Ratings based on 589 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Bern NC

great hotel

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Very happy with my decision to stay at this hotel. Expedia reviews helped with this decision. Cari Ann was very helpful at check in. We had dinner at Daryl's which is a short walk down the street. Food was wonderful. I would definitely stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Burlington, NC

Needs maintenance

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Got there on Valentine's around midnight for checkin. We had booked the suite with whirlpool tub for a bit of pampering, but it was not functional. The room was, in general, run down and not in the condition one would expect for the price. Had it not been midnight, we probably would have requested a refund and gone elsewhere. We had asked for a noon checkout, but we were asked by a phone call and two rude visits to the door if we were checking out soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Mary Lou B., Hotel Management
I am so sorry that your experience with us was not an enjoyable one. I appreciate your feedback and want you to know that the issues you encountered have been addressed. Again, I apologize and hope you will give us another chance in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice upgrade!

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Since I booked this room through Expedia, the hotel upgraded the reservation to the executive suite with a jacuzzi tub. It was wonderful to relax in the tub and then walk to dinner, available at a nice selection of restaurants nearby. Overall, a great visit! Front desk staff was very helpful and fun to converse with.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hickory

Great place to stay, next to Khoury Center

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Room is clean and comfortable
Cons: LOBBY LOBBY
Location: everything
everything is great about this place except the Lobby, looks like MOTEL 5 at the Lobby
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Non smoking room that had smoke piped in

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Location was walking distance to dining.
Cons: Smell in guest room and treatment of Expedia guests.
Location: Smokey bones has great food and nice servers.
I cannot say enough to empathize the HORRIBLE smell we experienced in our room. And as the night went on it got stronger, my daughter was having trouble breathing and it made our eyes burn. Hotel staff said they couldn't help is with the issue as they were full and since we booking troughs Expedia they can't move us anyway because we only paid for a specific room. Very disappointed and sad that our night was so bad.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Heater/AC unit was partly out of the wall, which allowed cold air to come in to room from outside. Had to put towels around the unit to prevent air from coming in to room. They did not have another room that would accommodate the number of people in our suite. Did not offer anything else for the inconvenience and poor night's sleep. They said he unit was fixed that day. Obviously was not. Also, roadside traffic beside hotel was very loud.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by Mary Lou B., Hotel Management
I am so sorry that your stay with us was not a good experience. I assure you that the issues you encountered is certainly not our norm.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north carolina

Hotel close to seminar

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Close to seminar
Cons: the bathrooms were extremely small
Location: close to the Grandover Resort.
A coworker and myself had a seminar at the Grandover resort and stayed here to make sure we were there on time. Thankfully we each had a bed, because they were like oversized twin beds. The bathroom was extremely small.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just okay but convenient

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Have stayed at other hotels in the area. This one was just ok
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017
My room was not ready when I got there. Terrible customer service and all the staff was standing around talking. Ignoring that I was standing at the front desk waiting to talk to someone about my room that was not available. Room was dirty, hallway was loud with staff talking loudly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by Mary Lou B., Hotel Management
I am so sorry that you experienced poor Guest service. I want you to know that we take all of our feedback very seriously. I have addressed the issues and I can assure you that what you experienced is not normal practice and will not happen again. I apologize and sincerely hope you will return and give us another opportunity to show you the guest service you deserve.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Kannapolis, NC

Best in the area.

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Check-in, the room in general, the breakfast, and majorly the location.
Cons: Maybe some small improvements to some of the hardware or inner workings of the hotel. Maybe work with better Cable TV (some missing channels).
Location: It was near restaurants, Four Seasons mall, a Krispy Kreme, and some other minor shopping like Walgreens and Roses.
When I looked at hotels in the area we were planning on staying in, this hotel stuck out as being significantly better rated than other hotels nearby. Upon arrival, looking around, I could see why. When we went and checked in, we were taken care of quickly and got to our room. Inside our room, there was a couch, which I had never before seen in a normal room. I was definitely impressed by this. The location is great, as it is near almost anything you want. The breakfast in the morning had most anything you could want for breakfast. The only negative from the whole entire thing was the door handle inside the room to the outside door had a tendency to come off, but honestly, that is an easy fix and not a true reflection of the hotel as a whole.