Ratings based on 210 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Green Island

Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, but the property is a bit dated--could use a refresh. Beds were not the most comfortable. However, the location is wonderful, and the staff was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hong kong

Everything is so good!

Posted May 4, 2017
Stayed one night in green island. The island itself is quite small and the most beautiful part of the island is once all the day visitor left the park. We saw 4 turtles, 1 shark and lots of fishes!! Love every single bit of the island and recommend others to stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by ., Hotel Management
Thank you
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Shabby, Disappointing, Overrated Resort

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Very little. However, highlights were the evening pier and beach tours. The staff member who runs these was absolutely brilliant.
Cons: Checking in process, resort cleanliness, rat problem, room smell, broken washing machines, food/drink options, restaurant staff training.
Location: A lovely location but there are too many people to enjoy it properly during the day and too many resort problems to enjoy it properly in the evening.
If you are thinking of visiting the Great Barrier Reef, which is a very special place, then give Green Island a wide berth. We stayed there for two nights and very much wished we hadn't. Hoards of tourists overrun the island during the day: up to 1,000 people on an island that takes little more than 20 minutes to walk around. The central touristic area is awash with nasty food options to cater for the crowds. After extensive queueing, we received simply disgusting food. At 4.30 pm the last boat departs and peace descends on the island, which is lovely. However, there is only one restaurant left open for resort guests that is expensive, badly run and dirty (watch out for bird poo). We had an argument regarding a significant wait for food on our first night and were completely mismanaged by staff. After that we ordered room service. A better option (despite being the same kitchen) but it closes around 10.00pm rather than the stated 10.30pm with no other food/drink options after this time. From twilight, the resort is overrun with large rats - a nasty experience walking around. Many items within the resort are broken - washing machines, remote controls. There is an overall air of neglect. Our issues were extensive but there isn't the space here to mention them all. The managing companies are banking on people's desire to visit the reef with no care or thought to the actual experience. Sort it out Quicksilver and Reef Adventures. Take note Tourism Queensland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Beautiful Island getaway

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Location of course, it can't be beat!
Cons: No communication from Expedia/resort on how to get the boat shuttle, had to call the resort out of pocket where they said Expedia should have told us.
Location: Snorkelling!
This resort was such a great experience! Even getting to spend just one night here was so memorable! We were so happy we opted to spend the night instead of just having a day trip here. The price included the boat ride there and back which was convenient. The sunset drinks on the beach were lovely. The room was spacious and clean. We loved to snorkel off the beach and felt like VIP walking up and getting equipment handed to us with no problem or charge as a resort guest. Overall, lovely stay!
5 out of 5
by Jenny

Getting close to nature in style

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
We loved our stay overnight on the Island. Truly beautiful surrounds, scenery, prolific marine life. Plenty of activities included in the tariff. Superb transfer to and from the island in a modern and fast catamaran. The birdlife and rainforest aspect was fantastic. Once the day trippers had left, the experience really lifts up another level, and you feel very privileged to be enjoying this amazing place. Could not fault the staff, they were all friendly and helpful. The room was beautifully appointed and very comfortable. The outdoor decked area was right beside the rainforest edge. The whole experience felt like an adventure with a luxury feel. The restaurant was excellent and the menu enticing. Will definitely return to this little paradise on the Great Barrier Reef.
5 out of 5
by Matthew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful location. Amazingly tranquil when day visitors to Green Island leave.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Relaxing and fun

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
Loved the included activities. Night walks, fish feeding, snorkelling right off the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SYDNEY

Great spot, shame about the day trippers

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Clean, well kept, luxurious, they go to the extra effort for 'the little things' to make you stay even more special.
Cons: Nil.
Location: Great location, on the barrier reef, say no more.
What a great experience, the resort was well cared for on a pristine Australian island. We were treated to evening complimentary drinks, snorkel, beach use and an amazing 5 star restaurant on the world famous great barrier reef. I would like to thank the resort for all their effort including a room upgrade, having stayed 3 nights, I could definately have stayed 5! From 9am - 430pm you do share the island with the day trippers but this can also make for quite a sporty day of 'people watching'. Certainly recommend a couple of nights stay in a lovely resort in a very special part of the world.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was nice, but the bar and restaurant service left a lot to be desired.