Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Larry

A great place for a stay on Cape Town

Posted Dec 22, 2015 on Hotels
The best feature of this hotel was the hospitality of the hosts Barry and Mina. Very welcoming and pleasant.
5 out of 5
by Sibylle from La Nucia

Your home away from home in Cape Town

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
I changed my booking from a hotel to this guest house and I'm very happy that I did. The owners, Bary and Mina are very welcoming and the house is very comfortable and cosy, you can tell that a lot of love and care made it what it is today. On the top floor is an amazing bar, and it was very nice to socialze with other guests and the owners as well as their friends. I can really recommend it and if I come back to Cape Town I hope to stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated, and a bit odd

Posted May 14, 2015 on Hotels
I am a frequent visitor to Cape Town and I always stay in guesthouses in this neighbourhood. I chose Jambo House because of the location, and because I think I stayed for one night about 20 years ago :-) This time I stayed two nights, and for me it was the least pleasurable stay in any B&B or guesthouse for a very long time. Luckily there are several real & super alternatives with a much better value-proposition just around the corner. It is an old guesthouse that has not been kept up-to-date; it actually feels a bit old and tired, perhaps even outdated, in the way your Grandma's place might feel after a bit of neglect. I also, honestly, have to say I got the feeling that the owner is tired of running it. I guess it is difficult if your heart is not in it... but it does not make for a pleasant stay. You can do better.
4 out of 5
by Idan from Tel Aviv

Warm Hospitality

Posted Feb 25, 2015 on Hotels
Very much recommended. Safe neighborhood and great hosts! You've got 3-4 good restaurants at a 5 mn walking distance and the Waterfront at a 15 mn walk. They have slight problems of outage but this is all over Cape Town anyway. Very good value for money.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best guesthouse I have ever stayed in

Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels
Simply amazing & charming & magical. The place is gorgeous both in terms of rooms, common areas and the garden. The hosts are absolutely sweet and professional and caring. As we were given a tour of the premises we could not stop gawking at how beautiful and different it all is. And the private bar upstairs is a place to behold. Were it not for the draw of Cape Town, I would have spent all my time in this guesthouse. There is a jacuzzi in the garden, so many different flowers giving off lovely scents, a pond filled with koi who are happy to eat from your hands. Breakfast is lovely with fresh fruit and plenty of other choices. The rooms are like little stories. Oh, and the bathtub fills up in minutes - most impressive water pressure. I cannot recommend this place enough. It is a destination unto itself.
5 out of 5
by Kathleen from Justin

Everything we needed!

Posted Dec 3, 2014 on Hotels
At Jambo Guest House, great attention is spent on details ensuring a very comfortable stay. Loved the uniquely decorated rooms, garden area and upstairs bar!
4 out of 5
by Leif

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montclair, NJ, USA

Loved this place!

Posted Sep 7, 2014 on Hotels
Great location and hosts. Very comfortable and quiet rooms. Loved the decor and art displays.
4 out of 5
by David Oliver from South Africa

Jambo guest house

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels
Clean tidy n friendly
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels
We had a lovely stay and wonderful hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. Ideally situated for both Cape Town and the surrounding area. Would be more than happy to stay again.