Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very old, smelly. VERY u safe area!!!

Posted Aug 22, 2016
This hotel was one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in. Very old, dirty feeling rooms and an extremely unsafe area. We checked out early, just couldn't handle it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Cheap sleep, quiet room

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: If their rating doesn't go up, I might try the Days Inn across the street - or just get a room in another town, like Oriental.
Cons: See above.
Location: Aurora - Fossils; Bath - Pirates, Washington - riverfront, Belhaven - Fish Hook café, Oriental - Bean coffee house, Beaufort - sailing and boats
The hotel has seen better days, but they try. Minor fixes would improve it, like patching the corners of walls where the luggage cart hits, re-doing the caulking in the bathroom. In July 2016, their health rating was a 'B' - probably because their cleaners are apparently related, and don't think about looking under toilet rims and shower enclosures.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In for a wedding

Posted May 29, 2016
Had to get housekeeping to come in and clean the couch and vacuum the floor. It seemed as no one checked the room after it had been cleaned. the staff at the front desk was nice and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2016 by Lawrence, Hotel Management
I apologize for the condition of your room. Upon checking paperwork I unfortunately did find that a staff member did not perform their duties correctly. I have taken disciplinary action in hopes this conduct will not occur again in the future. We want all our guests to have a positive experience.
1 out of 5
by Stephen from Mount holly

Don't let this happen to you

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
went to a wedding wanted to stay in a local hotel- - hotel had decent online reviews--big mistake-- hotel is run down and in a high crime area--drug dealers and others were standing in adjacent doorways of abandoned buildings and others were just walking and standing on the corners--looking for trouble- the police were in the hotel removing people-- were advised not to be outside after dark, it was not safe and that your vehicle was also subject to being vandalized-- hotel was not clean -- really not clean and had a terrible smell-- was so bad that the next morning,after no sleep-we left forfeiting the next two nights that were already paid for-- have absolutely nothing good to say about this hotel-- it needs to be torn down--do not stay there or in that area--
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2016 by Lawrence, Hotel Management
This was an isolated incident and I apologize for any inconvenience. We work very closely with the police department to ensure all guest safety. In the rare event someone, or their associates cause incident we have them removed from the property. Several similar incidents occurred at other hotels in town on the same weekend due to a group that booked at multiple locations. A letter of 'no return' was issued to the event planner. We strive to ensure satisfaction and great customer service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel looks old and desperately needs an update; however, everyone was super nice and accommodating in any way.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2016 by Lawrence, Hotel Management
We are currently in the process of remodeling the exterior of the property to match all the improvements we have been doing inside. Thank you for your review.
3 out of 5
by Dorothy

Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
Rundown, needs new carpet
4 out of 5
by Donna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montgomery, Alabama

EXCELLENT ROOM & STAFF!

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Pros: Staff, cleanliness/neatness of room, size of room, A/C/ heat control, In room microwave & refrigerator.
Cons: CHANGE THE MATTRESS TO ONE THAT DOES NOT FEEL LIKE AND BE ALMOST AS FIRM AS THE FLOOR!!!
Location: DID NOT USE THESE PLACES. CHECKED IN LATE, LEFT EARLY. WE WERE ONLY PASSING THROUGH.
My wife and I booked our stay at Magnuson Hotel on Expedia.com. We were greeted, welcomed and checked-in in about 5 minutes! Really NICE staff, and Hotel. The lobby was very clean, and pleasant. The Coke machines were out of order on the first floor and we had to go up stairs to get a drink, but the machines were not he hotels responsibility. Our room was very clean, and the bed was well supplied with pillows and blankets. The bathroom was clean, and well supplied with towels The shower was awesome, the water hot. The in room coffee could use sufficient condiments so as to be had as one would normally have it. No-one uses one packet of sugar and cream, no-one. The bed was too firm & I woke with a bit of backache. THAT is just me maybe, maybe not~TOO firm, plain & simple. Location was good. Food and everything is close by. Recommend? Yes, in spite of the mattress we feel the Hotel is one we will revisit if needed. Staff made ALL the difference.
3 out of 5
by Jacqueline from Chincoteague VA

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
I dropped something behind my nightstand and there were layers of dust a business card and candy wrappers and the mini fridge was made in like 1978
4 out of 5
by Ligia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Hotels