Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SG

Lovely B&B

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Pros: Very thoughtful host and helpful people. Quiet & safe neighbourhood, convenient as well. Very reasonable rates.
Cons: None that I can think of.
Location: Located near Main Road & Green Point, where F&Bs, pharmacy, laundry shops are and Woolsworth is a 10-min walk away. 20-min walk to V & A Waterfront.
The boss and her helpers are very polite and welcoming. They would ask how we are and provide a nice range of breakfast staples every day: bread, cereal, a range of cheese and brie, milk and orange juice, butter & jams. Omelettes, Tea/Coffee are made fresh upon request. I love the interior, although it was an old place, they have refurbished & repainted it to be very well-kept, neat and decorated nicely. We'd work at our breakfast table because it's so bright and cheery in white & teal. They also recommended us to bring our kids and stay over at another room which can accommodate all of us. Located near Main Road & Green Point, where F&Bs, pharmacy, laundry shops are and Woolsworth is a 10-min walk away. Easy to get around. An easy 20-min walk to the V & A Waterfront as well. There are also trips which you can arrange for via them, we booked a day's trip and the driver picked us up at the doorstep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Cher, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking your time to write about us. We appreciate you choosing Avatara and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
5 out of 5
by Libby from Scotland

Avatara is amazing

Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
After a beautiful room was presented to me there was a hiccup with the shower which was out with the owners control however by means of rectification I was offered more than ample compensation in the form of an extra night. Godwin arranged my laundry, taxi for early morning start and coffee to my to my room. I was just finishing 3 weeks of bush camping and about to start another so luxury was the key for me and I got that and some. I cannot recommend this place enough. Local to the waterfront and grand Africa beach cafe was recommended to me and what a beautiful place it was. I will definitely be returning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017
So happy that we were able to ensure you had a good time. Thank you so much for choosing Avatara!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walking distance from V&A waterfront

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Wonderful, charming little place for a short stay! Friendly staff and great location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location and Wonderful Owner

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
This is my second stay at the Avatara, and I came back because the owner, Cher, is so great and the location in Green Point is perfect for access to restaurants, runs on the Sea Point Promenade, and proximity to the Waterfront. Cher gives great recommendations about the area (everything from transportation to masseuses), and is flexible and friendly. The rooms are clean and comfortable - the only downside is that you can hear everything going on in the small, non-sound-proofed guest house. It's kind of a crapshoot in that way - my first several nights were quiet and I slept great, then my last night a family with a baby checked in and I could hear every squeal and cry from upstairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: Position and Landlady
Location: Very well situated near shops, bars & restaurants, close to green point park, stadium and the sea. Just 10 -12 minute walk to the V & A waterfront
Conveniently situated Guest House run by friendly, informative and helpfull owner - Cher. Was made to feel very welcome and a relaxed environment. Good breakfast each morning. Ground floor room was ok, but a little dark but with a very comfortable bed - an upgrade might be worthwhile.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice and close to shops and restaurants!

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: Simple, clean and convenient!
Cons: Allow for a fixed international news channel eg CNN, other than local. There's a dedicated channel for DSTV but hard to agree with everyone
Location: Waterfront (20min walk), great restaurants and bars/lounges nearby but not next to hotel thus quiet area!
Excellent. Timely response from manager. Excellent staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Botswana

Cosy hotel

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Cons: New spare bed, because I booked a family room.
Location: Very nicely positioned
We were met with incredibly friendly staff ,even though we arrived very early we were offered tea and breakfast while waitng for our room The only thing I can complain about is the spare bed they put into our room, my daughter coudnt sleep as it was extremlely uncomfortable. Breakfast was great. Room was very clean and tastfully decorated.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by garoma daba from Addis Abaab

I paid but didnot stay in Avatara Guest House

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
Unfortunately i left Avatara Guest House without staying a single night - after paying for 7 nights full accommodation cost. I have never stayed in Guest houses, and felt very uncomfortable. In spite of my repeated request, the owner refused to refund me, at least half of the payment, as per the condition i agreed with Hotels.com. Though i missed my money, i satisfied my feelings by not staying as guest to someone whom i never knew at all.