Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

True country inn.

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Scenic location, good food.
Cons: Early morning noise from the trucks going to work.
Location: Very little choice for dining without driving a ways. Closest restaurant was excellent.
The Van Winkle Inn is definitely out in the country. Greenville is very small. The closest restaurant was 3 or 4 miles away, but it was excellent, The Mountain View Brassiere. The scallops were perfect, who knew you could get perfect scallops the Catskills! The only complaint is that the Inn is on the corner of two roads which have a lot of early morning truck traffic. Our room, Hannah's Suite, faced the side with the most traffic so it may be worse than the other rooms. We had a shower in the room with a private comode room across the hall. Breakfast was 8:30 to 9:30 and cooked and served by the owners. It was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family owned and operated.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
This is a family owned and operated B&B. The room was well kept and the bed very comfortable. The service was excellent. I would highly recommend it for a quiet weekend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2016 by Noelle, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review! We work hard to make sure every guest has a comfortable and pleasant stay! We also appreciate you taking the time to provide a review. Cheers!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Arrived late left early.

Posted Feb 25, 2016
Place was very nice we arrived late and had to leave early, never saw anyone. We had the whole house to ourselves and we got along with the cat so all was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ballston Lake, NY

Nice for a weekend getaway

Posted Sep 30, 2015
The VanWinkle Inn provided my husband and I a quiet retreat close to home and the mountains. Our hostess readily shared the history of her lovely historic home and breakfast was delicious. A most enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woolwich, Maine

Beautiful place

Posted Jun 21, 2015
I stayed here with my friend on a "moms getaway". I spoke to the owners on the phone prior to our arrival. They even hand wrote directions to the event we were going to! We both felt so comfortable and relaxed! I can't wait to go back! The house cat, Mr Hobbs, was adorable. I wanted to take him home with me. And the food... Oh the food! Delicious!! It was the perfect weekend!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Comfortable and Cozy for Reasonable Price

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: The living room fireplace, temperature controls in our room, and friendly/helpful owner. The help-yourself bottle of brandy was a nice touch too!
Cons: Soap, shampoo, and conditioner in shower would have been nice. They were provided upon request, but we had to delay showering until the morning.
Location: Went skiing at Windham Mountain and dined at Vince Anna's Italian restaurant.
Beautiful historic building and decor. The price was right, and we were very happy with our stay. Would certainly return the next time we're in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bronxville, NY

Lovely B&B close to Windham Mountain

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Privacy, upkeep, such a beautiful home, and very cozy. The Victorian interior design is charmingly done.
Cons: None.
Location: We went there to ski at Windham Mountain which was about a 25 min drive. Within 10 miles, there's a Hannaford grocery that's open til midnight.
We booked a 2-night stay there to ski in Windham Mountain. It's such a lovely home. We were greeted by the owners Holly and Bert upon arrival (we got there at 3:30pm), such a nice and accommodating couple. We stayed at the Turner Suite which had its own beautiful bathroom, a nice nook with an electric fireplace, its own temperature control for the room, and a small flat-screen TV. They also offered free WiFi and for the winter months, a continental breakfast (hard boiled eggs, cereal, pastries, orange juice, coffee, tea). The breakfast is downstairs at the dining area, available as late as 11am, just help yourself.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by tom from north jersey

van winkle inn

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: everything was more than you could expect from a b&b. the staff,kitchen and rooms were great.
Cons: can't think of anything that could be changed.
Location: it was close to things to do. the IRISH CATSKILLS were close and enjoyed the everything in the arewa.
very warm and friendly owners. the room was clean and well kept. the food was on par with any 5 star hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice owners and delicious full breakfast

Posted Nov 7, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by susan from hudson, ohio

First time at a bed and breakfast

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: Lots of character and history as well as adjacent antique shop!
Cons: Soap and shampoo would have been nice since I did not bring along from home.
Location: Near Hudson, New York. Hiking, shopping, all you might want.
Nice, nice time. We stayed in Gabe's room and really enjoyed ourselves. Wonderful hosts in Holly and Burt very comfortable porch and parlor. Available sherry very nice touch as well as fireplace and soothing music. Great breakfast with good conversation enjoyed in beautiful dining room. Holly and Burt, you are doing a great job!