Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful & friendly staff, well located

Posted Aug 22, 2017
It's a nice small, tucked-away hotel, yet within a 20-30 min. walking distance from the waterfront area. Very clean, the room is spacious and the staff are very friendly. They just don't have an elevator, that's the only thing...but the staff are more than willing to carry your bags up to your room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Extremely helpful staff.

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Clean hotel. Staff willing to help anyway possible. Ideally located near the waterfront. Good breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by Donald, Hotel Management
Dea Leanne, Thank you for taking the time to write us a wonderful review of your stay with us and we are all happy that we could assist in enhancing your experience. We hope to see you next time you are in Cape Town. Kind Regards Donald
4 out of 5
by Rita E

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Quiet and great location

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: Staff, location
Cons: Plumbing
We loved the hotel staff, pool, quite ambiance, and location of this small hotel. The room was clean (but small), the bed was very comfortable, and we had a nice view of the pool from the veranda. Capetown is suffering from a severe drought and we tried to save water, but the toilet was leaky and the plumbing could be improved. There was no screen on the patio door so we weren't able to get much fresh air. All in all, the room was a great value and we definitely enjoyed our stay and recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by Donald, Hotel Management
Dear J&J, We are thrilled that you had a lovely time and that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us. We are concerned that there was a leak in the toilet and to that end we have instructed to have a look at all the toilets to avoid further water loses. Once again we thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to The One 8 Hotel soon. Kind Regards
5 out of 5
by Catherine

Great small and friendly hotel

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
Just had 3 nights at The One 8 following a safari and it is a great small and friendly hotel. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was spacious with a very comfortable bed and the ensuite shower room was great too. The room had a balcony though the view is of other properties as the hotel is in a built-up area. However the room and balcony overlook the pleasant pool and garden area so we would have used the balcony if we'd had time. The hotel is within walking distance of Sea Point and Green Point and we walked to The Waterfront one day which was a lovely walk by the sea. If you're not very mobile the distance could be a problem but taxis are very reasonable and the hotel will book them for you. Also worth mentioning that the hotel does not have a lift though there are just 2 flights of stairs to the first floor. The breakfast was lovely with a good choice offered. Everywhere is very clean and well maintained. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One night at One8

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Comfortable bed, bathroom and nice outdoor eating area.
Cons: Get WIFI working. Fix problems as soon as known.
Location: We didn't do anything nearby. We tried walking into town from the hotel but the Main Rd is very busy and we ended up catching a taxi.
The sign outside was missing, it had broken completely off. The door to street was secure. Staff were friendly. There is no lift so bags must be carried up staircase. The wifi didn't work in the room, we needed it to make plans with our friends and keep in touch with family in New Zealand so that was a problem. We asked about it but it wasn't resolved during out time there. We only stayed one night. The safe in room was locked so we couldn't use it, that wasn't resolved during our time. The bathroom and bed were very comfortable. There is no separate toilet. The breakfast was well laid out and included cook breakfast in needed. There are nice fish tanks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by Donald, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. The sign on our doors was indeed knocked by a delivery truck which had illegally mounted the kerb and we are doing our very best to have it replaced and put back up on the wall as soon as possible but obviously we guided by the sign people on how fast they can do the job. Regarding your safe we would have been happy to immediately unlock it for you had you notified us. We are sorry that you had problems with the WIFI but we get throttled during specific peak traffic times on a daily basis when any of our guests is downloading huge files as Cape Town WIFI follows the Fair User Policy guidelines and our WIFI is, should all our guests browse responsibly, accessible in all our guest rooms. Once again we thank you for your review and we hope you will stay with us again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Location was good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent and friendly staff

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Orbitz
Location: The hotel was near the beach. We went on a tour of cape town
The room and amenities were among the best we have stayed. The morning breakfast was the best of any hotel we've been.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Mark from West Yorkshire England

The One Eight Hotel Cape Town South Africa

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent small hotel. Friendly staff, excellent breakfast, rooms very comfortable and clean.