Ratings based on 345 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did not look like photos on internet

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: The staff was friendly.
Cons: Update your website to explain the renovations and have true photos on the website.
Location: We were there for a wedding.
The place looked very run down. Apparently they were renovating but it really looked like the place was falling apart. There was a smell in the hallway when you walked to your rooms. The room was ok. The AC made a loud noise when it was turned on and continued to make that sound for most of the day. Nothing to write home about. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was not the best we had at a Days Inn. The food tasted awful and there was very little to choose from. We ended up going out to eat breakfast at local establishments. I would not stay at this Days Inn again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2015 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your kind comment and recommendation on updating our website. We appreciate your time in sharing your comment on about your recent stay at our hotel. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida


Posted Sep 8, 2015
Pros: Price
Cons: Just about everything.
The best thing I can say about this hotel was that it was cheap. The exterior had gaping holes above the entrance, revealing a crumbling infrastructure. When I suggested at check in that the least they should do was tarp over the holes, the clerk shrugged and said they were doing remodeling and the architect was coming soon. Don't know why that would prevent a tarp, especially since "soon" was later defined as "sometime in the next few weeks". So apparently, owners/managers didn't really care if the place looked dilapidated or if critters were running around inside. Inside not much better. Rooms had no closets or anything on which to hang clothes. No iron in the room and when I called the front desk to ask for one I was told I would have to come and get it myself. Iron was old and dirty, board was about two feet long. Also no hard flat surface big enough on which to set it! Hotel was convenient to the event I was attending, so I stayed, but cut my stay short by one night. I don't know if there are other hotel options in the area, but I would look hard for something else if I were to return tp New Stanton.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Mary, Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to know that you were not able to enjoy your stay as much due to the reasons you specified. We apologize for the inconvenience this must have caused you. We will take note of those points you have mentioned and we will see on how we can improve for your convenience and satisfaction. We aim to provide you and all our guests the best quality customer experience you all deserve. Your satisfaction is very important to us. Again, we sincerely apologize. Have a pleasant day.
2 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B York,PA

A good buy for the money.

Posted Jul 27, 2015
If you are used to modern or newly redone, this place is not for you. Continental breakfast was all cold food. Staff was friendly. We usually stay at Hampton Inn in Monroeville. On this particular weekend, Hampton room rate was just about double what we payed here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Hotel needs to be renovated. Poor breakfast. Everything very old. Probably one of the best for the money though.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2015
There was no easy way to get your suitcase up to the room. The steps were narrow and dark.
2 out of 5
for Families
by James from Indiana

Marginal at best

Posted Jun 28, 2015 on Hotels
This place needs some serious updating. The smell on the first floor toward the back of the building is horrendous (smoking). Plaster in the bath was a mess, found hair in the tub. Won't be returning.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new York, NY

Old and dismal motel, sorry but i was glad to leav

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Well i've struggled to think of anything nice to say about this motel but.....the staff were quite friendly
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elizabethtown, Pa

Good location off interstate.

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Room was clean and neat.
Cons: Check in process needs attention.
Location: Right off two interstates and easy to get in and out of.
Hotel was clean and quiet and easy to access. Check in process was so slow, so that has to be improved. Room was very clean and spacious and well laid out. We enjoyed our brief stay there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach, VA


Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness, staff supervision, put protein out at breakfast.
Location: Was there for a funeral so don't know.
Coke bottle left on the floor; shower curtain just barely reached the tub. NO protein at breakfast, very lame. Won't be back.
3 out of 5
for Families
by michael from Hazle Township

friendly & courteous

Posted Jun 18, 2015 on Hotels
Nice hotel staff friendly and courteous. Spent 2 days the house keeping did a GREAT job with the room between days.