when we return to this beautiful country.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alaska

Awesome views always

Posted Nov 19, 2015
Our hosts (Mareta and her husband) offered us a most welcoming, informative, comfortable, beautiful, peaceful place to spend our first few days in Costa Rica. The rooms were perfect, clean and had everything we expected and more (stacked mini-bar). Not only will we be back but we will also share this place with others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Excellent hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2015
Excellent hotel, the views are breathtaking, the owners Jose and Maite will make your stay in paradise even better. Recommend everyone to stay here, you'll get your money worth and the small city of Grecia is beautiful as well. I feel in love with this place and this town! 200% recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel, beautiful view

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Pros: The couple that own it, they are great! We had a very nice stay, hope to return someday.
Cons: The only thing I didn't like about the place was the pillows, they were a little on the hard side and lumpy.
Location: Grecia is a $10.00 taxi ride away, very nice square with lots of shops and places to eat. Poas Volcano and the La Paz gardens are close.
The people that own/run this hotel are wonderful, I've never met such friendly, helpful people. The view was beautiful, the pool is lovely and the cottages are pretty and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Pleasant Bungalows Overlooking a Beautiful Garden

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Pros: Excellent hosts and pleasant surroundings made our stay enjoyable. The infinity pool overlooking the valley is a plus.
Location: The hotel is located near the historic town of Grecia and within easy driving distance of a fantastic volcano.
The hosts were extremely pleasant people who were very helpful in arranging transportation. The accommodation were clean and tidy and well-stocked for an extended stay. Very near Volcan Poas and La Paz Peace Gardens.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Norman C. from St. Petersburg, Fl

Relaxing in paradise

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
Jose and Maite were extremely nice. The property has breathtaking views of a valley with beautiful landscaping. Parrots and hummingbirds were everywhere. Infinity pool was also very nice. Cant wait to go back!