Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2019
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2019 by Robyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2019
Far exceeded expectation. Staff were acceptional. Would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2019 by Robyn, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! Please come again soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

BIG Backpackers

Posted Sep 14, 2018 on Hotels
BIG Backpackers is very homey-it really does feel like a home away from home. The location is really good and the staff are really cool. They have 2 nights where they take groups out on the town. The only downside is the breakfast is really basic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2018 by Robyn, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review, Jonathan! We're happy you enjoyed staying with us as much as we liked having you. We offer a full continental breakfast with 3 cereals, a selection of fruits and jams, bread and eggs.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Maybe the best hostel I been to ?

Posted Jul 25, 2018 on Hotels
These people redefine hostel stay. Cannot believe I even made new friends. The place is neat and nice - friendly team and staff. More or less like a family. We even had a dinner together. Totally recommended. Safe, etc etc. Go for it if you are in CT and looking for a place to crash. Great washrooms, and wifi and breakfast and ..
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2018 by Robyn, Hotel Management
Thank you so much Tony! We really appreciate you taking the time to review us and we are so happy you had a good time with us
5 out of 5
by Gareth

5 star experience

Posted Dec 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 star service at 2 star prices. We couldn't have picked a better base for our 10 nights in Cape Town. Staff went above and beyond to make sure we had the best possible time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017
Gareth :) Thank you for such a great review. We hope we can host you again in the very near future. Daph and the BIG Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ABSOLUTELY PERFECT STAFF, EVERYTHING WAS GOOD.

Posted Sep 23, 2017 on CheapTickets
Pros: everything.
Cons: nothing
I haven't like party hostel and too much kind staff. Because, I was too shy to hang out with other guests or staffs and many party hostel have only good people, but lack of clean or comfort. but here is different. everything was clean and comfy, staff was really helpful. they don't mind my english skill. even i don't have any plan, they help me to set up my schedule and reservation for several tour agency. the staff were real specialist so super-super helpful and they loved it. unforgettable experience. Milou, Ivor, and so on... miss you. just go there!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by Tyler , Hotel Management
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much ! We try very hard to make sure each guest has the best time possible , especially for our solo travelers . Please come back and visit us soon! Kind Regards Tyler and the B.I.G Family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Super Friendly, Clean Hostel in quiet Area.

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Had a magical time at this hotel. The friendliness of the staff, close to everything, they book tours for you, made dinner for us on a night of the week. Did not want to leave after my stay :-)
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017 by Tyler and the B.I.G family , Hotel Management
Manny, it was such a pleasure hosting you! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much! We hope to see your friendly face back at the B.I.G in the near future! :)
5 out of 5
by Melanie

Best hostel ever

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
This was the best hostel I've stayed! The staff is awesome they are always there for you and help you to organise tours or give suggestions what you can do if you don't have a plan for the day. They also do stuff like dinners, hikes, little walking tours with all the guests who want to join. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the brekky was great in the morning with fresh fruits, musli,bread,eggs any style etc. Everything was really good and when i go back to Cape Town I'll definitely stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC, Canada

Great location. Safe and secure.

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Pros: The staff were incredible and the location could not be beat. The hostel is centrally located and it was very easy to explore the city.
Cons: There's a communal "pillow pile" in the TV room... I don't know how often those pillows are cleaned. :)
Location: It's easy to explore Green Point Park and Cape Town Stadium. The V&A Waterfront and downtown are both only 20-25 minutes away by foot.
The B.I.G Backpackers, located in the Green Point area of Cape Town is a fantastic facility. The rooms are very comfortable and are thoroughly cleaned every day. Surprisingly, for a hostel, the staff even makes up the beds each day! There is ample parking available with a secured, fenced lot and overflow on the street. The neighbourhood felt very safe and secure so street parking was fine. The house itself is also secure and there is always someone at the front desk monitoring the property. Every morning, a selection of fruits and cereals was made available, along with tea and coffee. Eggs were also provided for traveller who wanted to cook up their own breakfasts. A large common table was great for travellers to meet and mingle. Staff were always on hand to make sure everyone had some sort of plan for exploring Cape Town every day. For people who were undecided, the staff would make suggestions based on the interests of each person. In all, we stayed at The B.I.G Backpackers for 6 days and were sad to leave it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels