Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Alex

What you see is not exactly what you get......

Posted Apr 1, 2017 on Hotels
We decided to stay at Jambo for our last night in Cape Town based on the location, positive tripadvisor/hotels.com reviews and the amenities offered for the price point (~£100-£115 per night). Upon arrival, we were quite frankly disappointed and somewhat bewildered by the overwhelmingly positive reviews we had read. Jambo is not a bad place to stay at, but I do think it appeals to a certain type of audience/traveller. If you are into the quirky, bohemian, homestay, get to know your hosts vibe, then this is the place for you. We stayed in the Garden room and the decor was very dated, worn, chintzy and overwhelming (to reference one other reviewers comments, it felt like staying at your granny's house). It was comfortable at best but in no way luxurious or modern. The TV was small - almost unwatchable from the bed and had a very limited number of channels. The "free" parking was on a public cul-de-sac that was so narrow you had to reverse out of it onto a main road and the "free" wifi was not available as standard but was begrudgingly offered as "....do you need to use my wifi?" In sum, had the price been ~£50-£60 per night, we would have had no issues at all but there are other hotels and guest houses in the cape that offer better facilities for the same price. Barry and Mina were lovely but they need to invest as much in their rooms as they do into their hosting to justify the price point.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017
Dear Alex, Jambo is a beautiful 130 year old Victorian styled building. We prefer eclectic furnishings as we find chrome, glass and modern very cold. Had you taken the trouble to view the virtual tour on our website then you would have seen that "What you see is indeed, what you get " We have just been re-graded 4 Stars by the TGCSA. We do have some onsite free parking and Barry will gladly act as a "parking valet" if guests experience trouble with our narrow streets. WiFi is free, limitless, available throughout the property and is never "begrudgingly offered" as you stated. You have forgotten to mention the view of our beautiful garden from your bed, the bird songs plus the sheer tranquility even though we are located in the city centre. We hope you will return to enjoy more of South Africa. Regards Barry and Mina
4 out of 5
by Zahabia

Good location and host

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Jambo guest house is in a great location - in walking distance to the V&A waterfront (around 30mins) and Sea Point and there are restaurant options within a 10 minute walk. Barry, the owner, is helpful and is keen to offer advice and make bookings on behalf of guests. The guest house has a home-like feeling but was a little too cluttered for me with lots of things in the rooms - personally, I prefer more space - and more things in the room means more dust in places you cannot clean. Overall a good stay - we were out most of the day and were in the rooms only at night. If you have a back problem, you might find the beds a little uncomfortable - too soft and jumpy for me.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
Difficult to park, only 3 spaces to park in which were very tight. breakfast wasn't great.. tv in room very small couldn't see from lying in bed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place and location

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
Great place in general, the bed was very comfortable. If you like guest houses and living inside a person's house this is just for you. The hosts are very very warm and welcoming, very nice but at certain point they tend to ramble on (I'm just not a morning person and at times it was too chatty for me). Regardless, I would diffently recommend this place. Safe and fun location and a huge room and closet. Will go back in a hearbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London UK

Lovely stay with Barry ans Nima

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: We liked the personal service and friendly atmosphere
Cons: It is hard to think of anything which could be improved
Location: There is a lovely deli and steak restaurant nearby. Jumbo is within easy walking distance from Cape Town and you don't need a car.
We had a lovely three night stay at Jumbo. The owners go out of their way to provide personal service, with amazing breakfasts and good company in Barry's bar in the evenings. The owners provided advice and tips on where to go and what to see. We hope to be back next time we go to South Africa! Thanks Barry and Nima for an unforgettable stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Feel at home in Capetown

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
Jambo Is a great place to stay to capture the true spirit of Cape Town and surrounding areas. Barry and Mina made us feel right at home and shared their extensive knowledge of their hometown and Africa. This amazing couple has lovingly transformed a 130-year-old house into an enticing oasis filled with personal touches, great furnishings, fine food and infectious laughter as well as outstanding art and music. Among their many talents, Berry is a magical guitarist and singer and Mina is a superb artists and art collector. We can't wait to come back to Jambo guesthouse again
4 out of 5
by Philip from USA

Posted Mar 4, 2016 on Hotels
Wife a little too friendly. Every morning at breakfast wife stood and talked to us the entire time we ate. As a result we had to go to our room to make plans for the day and not over breakfast. Also, breakfast just a continental one with no hot food. Time for breakfast seemed late - started at 8am. When we asked if we could get food early our last day to catch a plane the wife said "they have food at the airport". The husband did make coffee and cold cereal but no fresh rolls
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stratford upon Avon, UK

Home from home

Posted Mar 1, 2016
Pros: Quality of room, location and great hosts
Cons: Happy with everything.
Location: Walk to V&A for bus tours around the Cape and local restaurants
Great hosts in Barry and Mina in a wonderful B&B within walking distance of restaurants and the V&A. Lovely garden to relax in and a great breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by JANA from South Africa

Business trip Cape Town

Posted Feb 8, 2016 on Hotels
Was comfortable , breakfast lacked , only toast offered as hot , seems continental