Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too Close to Hospital

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Despite the age and use of this facility everything seemed to work as it should. Staff treated us as if this were a five star hotel.
Cons: This facility desperately needs some updating.
Location: If it weren't for the nearby hospital this would be a perfect location as there were many restaurants and shopping plazas nearby.
The staff at this facility were wonderful - cheerful, friendly, and helpful. The facility itself has seen better days. The carpets were worn and stained, the furniture was old and scarred, and the mattresses have been slept on by, at least, one million people! Furniture was clean but the carpets were vacuumed in the open easy-to-reach areas and not so much in the corners where dust and small items pile up. The proximity to the nearby hospital is a detriment as we had to listen to the medical helicopters and sirens all night long.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Obnoxious, and Rude

Posted Dec 4, 2016
The staff was rude. "room service" knocked on my door at 9:45, when I told her no thank you she then got rude and said are you over staying? No, check out is at 11 am! We were surrounded by a bunch of drunks, including a 40 yr old who tried hitting on a 19 yr old. Bathrooms need a lot of work, as do the rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Declining value....

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Staff as always extremely friendly and personable. Room was clean.
Cons: Ever since the larger company took it over things have been deteriorating. This time the kitchen ---which is the main reason I come here --- was badly equipped, had hardly any cooking utensils at all even though the front desk said it would be stocked it wasn't. And one of the two burners not only didn't work, it wasn't even connected so it COULDN'T work. If this happens one more time, it's a deal breaker.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not a hotel.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The water was nice and hot for showering. Girl at desk was pleasant.
Cons: I reserved for HomeTown Suites. When i made my reservation no one told me the name and signage I should be looking for is In Town Suites. Spent 30 min driving around trying to match address with sign.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greenville, NC

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: It was in a good location near restaurants, the hospital and shopping.
The hallway carpet was stained in multiple places there was an offensive odor. The room had a stale odor although the room was clean. The bed was comfortable. The shower rod was slanted so the shower curtain would not stay in place allowing a lot of water to get on the floor.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from rochester, ny

Did not feel safe at his hotel!

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Close to ECU
Cons: Everything
There is no front desk, just an office which was strange. We didn't have enough towels the first day and the shower flooded the bathroom as the shower curtains were hung too high. Very noisy at night, men on cell phones hanging in the hallways made it very uncomfortable for 2 female travelers. Seeing it is an extended stay facility we wondered if it also housed low income/section 8? We ended up pulling the refrigerator in front of the dead bolted and chained door. Not sure if there were drug deals or prostitution (yes, we heard through the thin walls) going on. People were congregating at the picnic area with loud music bumping late into the evening. I wouldn't stay here again, ever.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Drums Pa

Home away from home

Posted Aug 29, 2016
I really enjoyed my stay even if it was a short weekend but I will stay again when I have a longer vacation
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from W. NY

Mediocre.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Unfortunately, experienced roach problem...staff addressed it...but level of comfort greatly diminished as you would expect.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Hotel was overall ok but the room was musky smelling and could use an upgrade
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenville nc

Get away

Posted Aug 15, 2016
I just needed a little me time so i chose home towne suites to do do.