Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from K

Nice front desk staff, smelliest room ever

Posted Apr 13, 2017
The room smelled like molded running shoes and a clam bake when we walked in. The only redeeming factor was that the front desk staff was very nice and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Nice hotel. Close to downtown and UNCG. Quiet.

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Stayed overnight. Nice room. Friendly staff. The registration clerk and I had the same name which sparked a good conversation. Room was clean and it was quiet enough to get a great night's sleep.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2017
First room given had a strange unclean odor. Front desk have me a new one but there was a bar of soap still in shower from previous guest. My daughter's room had leftover food in the fridge. Front lobby had a strong odor of air freshners. There stick on air freshener on the tables in the lobby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ATLANTA, GA

Great staff. Very convenient location.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
The only problem was the smell in the room. Management should consider carpet cleaning. Otherwise, it was good for the price that you pay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs Maintenance and Updates

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Cons: Too much deferred maintenance.
the facility was outdated and in need of maintenance and new paint.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The staff is great and the hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2017
The staff stay on top of things 24/7 love coming to Howard Johnson .... Howard Johnson we will be back greattttttt
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from greensboro

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Nice an clean rooms. Good breakfast. I would recommend to s friend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to coliseum

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Location to coliseum
Cons: Better training of desk staff
Check in staff was like a robot. Very little concentration on task at hand. Forgot to give remote for t.v.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice deal for the money

Posted Feb 20, 2017
My overall experience was nice,decent room bathroom was a little outdated though.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing experience

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Location to major highways is good.
Cons: Desk staff is terrible, mattresses need to be upgraded.
Location: Right off I-40/85.
I had previously stayed at the Howard Johnson with no problems, but this time was different. The desk chair support was loose and when I went to sit back in the chair, I almost fell over, resulting in a 2 day back ache, including back spasms. Right after it happened, I called the front desk and she said she would let maintenance know, but she either never did or the guy never came. So I had to call the next day again before he came over. Also, the bed was quite soft, which made things worse. Desk people are usually either gabbing on the phone with their friends or watching the television when you need something. Very disappointing stay.