Ratings based on 208 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
30% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Believe the negative reviews!

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: The staff tried. They were nice and friendly, especially considering how late it was when we arrived.
Cons: They need to do better upkeep on everything. They should probably run the AC more to keep the hotel from being so damp and musty.
Location: Close to the highway and Duke University Hospital
We arrived late at night. The parking lot and lobby looked fine. The first problem was that I had mistakenly booked a smoking room. This was my fault, but they were unable to give me a nonsmoking room, not because they didn't have one, but because I had booked on Expedia. It was late, we were only there one night, so I figured we would survive. We were not given any directions on finding the room. It was not difficult, but we did have to walk almost the entire perimeter of the hotel to get there. We were on the second floor. The halls were dimly lit, the ceiling throughout was covered in water stains and I saw at least 2 doors that had the handle/lock removed. By removed, I mean to say it looked like someone had just punched them through the wood -jagged holes. It turned out that it didn't matter that the room was a smoking room, as the whole floor smelled like cigarettes. Maybe the first floor is the nonsmoking floor, Idk. I felt like I was in The Shining. We got to our room only to learn that it was already occupied! When we opened the door, we saw someone else's things and an unmade bed and we heard the shower running! So, back to the front desk. They gave us a new room, but did not seem to understand that the other was occupied. They seemed to think it had not been cleaned yet. Either way, not the best way to run things. The new room felt damp, but we did not get bedbugs, so I guess it was ok. We slept in our clothes and left first thing the next morning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

needs work

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Could be a great hotel but needs a lot of work. Beds were dirty, refrigerator didn't work, lights didn't work and wifi was terrible. Barely had air conditioning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet and clean.

Posted May 22, 2016
Convenient-right off main highway. Fine for a 1-2 night stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Haw River Ballroom

Posted May 14, 2016
Affordable. Super friendly staff. A very clean room. Close to Haw River Ballroom. Will stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DFW

Cheap -- Train wreck

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: Price and ease of checkin / checkout
Cons: The hotel / chain needs to spend a lot of time with management. I have stayed at a Red Roof Inn before and this was 'no tell' motel quality.
Location: sketchy hotel adjacent and strange to 'get to' ... okay food nearby
The place was a train wreck. - Front desk was rude over the phone...had questions prior to booking online - missing common ammenites...ironing board, iron, blow dryer...called and they delivered and iron/board - 8'' hole in dresser drawer - cigarette hold burned through 'throw' at foot of bed - mold in shower - vending machines were barren - quality vs. price...the low price attracted me, but this was the worst quality experience I've had. it wasn't worth the savings.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to where I was going

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: It accepted my small dog without a charge. Close to where I was going.
Cons: It is an older building and improvement would be very costly but maybe someday.
Location: I was headed to Cedar Rock Historic Farm so it was close and direct . It was conveniently located right at the exit with quite a few fast food places
I switched to this motel because they allowed pets. I knew it wasn't fancy so it was quite adequate. The hallways smelled like garlic and the carpet was old and dirty, but our room was clean - old but clean. Breakfast left a lot to be desired. The staff seemed to be nice people and the outside of the building was nice.
2 out of 5
by Sylvia from Philadelphia

Ran down at exit 145 off I-85

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
I think the change over to Red Roof Inn should have taken place first, I did not feel that the bed or bathroom was as maintained well as it should have been , I had to get clean linen so that I would feel like I could sleep there. I was not able to shower there because of the condition of the tub. We basically just made the best of it, the second room we were offered was worst. We recently stayed at the Red Roof in Durham which was 100% better that's why we choose this one in Burlington. Even the grounds was not kept.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
We apologize for your experience, however we are currently under renovation, and hope you will try us again! We strive to excel in offering our guests clean, affordable, and comfortable rooms, and I am sure you will be satisfied if you give us another shot.
1 out of 5
by Melissa D.

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
Room was stale smelling. Bathroom had hair in sink and shower. Bugs in room. Sheets were musky like that sat in washer for long period of time before drying. Male at front desk was just rude and disrespectful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Pros: NOTHING GOOD TO SAY ABOUT THIS HOTEL
Cons: HOTEL SHOULD BE CONDEMMED .
This hotel should be closed. Hotel is dirty dated and poorly maintained. Dont stay here it is disgusting !!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from indiana

Disappointed

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Not enough towels, no working tv remote, pool dirty, no continental breakfast, no working ice machine, no desk chair, and they chargers my credit card incorrectly