Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Excellent hotel overlooking Green Lake

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, particularly Hannah.
Cons: No changes.
Location: Golf at Lawsonia and Tuscumbia, talk a walk in the American Baptist Assembly, pool at Heidel House, a boat ride, enjoy beautiful nature at its best.
We had a short three day visit to Green Lake, WI, a beautiful lake resort we try to visit once a year, and we always stay at the Heidel House. We had beautiful weather and were able to use the pool and see friends we get together with each year. The breakfast buffet is wonderful, with fresh fruit and a broad selection of other breakfast items. A sandy beach, an afternoon cruise on the lake made it a wonderful trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Mac, thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased that your three day stay was a wonderful one and that you were able to enjoy the various amenities, such as the pool and our yacht, the Escapade. Your compliments regarding your breakfast buffet have been shared with our culinary department as well, who is happy to hear the kind words. Once more, we appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Checked out and went home.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Pleasant location on shore of Green Lake
Cons: Guest parking very problematic, room amenities, pool, fitness center and game room less than standard for class of property..
Location: A few small towns and public beaches off property nearby. A golf course across the street.
Checked out on second afternoon of stay and went home because there was no guest parking because of number of cars for saturday weddings. If we'd gone out for dinner and a show that evening as planned, we would have had to park in the village of Green Lake, and walk back over a mile to our room late at night and in a rain storm, so we just checked out and went home (lost the price of three theater tickets and got my week old car clipped in the overcrowded parking lot to boot). The room amenities at this property are about what you would expect from a chain motel at half the price. The outdoor pool, fitness center and game room are of lesser quality than those in my apartment complex. Weren't there long enough to try restaurants/bars on property, so can't comment, but good ones in the area. Real deficiency is guest parking, which is inadequate and difficult for the mobility challenged generally, and impossible when other events are taking place onsite.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Mike, thank you for your review. We are glad to see that you enjoyed our lakeside setting. However, we are disappointed to learn that we fell short of your expectations and you chose to leave a day early. Please know that your feedback regarding your experience is valued and we use it to continually improve.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's all about the view

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: The view.
Cons: Maid service, balcony furniture, consistent food service.
Location: Some cute towns nearby, although the restaurants and shops are closed on Sundays and Mondays, which seemed strange.
Lovely view, can't be beat, but the hotel needs tweaking. Maid service did not happen before 4:30 in the afternoon and we were out of the room from morning until mid-afternoon.(one day we had to call at 4:50 to see if they were coming). The pub is extremely dark, dreary, and freezing cold. But the pub patio is very nice with a wonderful view. Food service is spotty--one night we received our food in about 10 mins, the next night we waited 40 minutes for wings and a salad. Both nights the pub was empty, with just diners on the patio. And strangest of all, the balcony for our room had the beautiful view which we enjoyed, but only 2 cheap plastic uncomfortable chairs, and no small table or anything that you could set a cup of coffee down on! And with a charge of several hundred dollars a night, this is really unacceptable. We have never before stayed in a location with a patio or balcony that did not provide at least a small table. Also, the room sleeps 6, but just 2 chairs on the balcony? It was also very disappointing that the lake cruise boat was out of order, as this seems to be a highlight of the resort, and something we were looking forward to.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Jean, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the beautiful lake views, but are disappointed to learn that your experience overall fell short of your expectations. Your concerns regarding both your room and food service have been shared with the relevant departments. We are also very regretful of any inconvenience caused by the yacht being unavailable during your stay. Once more, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, as it is always appreciated.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2016
The resort room is in need of a little updating, particularly the bathroom. But the room was quite spacious and comfortable for two people.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to see that you were comfortable in your guest room and hope to welcome you back in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 7, 2016
One bedspread was so dirty I would not sleep on that bed. The bathroom was old----water kept running in the toilet. Showerhead needed to be replaced.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2016 by Kevin K., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We are truly regretful that you found an issue with the cleanliness of one of your guest beds. This is certainly not the level of service we strive to provide. Please know that your concerns have been addressed with the housekeeping department in order to ensure that this does not happen again in the future. Again, thank your review. Whether positive or constructive, we truly value the feedback.
5 out of 5
by scott

pleasure

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
other a bad smell from bathroom, that smelled like bleach room was perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Scott, thank you for taking a moment to write a review of us. We are delighted that you had a 5-star experience. We have also shared your concerns of the bleach smell with our housekeeping department in order to ensure that this does not happen again. Once again, thank you for the feedback and we hope to welcome back in the future.
4 out of 5
by Beata

Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking a moment to review us. Feedback is especially helpful, and we are always grateful to receive it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Glad I only paid $100.

Posted Feb 23, 2016
Pros: The beds were comfortable and it was clean. The staff at breakfast was very nice and helpful.
Cons: Have soft water. Better TV. Lacking many channels and HD on half the channels. The food and service in the Boathouse Pub. Parking wasn't good either.
The room was nice, not worth $200. It had a nice whirlpool bathtub, but they didn't have soft water so the soap just made the bath scummy. And then when the tub took over 30 min to drain, I couldn't get the leftover scum to rinse away. We decided to eat at the Boathouse Pub since we couldn't get into the main dinning room until 8:45. This turned out to be the second worst dining experience we ever had. We waited for everything. We finally got drinks after I asked the waitress to get them. We got our appetizers after I went up to the bar to talk to the manager and they happened to be there ready to be delivered. To top everything off, the food was awful. We complained to the manager who told us that is was training night. Those waitresses were not even close to being trained. The manager comped our meal at least. As we looked around, we weren't the only ones waiting for everything. And the place wasn't even busy!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2016 by Anna K., Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. I am pleased to see that you had pleasant interactions with our associates during breakfast and you enjoyed a restful night’s sleep in your guest room bed. However, I am sorry that your experiences both with your tub and your meal at BoatHouse lessened your visit. I can sincerely understand the frustration of waiting so long for your meal, and you certainly should not have had to request more than once for your drinks. This is not the level of service we strive to provide. I am glad that you were able to speak with the manager; and please know that your concerns have been shared again with our culinary department. Once more, thank you for writing a review. Whether feedback is positive or constructive, it is an incredibly powerful tool that allows us to improve.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MI

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: great location with a spectacular lake view
Cons: Room and facility cleanliness
Requested an allergy friendly room (hypoallergenic) which they assured me they could accommodate prior to arrival. However when we arrived the room had not been dusted in some time, let alone made hypoallergenic. There was a thick layer of dust in the fan in the bathroom and on all the surfaces. After speaking with the desk manager and showing them the room, they did clean the room while we waited in the bar - 45min later it was better but not really clean. At 11:30 at night we just wanted to get to sleep. When we checked out, there were going to comp some of the room cost for the inconvenience, however there was no manager there to do so and I'm not even sure the message was passed along.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
Everything was more than I expected will be back again